Library Research Guides: SPCN F526 Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations: Research Sources

General Research Sources

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business and management issues (includes over 2,000 titles full text).
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journals for almost every academic discipline.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business journals; financial, banking and industry publications (includes over 2,300 titles full text.)
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
A good general news source to look up articles about a particular organization. Go into the search tab at the top of the page.

Guidestar
An organization that collects, organizes, and presents nonprofit information.

Google Scholar Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
- This link opens in a new window
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

Here are some resources that can help you with Excel:

Understanding Nonprofit Financial Statements (Chapter 6):

Understanding and Interpreting Nonprofit Financial Statements (Chapter 6):

Calculating and Interpreting Financial Ratios (Chapter 7): Start at time marker 1:26:00 and view through the end.

America's Career InfoNet
Extensive library of online career resources, including wage and employment trends, market conditions by state, and employer contacts.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Updated annually by the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes information --description, outlook, salary, educational requirements, etc.-- on hundreds of occupations.