Library Research Guides: SPEA V362 Nonprofit Management and Leadership: V362 Resources & Strategies

Nonprofit Organizations:

Foundation Directory Online
- This link opens in a new window
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides comprehensive information on grantmakers and their funding activities.
Includes a database of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, as well as a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers. Also includes a database of sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. IU subscribes at the professional level.
GuideStar Pro
- This link opens in a new window
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
Allows users to search and filter organizations by granular income, expense, assets, and number of employees, as well as analyze an organization's year-over-year profit, revenue, expenses. Users can also verify organizations’ current IRS status with GuideStar Charity Check, and see nonprofit contractors. In-depth nonprofit information is available for download, users are limited to 1,000 downloads per month.

NTEE Codes
Use the codes provided by the National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities to search for specific kinds of organizations.

News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:

News Articles:

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles.
Also includes videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, a social network site for high-tech entrepreneurs.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
- This link opens in a new window
Resource containing how-to information on small business planning, bookkeeping, financing, human resource management, marketing, regional tax laws, and starting a home-based business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, and articles.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes articles, books, studies, selected official documents and other resources on public policy issues, public administration, law, politics and government.
Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies. Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)
Social Services Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. Abstracts and indexes serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Major areas of coverage include crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, homelessness, policy, planning, professional issues in social work, social development, social work education, and support groups/networks.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
Wiley Online Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million journal articles, online books, major reference works, and leading industry databases.

Evaluation of Sources:

You will want to evaluate sources for credibility prior to use. The CRAAP (currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose) framework can assist you in the evaluation process.

CRAAP Test

General Library Resources

• IUB Libraries Website

Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.

• Business/SPEA Citation Guide

Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.

SPEA V362 Nonprofit Management and Leadership

Schedule a Research Consultation

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Nonprofit Organizations:

News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:

Evaluation of Sources:

General Library Resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

SPEA V362 Nonprofit Management and Leadership

Nonprofit Organizations:

News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:

Evaluation of Sources:

General Library Resources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries