Important Russian Sources
In the IU library system:
- Pervaia vseobshchaia perepis' naseleniia rossiiskoi imperii, 1897 g.: The first all-Russian census. For more detail see: http://ak.gks.ru/peep2010/DocLib3/1897.htm. Availabe on Microfiche.
- Izviestiia imperatorskago russkago geograficheskago obshchestva: A journal of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society (1845-1917). It published lectures, reports, and minutes of scholarly meetings held at the Society. IUB has the complete run of Izvestiia (1865-1916 on 834 microfiches).
- Zapiski imperatorskago russkago geograficheskago obshchestva po Otdieleniiu etnografii. 1867-1925), also on microfiche. it was published in three separate serieses: geography, statistics, and ethnography. IUB only has the ethnography series.
- Russkaia starina: One of the more important historical journals published in late tsarist Russia (1870-1918). Many memoirs and diaries, some related to experiences in Russian provinces, were published.
- Kavkazskii sbornik: A military-historical yearbook published in Tiflis from 1876 through 1912 by the Russian military staff of the Caucasus military "okrug." It published articles and primary documents relating to the Russian conquest of the Caucasus.
Outside resources:
- Meeting of Frontiers/Vstrecha na granitsakhAmerican-Russian joint digital library project, with a variety of materials including rare photos, bibliographies, and rare books in full-text, all related to Siberia or the American West, from US, Russia, and Germany.
- Russian Military Intelligence on Asia: Archive series, 1651-1917
Contains 1,942 archival files from the Russian State Military History Archive on Afghanistan, Arabia/Syria, China, Japan, Korea, Palestine, Persia, Turkey from 1651 to 1917.
- Russian Military Intelligence on Asia Online: Secret Prints, 1883-1914
Russian intelligence on Asia in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Muslims in Russia
A multidisciplinary collection of Russian magazines and newspapers on the Muslim population of Russia. More important subjects are politics, language, economy, history, culture, society, education.
Scholarly Institutes and Societies
- Association for the Study of Nationalities (ASN) One of the oldest and most diverse academic associations of its kind, ASN is devoted to the promotion of knowledge and understanding of complex processes of societal transformation taking place in Central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe, Russia, Ukraine, the Caucasus, and Eurasia. ~taken from the home page
Scholarly Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History
Comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of Russian history to date, consisting of original English entry articles and English translations of Russian sources.
- Encyclopedia of Russian history
"More than 1,500 entries covering 1,000+ years of Russian history, from the formation of Kievan Rus in the mid-ninth century to the present-day Russian Federation." -Booklist
- An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of the Russian and Soviet Empires
"Entries on over 450 ethnic groups, with appropriate cross-references. Each entry concludes with references, and the volume includes a selected bibliography of English-language titles." - Amazon.com
- Dictionary of Russian Historical Terms from the Eleventh Century to 1917
S. G. Pushkarev. 1970. 199 p.
- Entsiklopedicheskii slovar’
I.E. Andreevskii. 1990. Reprint of the original that was published in St. Peterburg by F. A. Brokgauz and I. A. Efron in 1890-1904
- Russkii biograficheskii slovar’
A.A. Polovtsov. 1896-[1913], 25 v.