Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How To Conduct Research in the IU Libraries University Archives

Planning Your Visit

Schedule Your Visit:

To schedule a visit to the IU Libraries University Archives, please email archives@indiana.edu. We are open M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, and Saturdays, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. Saturdays are by appointment only and must be made by 5:00 pm on Thursday.

What To Expect:

When you arrive at the Archives, let the front desk know that you have an appointment to see a collection. You will be instructed to place your bags, jacket, and any food or beverage in the locker. Laptops, pad of paper, pencil (no pens please), camera, phone, and/or books are all permitted in the reading room. An archivist will come out to greet you and have you fill out a registration form, which will only take a few minutes. They will also show you to your requested collection(s) and will kindly instruct you on how to properly handle the materials. 

Note: If you are not quite finished viewing your materials and have to leave, you may ask the archivist to place your materials on hold.

Internet Access for Non-IU Guests:

Indiana University provides guest accounts for non-IU visitors, so that they can have internet access on campus. If you require a guest account during your visit, please email archives@indiana.edu. It is important that you request a guest account at least 1 week in advance to your visit. This ensures that your account will be set up by the time you arrive.

Map

Directions:

The IU Libraries University Archives is located in East Tower of the Herman B Wells Library. Enter the library, walk into the East Tower, take the elevator to the 4th floor, and the Archives is directly to the left in Room E460. The full address is: 1320 E. 10th Street, Herman B Wells Library, E460, Bloomington, Indiana 47405.

Parking:

Available parking is marked in red on the map below. The Jordan Street Parking Garage has public parking on the top level only, and you will want to make sure not to park in permit-only parking. This garage charges per hour. The Indiana Memorial Union (IMU) parking lot is a public lot that also charges by the hour. However, if you purchase coffee or a snack from the IMU or Sugar and Spice (bakery located in the IMU) and show your receipt, you will receive a 50% discount off of your parking, making it $12.00 for the day.

You can also purchase a day permit at the Bloomington Visitor's Center or the Office of Parking Operations.  

Map:

Search the entire IU Bloomington campus map here.

Campus  Map