French & Italian

ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. 

This database includes the most important dictionaries of the French language, representing over 900,000 entries and their definitions. Contents: Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle / Frédéric Godefroy -- La curne de Sainte-Palaye, dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français depuis son origine jusqu'au siècle de Louis XIV -- Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle / Edmond Huguet -- Dictionnaire Francoislatin, 1549 / Estienne (Robert) -- Thrésor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne, 1606 / Nicot (Jean) -- Dictionarie of the French and English tongues, 1611 / Cotgrave (Randle) -- Origines de la langue françoise, 1650 / Ménage (Gilles) -- Dictionnaire françois, 1680 / Richelet (Pierre) -- Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première I] -- Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 2] -- Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 3] -- Essai d'un Dictionaire universel, 1687 / Furetière (Antoine) -- Dictionaire universal / Furetière (Antoine) -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise dedié au Roy, 1694 [1st ed.] -- Dictionnaire des arts et des sciences, 1694 / Corneille (Thomas) -- Dictionnaire de étymologique, ou origines de la langue françoise, 1694 / Ménage (Gilles) -- Nouveau dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1718 [2nd ed.] -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1740 [3rd ed.] -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1762 [4th ed.] -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1798 [5th ed.] -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1835 [6th ed.] --Complément du Dictionnaire de l'Académie française, 1842 / Barre (Louis) -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1879 [7th ed.] -- Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1932-1935 [8th ed.]

Online version of the authoritative French dictionary produced by De Marque.

Contributing publishers include Franco Angeli, École Française de Rome, Angelo Longo Editore, Leo S. Olschki, Storia e Letteratura, and Vita e Pensiero. The contents are primarily in Italian and Spanish, although there are also some in French, Portuguese and English.

Provides comprehensive collection of publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.

Launched by the publishing houses Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte, and Erès, with support from Gesval, Université de Liège, Bibliothèque nationale de France, and Centre national du livre, France.

General Info: Availability of full-text varies from journal to journal. Some articles are open access; others are available for purchase.

oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

The International Medieval Bibliography covers of the European Middle Ages, including the Middle East and North Africa, in the period 400-1500. Items in the bibliography are taken from some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). Entries include full bibliographical details and subject classifications.

Access to e-journals, bibliographies, and other content related to the study of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

Includes access to the following:

Iter Italicum
Milton: A Bibliography
Bibliography of English Women Writers

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Includes popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.

Includes access to collections 1-10, and 15. Religious works dominate, but the resource also includes secular material. Fully searchable pages scanned directly from the original printed sources in high-resolution full color. Each item is captured in its entirety, complete with binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages and any loose inserts.

Electronic Enlightenment offers unrivalled access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their family and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Over 53,000 letters from 6,000 correspondents are available in their original languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.

The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c.1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.

The Grand Tour includes the travel writings and works of some of Britain’s artists, writers and thinkers, revealing how interaction with European culture shaped their creative and intellectual sensibilities. It also includes many writings by forgotten or anonymous travelers, including many women, whose daily experiences offer an insight into the experience and practicalities of travel over the centuries.

Includes personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches, and images. Events covered include: the American and French Revolutions; Fédon’s Rebellion and Toussaint Louverture’s Haitian Revolution; the European revolutions of 1848; the Cuban Revolution; the Boxer Rebellion in China; the Russian, Mexican and Chinese Revolutions; the Arab, Turkish, and Great Syrian Revolts; the Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.; the Nazi Regime in Germany and the fascist regimes of Spain, Italy and Argentina.