ASD Pre-Speaking is a program for children with Autism Spectrum Disorders or other developmental disabilities who have little or no speech. The program teaches a range of cognitive and linguistic skills to nonverbal/non-speaking children. With mastery of these skills, many children progress to learning both spoken and written language. Activities include matching pictures, sequencing body movements, sequencing visual patterns, and building receptive language.
ASD Speaking Sounds is a program for children with Autism Spectrum Disorders or other developmental disabilities who currently make sounds but do not say complete words. The program expands a child's ability to make sequences of sounds. Following the activities will enable nonverbal or minimally verbal children to speak and produce meaningful, complete sentences.
From the book description:
"As AAC use continues to flourish and new technology revolutionizes the field, tomorrow's service providers need current, authoritative information on AAC for children and adults with communication disorders... The foundational textbook for SLPs, OTs, PTs, teachers, and other professionals in clinical and educational settings, this fourth edition is a definitive introduction to AAC processes, interventions, and technologies that help people best meet their daily communication needs."
Suzanne Ducharme provides parents with comprehensive information about speech and language development and the intervention process, but also delves deeply into the fears, concerns, and questions that every parent faces when something goes wrong. She provides families with information and resources, but also support and perspective. Using real stories throughout, Ducharme is able to illustrate the range of difficulties, challenges, and triumphs of families who love and support children with speech and language issues. -publisher
Ten autistic self-advocates share their experiences with alternative forms of communication such as rapid prompting method (RPM) and facilitated communication (FC), both highly controversial. Their narratives document the complexities that autistic individuals navigate--in both educational and community settings--when choosing to use approaches that utilize letter boards and keyboards. While the controversies remain--RPM requires further scientific study, and FC is subject to criticism about confirmation bias--these individuals share powerful stories in the context of aiming for disability rights. -publisher
This fully revised and updated second edition features a brand new design, making the step-by-step assessment even easier to navigate and use. The suggested script for each stage of the investigation that runs alongside the photocopiable assessment sheets, make this book an extremely user-friendly, accessible teaching and learning resource.
This text presents a developmental social-pragmatic approach to facilitating language and social communication. Consistent with SCERTS model (Social Communication Emotional Regulation and Transactional Supports), it makes a major contribution to the training and support of young children on the autism spectrum, ages 3-5.
"...Helping Children with Down Syndrome Communicate Better provides parents and professionals with the information and resources they need to improve their child's communication at school, at home, and in the wider community."
"Selective mutism, or refusal or unwillingness to speak in certain situations or settings, poses a particular challenge to educators and other school-based professionals. In many cases, school personnel are on the front lines of assessment and treatment for these children and must help them succeed in an academic setting. This can be difficult considering that many school-based professionals are pressed for time and resources.
Helping Children with Selective Mutism and Their Parents: A Guide for School-based Professionals provides information that can help readers better understand and combat selective mutism. Written for guidance counselors, teachers, principals and deans, school psychologists, and school-based social workers, this book educates readers about the nature of selective mutism and its most common clinical manifestations (such as social anxiety, oppositional behavior, and communication difficulties)."
"A Valuable Reference For Students And Clinicians, Intervention In Child Language Disorders: A Comprehensive Handbook focuses on interventions that have been shown to be effective in helping children overcome language impairments. The handbook is comprehensive with regard to children's ages, covering language disorders in children from infancy to high school age. Addressing fundamental principles and clinical practice methods, this indispensable resource presents creative clinical ideas and treatment examples based on a firm theoretical foundation."
The Kaufman Speech to Language Protocol is a way of teaching children with apraxia of speech the easiest way of saying words until they have increased motor-speech coordination. They are actually taught the shell of words without including too many of the complex consonants, vowels, or syllables which make a word too difficult to even attempt on a motor basis.
This text is more than an introductory look at language disorders. It goes beyond basic concepts and basic definitions to teach students how to analyze, synthesize, evaluate, and link the information they are learning. It offers readers opportunities for higher-order learning, while preparing students to become careful evaluators of information, as well as adept problem solvers.
Camarata describes in accessible language what science knows about the characteristics and causes of late talking. He explains that today's greater awareness of autism, as well as the expanded definition of autism as a "spectrum" of symptoms, has increased the chances that a late-talking child will be diagnosed -- or misdiagnosed -- with autism.
Keep up with the latest on the highly respected multisensory teaching approach to literacy with this new fourth edition, a complete update of the bestselling textbook adopted in colleges and universities across the country. The most comprehensive text available on multisensory teaching, this book prepares today's educators to use specific evidence-based approaches that improve struggling students' language skills and academic outcomes in elementary through high school. -publisher
From book description:
"An essential pediatrics textbook and professional reference, this cutting-edge volume sheds new light on neurogenetic syndromes using a promising clinical perspective: examining behavioral and psychological phenotypes, with a strong focus on the influence of genetics. Linking science with practice like no other current text on this topic, this comprehensive book combines the latest research of two dozen leading experts and shows how these advances in knowledge apply to treatment and therapy. Clinicians who work with children of all ages will fully explore behavioral phenotypes of established syndromes, such as Down syndrome, Smith Magenis syndrome, fragile X syndrome, Prader-Willi syndrome, and Williams syndrome and the relationship between brain development and cognitive ability as children grow older."
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan. This timely and unique set looks at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of health issues, such as Asperger's syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, and dementia. It also includes topics on core psychology and cognitive sciences, for example social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development. -publisher
"At last, a parents' guide to understanding, treating, and living with childhood apraxia of speech (CAS). Written in an empathic style by a parent who "has been there", Speaking of Apraxia offers hope and practical advice for parents of toddlers to teens with this neurologically-based motor speech disorder. Characterized by difficulties with planning and producing the complex set of movements necessary for intelligible speech, CAS can be a child's only diagnosis or can be accompanied by other special needs such as learning disabilities, Down syndrome, or autism. Parents and professionals will appreciate the author's clear explanations of everything from diagnosing CAS and working with speech-language pathologists (SLPs), to understanding how to distinguish it from other speech disorders, and getting appropriate early intervention and special education support."
Every inclusive school team needs a great SLP who supports communication skills where they're needed most--in the classroom, as students with disabilities learn and participate alongside their peers. This is the practical, friendly guide SLPs need to go beyond pull-out services and deliver successful communication and language supports as part of an inclusive school team. Packed with immediately useful strategies, relatable examples, and invaluable insights from experienced SLPs, this guidebook is key to helping students with disabilities improve their communicative functioning so they can access the curriculum and fully participate in classroom routines and activities.
A speech-language pathologist shows parents and caregivers that they don't need to be experts to help kids communicate better! Use this uniquely designed book to improve the communication skills of young children ages 3 through 7 who have delayed or ineffective speech due to autism, Down syndrome, cerebral palsy, cleft lip/palate, Childhood Apraxia of Speech, hearing loss, or another condition.
Many school-aged children with developmental challenges need help with their listening, language, and whole-word reading skills. This book explains how to teach these skills in sequential steps using more than 100 goals and activities that can be incorporated into an IEP (Individualised Education Program) or used for home practice.
"Addressing a key skill in reading, writing, and speaking, this comprehensive book is grounded in cutting-edge research on vocabulary development. It presents evidence-based instructional approaches for at-risk students, including English language learners and those with learning difficulties. Coverage ranges from storybook reading interventions for preschoolers to direct instruction and independent word-learning strategies for older students. Guidance is provided on using word lists effectively and understanding how word features influence learning. The book also reviews available vocabulary assessment tools and describes how to implement them in a response-to-intervention framework."