Library Research Guides: Earth and Atmospheric Sciences: Research Tools: Databases & Protocols

Databases

GeoScienceWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the Geosciences.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) includes peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. Also includes specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web. GSW is a collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute.

The Founding Organizations:
American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG),
American Geological Institute (AGI),
Geological Society of America (GSA),
The Geological Society of London (GSL),
Mineralogical Society of America (MSA),
Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and
Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
USGS Publications Warehouse
- This link opens in a new window
A digital database and warehouse containing citations to and electronic versions of reports published by the U.S. Geological Survey.
The USGS Publications Warehouse contains more than 70,000 USGS bibliographic citations, including citations to USGS numbered series published as early as 1880. The Warehouse also contains electronic version of many USGS Publications, including new publications, which are added regularly. Availability of content ranges from full text to bibliographic citation only. The database will eventually include citations to all USGS-authored products. Currently it primarily contains products published by the USGS.

Users are now able to search for recently published reports, including reports published during a particular month and year, which have been registered with the Publications Warehouse. The database does not include the articles published in scientific journals at this time.

The database can be used to search for and link to the full content of a publication. Availability, price, and purchase options are also provided for publications that are in print.

The database contains citations to a number of Biological Resources Discipline report citations, primarily historical research reports. These citations include reports released by the Fish and Wildlife Service as well as the National Biological Survey prior to the creation of the Biological Resources Division of the USGS.
Geological Society of America Special Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Special papers from the Geological Society of America. GSA currently publishes between 15 and 18 Special Papers a year.
First published in 1934, GSA Special Papers were originally developed for articles that were too long to be published in the society's journal, The Geological Society of America Bulletin. The series has evolved over the years and now includes monographs, symposium-based volumes, and longer, multi-author volumes with dedicated volume editors. Many Special Papers have made lasting and significant contributions to the science, and all are vetted by science editors, who choose proposals and completed volumes that are of high quality and broad interest. A wide range of topics is covered from regions throughout the world.
AAPG Datapages
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Society for Sedimentary Geology, Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists and other geological organizations.
Includes full-text and abstracts. Contents include, but are not limited to: AAPG bulletin -- AAPG special volumes -- Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology -- Gulf Coast group (USA) -- Journal of petroleum geology -- Journal of sedimentary research -- Mid-continent group (USA) -- Pacific & Asia group -- Rocky Mountain group (USA) -- Southwestern group (USA)
GSA Today
- This link opens in a new window
GSA Today is the Society's science and news magazine published for members and other earth scientists. Includes articles related to all aspects of the geological sciences.
Periodic articles include reports from the GSA-USGS Congressional Science Fellow, Rock Stars biographical features, and news and information about the Society, its activities, and the geological community at large. Archives goes back to 1991.
SciFinder-n
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas. PLEASE NOTE: First time users must first register from a computer on campus via this registration page. After that you can access the database from anywhere. Note: your Scifinder credentials from the classic Scifinder platform will work with the new Scifinder-n platform.
Walk in users (non-commercial only) allowed at IU Libraries reference desks. Contact the Sciences Library at libsci@indiana.edu for username/password and any questions. Access to the CAS content collection, patent documents and step-by-step synthetic procedures and methods.
SpringerLINK
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Springer scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
IndianaMap
- This link opens in a new window
This interactive digital atlas can be used to create custom maps about Indiana, including mineral resources, the environment, geology, biology, hydrology, transportation, demographics and population.
IndianaMap or the GIS Atlas for Indiana is an interactive digital atlas that can be used to make maps related to Indiana's environment, geology, biology, hydrology, transportation, demographics and population. It can be used to access and map over 250 layers of geographic and geologic information. GIS Data for Indiana can be viewed online using a web browser, or downloaded for use with geographic information systems (GIS) software.
PIVOT
- This link opens in a new window
The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.
Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.
National Geologic Map Database
- This link opens in a new window
The National Geologic Map Database contains information about geology-related printed maps and GIS data produced by Federal and state agencies.
Searchable catalog providing access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology. Includes links to other sources of topographic and related maps, other earth science databases, and additional Web resources related to geology.
Geographic Names Information System
- This link opens in a new window
Contains place name information for features in the United States, and location information, including state, county, topographic map name, and coordinates.
The U.S. Board on Geographic Names is a Federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. The Board comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands. Sharing its responsibilities with the Secretary of the Interior, the Board promulgates official geographic feature names with locative attributes as well as principles, policies, and procedures governing the use of domestic names, foreign names, Antarctic names, and undersea feature names.
Lyell Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of resources from the Geological Society of London.
Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the Society's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series. - plus journals published on behalf of other societies.
Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
- This link opens in a new window
The BFV Online provides interactive access to the SVP’s Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates series. Using the BFV Online, users can specify a search criterion, and receive a formatted list of matching literature references.
Queries are formed like taxon = 'Tyrannosaurus'. Detailed instructions are available for writing queries, including complex Boolean statements and the use of pattern-matching.

Other Tools and Resources

Indiana Geological and Water Survey Digital Collections
IGWS Digital Collections is an online resource which provides access to the extensive digital holdings of the Indiana Geological and Water Survey. These include images, maps, documents, publications, and geoscience data relating to the geology of Indiana, as well as cultural heritage material connected to the state’s natural environment. This resource was created with funding from the USGS National Geological and Geophysical Data Preservation Program.

The material is organized into Featured Collections on the site’s homepage. Individual items also can be found through the search menu on the right. Digital assets can be downloaded for personal, noncommercial use. For commercial use requests, please contact igsacm@indiana.edu.

Glossary of Geology
- This link opens in a new window
A dictionary of geological terms published by the American Geological Institute.
The online Glossary of Geology contains 39,000 entries that appeared in the print version of the Fifth Edition. In addition to the Fifth editions's 13,000 updated entries there are over 1,100 changes, emendations, deletions and additions in the online Glossary. More than 100 geoscientists in many specialties reviewed the definitions and added new terms. It is updated regularly to provide online access to terminology in the geosciences, including abbreviations, acronyms, dating of terms, the meaning of prefixes, term preferences, synonyms, syllabification, and background information.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for identifying geologic field trip guidebooks issued by societies, universities, geological surveys, etc., especially those related to North America.
The database is maintained by American Geological Institute's GeoRef Information Services in cooperation with GSIS. GSIS compiled all print editions of Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America, on which it is based.

Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Databases

Other Tools and Resources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries