Bibliographic index covering Mexican-American topics and the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, the resource is designed to further research, teaching and scholarship for Chicano studies programs and extended ethnic studies curricula, giving researchers targeted access to materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender within the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience. (OCLC)
Portions of the Chicano Database are available in print format as: the Chicano Periodical Index, covering 1967-1988; the Chicano Index, covering 1989-1993; Arte Chicano : an Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981; the Chicano Anthology Index; the Chicana Studies Index : Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1981-1991; and Hispanic Mental Health Research : A Reference Guide, covering 1920-1980.
indexes articles from scholarly journals on Latin America, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.
Indexes articles that appear in more than 400 scholarly journals published throughout the world which regularly contain information on Latin America. The coverage includes materials written in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Index to journals, chapters and theses about world history, 1450 to present.
Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.
Scholarly evaluations of books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers in the field of Latin American Studies published worldwide since 1935.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.
A bibliographic database and a gateway to online resources about Brazilian Studies.
Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, the site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals, as well as access to full-text dissertations from Brazilian institutions. Additional relevant resources include online directories of researchers and institutions, online bibliographies, quantitative data sets, and selected web sites relevant to researchers.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Index of journal articles in anthropology and related fields. The primary index for research in anthropology, it includes articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, as well as in ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
Contains: International index to film/TV periodicals, thesaurus, list of periodicals indexed, and the FIAF databases.
Contains: The International index to film/TV periodicals, a thesaurus, a list of periodicals indexed, and the FIAF databases: List of FIAF members; Bibliography of FIAF members' publications, Directory of film/TV documentation collections; Treasures from the film archives; and Bibliography of Latin American cinema. Most useful as a periodical index. Unlike Film Index International, which provides access to journal articles only through the title of a film or a personal name, this index can be searched by topic. It is similarly international in scope.
Information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the British Film Institute (BFI) over the past 70 years. Coverage ranges from the earliest silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters. It indexes films from over 170 countries. Film records include information on the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Person records include biographical information, awards received, and a complete list of the films. References to film journals are also cited in many film and person records.
Indexes the world's leading journals in political science; includes nearly 900 journals.
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA),produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year.
Abstracts to journal articles and citations to book reviews in the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts builds on the merged backfile of Political Science Abstracts (1975-2000) and ABC POL SCI (1984-2000). This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.