Library Research Guides: SPEA H322 Principles of Epidemiology: Where to Search?

Where to Search?

The databases below can be used to find articles related to epidemiology. These resources can only be accessed through the IUB Libraries' website or this course guide. The resources below are only a select list owned by the IUB Libraries. Additional suggestions can be found at the Business/SPEA Information Commons Health Administration Research Guide or the IUB Libraries Public Health subject page.

General Resources:

Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a library database that provides full-text for more than 4,500 multidisciplinary journals.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a library database that provides the full-text of scholarly journal articles for many medical disciplines.
Provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from many of the important nursing journals.

Health & Medicine Specific Resources:

Alt HealthWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Alt-Health Watch provides full-text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports that focus on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Subject areas covered include: aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy.
CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full-text for more than 770 journals. In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes indexing for more than 5000 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1460 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With more than 3.9 million records dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a biomedical bibliographic database that was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). MEDLINE currently indexes over 50 years of articles from more than 5000 journals. PubMed is a government-sponsored MEDLINE system and is freely accessible by anyone who can access the Internet.
Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

- The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
- Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
- Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an interface that allows cross-searching of Web of Science (1955-present), BIOSIS Previews (1969-present), Medline (1950-present), Zoological Record (1864-present), and Journal Citation Reports (1998-2007).

SPEA H322 Principles of Epidemiology

Where to Search?

General Resources:

Health & Medicine Specific Resources:

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

SPEA H322 Principles of Epidemiology

Where to Search?

General Resources:

Health & Medicine Specific Resources:

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries