Music Classification Numbers by Subject

• Haec dies: M2079.L42
• Haegum
  • Instruction and study: MT335.H36
  • Instrumental music: M59.H3
• Hail Columbia: M1630.3.H3
• Halloween (Vocal music): M1977.H3+
• Halur, see Bansuri
• Hammond organ, see Electronic organ
• Hand, Physiology of the, see Physiology of the hand
• Handbells
  • Bibliography
    • Graded lists: ML132.H27
  • Instruction and study: MT711
    • for children: MT801.H35
  • see also Bells
• Handicapped children, Music education for: MT17
• Hardanger fiddle
  • History and criticism: ML927.H27
  • Instruction and study: MT335.H4
  • Instrumental music
    • with string orchestra (Solo): M1119.H37
• Hardangerfele, see Hardanger fiddle
• Hardingfele, see Hardanger fiddle
• Harmonica
  • History and criticism: ML1088
  • Instruction and study: MT682+
• Harmonics: ML3807
  • Instruction and study
    • Viola: MT290
    • Violin: MT270
• Harmonium
  • Construction: ML597
  • Instruction and study: MT200+
  • Instrumental music: M15+
    • Duets: M190+
    • for children: M1375
    • Quartets: M405+
    • Quintets: M505+
    • Sextets: M605+
    • Trios: M305+
• Harmony
  • Acoustics and physics: ML3815
  • Aesthetics: ML3852
  • History and criticism: ML444
  • Instruction and study: MT50
    • Banjo: MT564
    • for children: MT155
    • Organ: MT191.H4
    • Piano: MT224
  • Psychology: ML3836
• Harp
  • Bibliography: ML128.H3
    • Graded lists: ML132.H3
  • History and criticism: ML1005+
    • Construction: ML1006
  • Instruction and study: MT540+
  • Instrumental music: M115+
    • Accompaniment: M1623.4; M1624.4
    • for children: M1385.H3
    • with
      • orchestra (Solo): M1036+; M1136+
      • piano: M272+
• Harp-lute (Instrumental music): M142.H2
• Harp-lute guitar
  • Instruction and study: MT634.H36
  • Instrumental music
    • with piano: M282.H4+
• Harp zither (Instruction and study): MT634.H37
• Harpola (Instruction and study): MT634.H38
• Harpsichord
  • Bibliography: ML128.H35
  • History and criticism: ML650+
    • Construction: ML652+
  • Instruction and study: MT252
  • Instrumental music, see Piano -- Instrumental music
• Harvest, see Thanksgiving
• Hasidic movement, see Zionist, Hasidic, and other movements
• Have mercy upon me, O God, see Miserere mei, Deus
• Hawaiian guitar
  • Instruction and study: MT590+
  • Instrumental music: M142.H3
  • see also Guitar
• Health (Vocal music): M1977.H4+
• Hebrew music and musicians, see Jewish music and musicians
• Heckelphone
  • History and criticism: ML990.H4
  • Instrumental music: M11O.H4
• Heifetz Collection, see Jascha Heifetz Collection
• Heinemann Foundation Collection: ML31.H43+
• Helicon (Instruction and study): MT497
• Helicon bass, see Tuba
• Hemisfair (San Antonio, 1968)
  • Vocal music: M1677.2.S28 1968
• Hermeneutics, see Analytical guides
• Hesse (Literature on music): ML278+; ML3636
• Hiang te, see So na
• Hieronymite liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.H5
• High schools (Singing and voice culture): MT930+
• Hiking (Vocal music): M1977.H5+
• Hillbilly music, see Country music
• Hindustani music (Dictionaries): ML102.H56
• Hispanic American music: M1668.4
  • History and criticism: ML3481
• Historians: ML403; ML423
• Historical methods (Music), see Musicology
• Historical publications (Music): M2+
• Historiography (Music), see Musicology
• History
  • of vocal instruction and study: MT823
• History and criticism: ML159+
  • Instruction and study MT2+
• Hobbies (Vocal music): M1977.H58+
• Hoboes (Vocal music): M1977.H6+
• Holidays, National, see National holidays
• Holland, see Netherlands
• Holy communion, see Communion services
• Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God of Hosts, see Sanctus
• Holy Saturday
  • Antiphonaries: M2149.4.H68
  • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.H56
• Holy Thursday (Vocal music)
  • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.M35
    • Roman Catholic liturgy
      • Antiphonaries: M2149.4.H69
      • Propers: M2148.3.H64
• Holy Week
  • Instrumental music (Organ): M14.4.H6
  • Vocal music
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.H58
    • for children: M2191.H6
    • Roman Catholic liturgy: M2149.4+
• Holy Year (Vocal music)
  • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.H6
• Home, Music in the, see Music in the home
• Home sweet home: M1630.3.H6
• Homemakers (Vocal music): M1977.H65+
• Honky-tonk music (History and criticism): ML3528
• Horn
  • Bibliography: ML128.H67
  • Discography: ML156.4.H7
  • History and criticism: ML955+
    • Construction: ML956
  • Instruction and study: MT420+
    • for children: MT801.H7
  • Instrumental music: M80+
    • for children: M1385.H6
    • with
      • orchestra (Solo): M1028+; M1128+
      • piano: M255+
• Horn music, see Horn
• Horse racing (Vocal music): M1977.S723+
• Horsemanship (Vocal music): M1977.S722+
• Housewives (Vocal music): M1977.H65+
• Hsiao
  • Instruction and study: MT358.H7
  • Instrumental music: M110.H7
• Hu ch'in
  • Instruction and study: MT358.H8
  • Instrumental music: M59.H8
  • with
    • orchestra (Solo): M1019.H8
• Humorous songs: M1977.H7+
• Hungary
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML248+; ML3593
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML494
  • National music: M1706+
  • Students' songs: M1961
• Hunger (Vocal music): M1977.H77
• Hunting songs: M1977.H8
  • History and criticism: ML3780
• Hurdy-gurdy
  • History and criticism: ML1086
  • Instruction and study: MT725.H87
  • Instrumental music: M175.H9
    • with
      • orchestra (Solo): M1039.4.H87
• Husbands (Vocal music): M1977.H85+
• Husor, see Bansuri
• Hygiene of voice (Instruction and study): MT821
• Hymn tunes
  • Composers: ML3000+
  • History and criticism: ML3000+
• Hymn writers: BM678.4+; BV325+
• Hymnals: M2115+
  • Special denominations: M2119+
  • see also Hymns
• Hymnary (Antiphonaries): M2149.2.H9
• Hymnology (History and criticism): ML3086; ML3186; ML3270
• Hymns
  • Bibliography: ML128.H8
  • Dictionaries: ML102.H95
  • History and criticism: ML3000+
  • Music
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2079.L43
      • Vespers: M2079.L96
    • Detached: M2146
    • Non-denominational in languages other than English: M2132+
  • Texts, see Hymn writers
  • see also Hymnals
• Hyon' gum (Instrumental music): M142.H9
• Hyon kum, see Hyon' gum

In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk

Phone: (812) 855-2971

Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu