Classical Studies

Includes access to all Brepolis resources to which IUB subscribes.

Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.

The section on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.

The section on the Classical Tradition is concerned with the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship. Many entries include maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.

The Database of Latin Dictionaries is a project that has been in development for many years by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium’ (CTLO) under the direction of Paul Tombeur. At the moment, three dictionaries are searchable on the database: Albert Blaise, Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs chrétiens. Firminus Verris Dictionarius, Dictionnaire latin-français de Firmin Le Ver, ed. by B. Merrilees and W. Edwards. C. du Fresne ('du Cange'), Glossarium ad scriptores mediae et infimae latinitatis. In the coming years, more and more dictionaries will be integrated: Albert Blaise, Lexicon latinitatis medii aevi praesertim ad res ecclesiasticas investigandas pertinens / Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs du moyen-âge. Anonymus Montepessulanensis, Dictionarius / Le Glossaire latin-français du MS Montpellier H236.; Glossarium gallico-latinum / Le Glossaire français-latin du MS Paris lat. 7684, ed. by A. Grondeux, J. Monfrin and B. Merrilees (1998) Lexicon Totius Latinitatis, by Forcellini, Furlanetto, Corradini and Perin (1771- 1940) The Lewis & Short Latin Dictionary

One Mail instructions

If you created personal profile for Oxford Reference using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your profile to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. To update your Oxford Reference personal profile:

1. Visit Oxford Reference and select Personal Profile from the top-right corner of the page
2. Log in
3. At the top-right corner, select your name and choose View personal profile
4. Select the My Account tab
5. Update the Email address field to your iu.edu email address
6. Enter your password in the Current Password field
7. Press Save
8. There will be a small notice above your name that says “Changes saved successfully”

Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.

Includes access to all Brepolis resources to which IUB subscribes.

Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.

oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup a JSTOR account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your JSTOR account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact JSTOR support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes optional access to JSTOR's interactive research tool. You must be logged in with a free JSTOR account to see and use the tool.

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes access to the Discovery Assistant AI research tool. This tool is in beta, and may be removed from the Oxford Academic site without advance notice.

One Mail instructions:

If you created a personal account for Oxford Academic using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address by December 31, 2025. To update your account:

1. Sign in to your personal account at Oxford Academic
2. Go to your personal account and select Change Email Address
3. Enter your iu.edu email address in the New Email Address and Confirm New Email Address fields.
4. Press Submit
5. You will receive an email with the subject line Verification code - Oxford Academic
6. On the Oxford Academic site, enter the verification code and press the Submit button
7. You will receive a final email with the subject line Revision to your Oxford Academic Account confirming your email has been changed

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Includes popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes access to a book recommendations AI research tool. This tool is in beta, and may be removed from the Worldcat site without advance notice.

One Mail instructions:

If you created an optional WorldCat account using your indiana.edu email address you will need to update the account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Go to worldcat.org
2. Select Sign In and log in with your existing account details
3. From the “Hello, your name” drop down, select My profile
4. Click the edit link for the Username/Email address field
5. Update your email address and press the Save button
6. A small message will appear at the bottom left of the screen confirming that your email address was updated

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup an Artstor account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your Artstor account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact Artstor support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

Includes access to all Brepolis resources to which IUB subscribes.

Includes access to collections 1-10, and 15. Religious works dominate, but the resource also includes secular material. Fully searchable pages scanned directly from the original printed sources in high-resolution full color. Each item is captured in its entirety, complete with binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages and any loose inserts.

Those who are interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity and the Middle Ages know how difficult it is to identify a particular work encountered by chance in a manuscript, or, when studying or publishing a particular text, to make an inventory of all the manuscripts in which it appears. These difficulties arise primarily from the manner in which literary works circulated prior to the invention of printing. Before Gutenberg, the text had a life of its own, independent of its author, and was modified from copy to copy. It is not only the text that changed; titles might vary and authorial attributions could shift. There was a tendency to lend only to the rich, and Ovid, Saint Augustine and Saint Bernard found themselves credited with a host of apocrypha. The incipit or first words of a work thus remain the surest means of designating it unambiguously. In a sense, the incipit, by virtue of its invariability, is the identity card of the text. Standing apart from the diversity of attributions and titles, the incipit guarantees the presence of a particular text.
 

The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

One Mail instructions:

On January 16, 2025, TLG support updated all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses.  No further action is needed.

From the Vetus Latina Institute: The Vetus Latina Institute was founded in Beuron in 1945 by the Benedictine monk Dom Bonifatius Fischer OSB († 1997). Its goal is the complete collection and critical edition of all surviving remnants of the Old Latin translations of the Bible from manuscripts and citations in ancient writers. Vetus Latina or "Old Latin Bible" is the collective title for the large and very diverse collection of Latin biblical texts used by Christian communities from the second century. Following the expansion and triumph of Christianity in the Roman Empire, Latin became increasingly used as a lingua franca in place of Greek, first in North Africa and then in Spain, England, Gaul and Germany. A diverse array of translations of the Bible appeared, frequently inaccurate and not controlled by any ecclesiastical authority. This flood of versions came to an end in the fourth century as one of them, later known as the Vulgate, gradually established itself in place of the others. By the Carolingian era, the variety of Old Latin texts had been completely superseded. In contrast [to the Vulgate] the Vetus Latina consists of all biblical texts translated from the Greek which do not correspond to the Vulgate. Most Old Latin versions have only been transmitted as fragments. Alongside the few manuscripts which have been preserved, covering an uneven selection of biblical books, the citations and allusions in Latin Church Fathers (and Christian writings in Greek which were translated into Latin at an early date) are an essential source for investigating the tradition. The citations of Cyprian, Bishop of Carthage († 258) provide a firm starting-point: the vocabulary and translation technique of the version used by Cyprian are clearly differentiated from later forms of text, attested in abundance from the fourth century onwards.