History and Philosophy of Science

Includes full-text and abstracts.  Contents include, but are not limited to: AAPG bulletin -- AAPG special volumes -- Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology -- Gulf Coast group (USA) -- Journal of petroleum geology -- Journal of sedimentary research -- Mid-continent group (USA) -- Pacific & Asia group -- Rocky Mountain group (USA) -- Southwestern group (USA)

ACLS Humanities E-Book includes foundational backlist titles in the humanities and social sciences, with 150-200 new titles added annually.

In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.

Coverage includes fields of Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Biomedical, Agriculture, Pharmacology, and Ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as Medicine, Biochemistry, Biophysics, Bioengineering, and Biotechnology are also included.

The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.

oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.

Includes international material selected from 9,500+ periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and contains records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.

Among the subjects covered are agricultural sciences, computer and information sciences, natural history, alchemy, electronics, neurosciences, anthropology, engineering, occult sciences, archaeology, environmental sciences, paleontology,astrology, geography, pharmacy,astronomy, historiography, physics, biological sciences, mathematics, psychiatry, biotechnology, medical sciences, psychology, chemistry, military technology, public health, and technology.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the Society's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series. - plus journals published on behalf of other societies.

Medline is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus®, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.


Medline's in-process records  provide basic citation information and abstracts before the citations are indexed with NLM's MeSH Terms and added to MEDLINE.

Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

- The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
- Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
- Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Provides access to the international journal literature of psychology and related fields, to dissertations, and to technical reports from approximately 50 countries. More than 2200 journals in 29 languages are indexed. This database includes material relevant to psychology from such related disciplines as education, medicine, business, sociology, linguistics, law, psychiatry and anthropology.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Covers all disciplines of science, providing indexing and abstracts of scientific journal articles. Offers enhanced cited reference searching; researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.

SCI enhances the power of cited reference searching by allowing researchers to:
locate all cited authors, not just the first authors listed, for articles in the database
navigate forward, backward, and through the research literature
link to original article information when a cited reference of interest is found (for original articles covered by the database)
track "times cited" information for articles on a weekly basis through automatic updates
find an unlimited number of relevant items which share one or more cited references, through the Related Records function
hotlink to first and subsequent generation articles using prior research
discover key papers by ranking search results by "times cited"

Queries can be saved for researchers to modify and run against future updates in order to follow a particular topic over time.

Includes popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.

Bibliographical references from more than 6,000 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of zoology, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, zoogeography.

The Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography combines the Dictionary of Scientific Biography and New Dictionary of Scientific Biography and covers the lives of scientists, mathematicians, inventors from classical antiquity to modern times.

Through the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography there is also access to the Gale Virtual Reference Library, a collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries in the arts, biography, history, law, literature, medicine. multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science and social science.

The online version contains articles from either the 4th and 5th editions. There are bibliographies for each chapter, over 5,000 photos, charts, graphs, figures and tables, in-depth up to-date information on regulations, patents and licensing.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed to be a scholarly dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Allows users to cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives. The Table of Contents lists entries that are assigned and/or published. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Includes access to:

British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:

Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900

Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.

British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950

Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.

British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950

From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.

British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950

With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).

The 25 million+ records in C19 Index include the following sources: Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue, The Nineteenth Century publishing program, ProQuest’s American Periodicals, ProQuest’s British Periodicals, Cotgreave's Index, An Index to Legal Periodical Literature, Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Stead's Index to Periodical Literature, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900, House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings of the Old Bailey, The U.S. Serial Set, Archive Finder, Palmer's Index to The Times, The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors, and Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism.

From the first book published in English through the 17th-century, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. The database offers complete citation information and page images.

Includes access to collections 1-10, and 15. Religious works dominate, but the resource also includes secular material. Fully searchable pages scanned directly from the original printed sources in high-resolution full color. Each item is captured in its entirety, complete with binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages and any loose inserts.

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.

Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the Society's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series. - plus journals published on behalf of other societies.

Includes access to the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange ; British Politics and Society ; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture ; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection ; Children's Literature and Childhood ; Mapping the World ; Europe And Africa ; Photography: the World Through the Lens ; Science, Technology, and Medicine; Women: Transnational Networks.

The material covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids. Materials have an emphasis on ephemera and advertising, aimed at the ordinary man in the street rather than medical professionals. These popular practices were built upon the earlier traditions of folk medicine and materia medica as dispensed by apothecaries, and help to show the relationships and differences between traditional old-style medicine and newly emerging scientific methods.

Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.