Introduction to Library Resources for Language Instructors

The use of technology in various language teaching and learning contexts has become increasingly commonplace in recent years. This has resulted in an enormous range of choices for teachers and researchers in the field, but at the same time, it has also become more and more difficult for those who are new to using technology for language teaching and researching to keep up with these changes. This handbook provides a wide-ranging, accessible overview of technology in language teaching and learning by leading experts in the field from around the world. The chapters are split into six thematic parts, covering a multitude of subject areas whilst also highlighting the relationships between the topics covered. Showcasing the diversity and complexity of the field in a comprehensive yet approachable manner, it is essential reading for academic researchers and graduate students, as well as pre-service and in-service teachers in various global contexts.

This book develops the theory and practice of critical foreign language pedagogy. Written by a distinguished scholar of pragmatics and sociolinguistics, it encourages educators to think beyond traditional methods of language teaching to consider the reality of being a foreign language user and the goals and experiences of each learner.

A Design Orientation to Second Language Writing Instruction presents the principles of a Design orientation to second language writing and argues for new directions in second language writing instruction.

The development of Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) has led to intense wonder, surprise, excitement, and concern within the language teaching profession. These tools offer the potential to assist language teachers in helping their learners achieve their language learning goals, and at the same time, risk disrupting language teaching and learning processes, the teaching profession, and possibly the instrumental needs to learn foreign languages. This Element provides an accessible introduction and guide to the use of GenAI for language teaching. It aims to facilitate language teachers' development of the professional knowledge and skills they need to use GenAI responsibly, ethically and effectively. The Element It is a valuable resource for pre-service and in-service language teachers of all experience levels. Each section includes helpful tips and questions for reflection to get teachers started with GenAI while ensuring they engage critically and responsibly with these tools. Evidence-informed approaches are promoted throughout the Element.

This seminal handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the research on world language education and how that research can transform into effective and daily instructional practices for K-16 language teachers. With contributions from leading scholars in the field, the volume addresses cutting-edge research, trends, and practice. Covering all key topics in language education, the volume is organized in six sections: Teaching Methods and Approaches; Culture, Pragmatics, and Intercultural Communicative Competence; Assessment and Program Evaluation; Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the World Language Classroom; Technology Integration and Online Language Teaching and Learning; and Key Issues in World Language Instruction, including advocacy, teacher recruitment and retention, and professional development. This handbook is an essential text for all scholars, researchers, and educators in world language and second language instruction.

This innovative, timely text introduces the theory, research, and classroom application of critical approaches to the teaching of minoritized heritage learners, foregrounding sociopolitical concerns in language education. Beaudrie and Loza open with a global analysis, and expert contributors connect a focus on speakers of Spanish as a heritage language in the United States to broad issues in heritage language education in other contexts - offering an overview of key concepts and theoretical issues, practical pedagogical guidance, and field-advancing suggestions for research projects. This is an invaluable resource for advanced students and scholars of applied linguistics and education, as well as language program administrators.

Heritage language (HL) learning and teaching presents particularly difficult challenges. Melding cutting-edge research with innovations in teaching practice, the contributors in this volume provide practical knowledge and tools that introduce new solutions informed by linguistic, sociolinguistic, and educational research on heritage learners. Scholars address new perspectives and orientations on designing HL programs, assessing progress and proficiency, transferring research knowledge into classroom practice, and the essential question of how to define a heritage learner. Articles offer analysis and answers on multiple languages, and the result is a unique and essential text--the only comprehensive guide for heritage language learning based on the latest theory and research with suggestions for the classroom.

Aimed towards advanced students and researchers in language acquisition and teaching, Language Intake considers the long-debated definition of language intake and its determining factors, and in doing so presents a unique argument for language input and intake.

Learning by Design and Second Language Teaching establishes theoretical, research, and practice connections between the multiliteracies framework Learning by Design and L2 teaching and learning. A comprehensive introductory chapter presents the theoretical tenets of the approach and is followed by four chapters devoted to the establishment of connections between the framework and L2 instruction, information on evidence-based pedagogical practices and suggestions for their implementation, and task examples that can be adapted for use in a variety of educational contexts. Each chapter links theory and research to practical steps instructors can take to select authentic materials and create tasks in each of the framework's knowledge processes with the objective of developing L2 students' performance in the interpersonal (speaking), interpretive (reading and listening), and presentational (writing) modes of communication. A selection of guidance charts, figures, templates, and extra digital resources are included within the text to support learning and teaching. The book will be of interest to graduate students and in-service and future L2 teachers in all levels of instruction. Chapter 1, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 of this book are freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com.

Method and Postmethod in Language Teaching provides a comprehensive, accessible, and engaging guide to the much-debated notions of 'method', 'methods', and 'postmethod' in language teaching. Divided into three sections − 'Contexts', 'Concepts', and 'Debates' - the book sets out 'traditional' understandings of method(s), examines alternative accounts and critiques that inform, and at times go beyond, postmethod thinking within language teaching, and finally relates these issues to key practical debates and dilemmas that teachers navigate in the classrooms. Highlighting the importance of teachers' understandings of their own professional contexts, the volume uses the notion of method as a 'lens' through which teachers and other language teaching professionals can clarify their understandings of language teaching, both in terms of pedagogic practices and classroom possibilities, and with regard to the development of this diverse field more generally. Throughout, readers are encouraged to develop their own thinking and practice in contextually appropriate ways, supported by discussion questions and key readings that accompany each chapter, a glossary of key terms, and suggestions for additional reading. This book is an indispensable resource for language teachers and other language teaching professionals, as well as postgraduate and upper-level undergraduate students of Applied Linguistics, Language Teacher Education, and ELT/TESOL and other language teaching programmes.

This book is the first volume devoted to mindset theory and practice in language education, offering interdisciplinary investigations into the motivation, competencies, emotions and wellbeing of language learners and teachers. Presenting studies from a vast array of language learning environments, the chapters explore topics such as students' attitudes and motivation surrounding language learning, the effects of mindset on vocabulary acquisition, the mindsets of early career teachers and experienced language teachers, interventions on students' mindsets and interventions that strengthen language teachers' growth mindsets. The findings presented in this book will be of great interest to instructors and researchers alike and present essential developments for the field of applied linguistics and psychology of language learning and teaching. The book will be invaluable in improving the quality of the language learning experience for teachers and students in various academic environments.

Multiliteracies, Multimodality, and Learning by Design in Second Language Learning and Teacher Education offers valuable insights and practical strategies for addressing the language and literacy needs of students in diverse, multilingual classrooms. This edited volume delves into the dynamic interplay between multimodality, multiliteracies, and Learning by Design (LbyD), providing evidence-based research and actionable guidance for their effective implementation in second language learning and teacher education. Examining the advantages of incorporating multimodality and multiliteracies in second language teacher training, this book emphasizes the use of multimodal texts to create engaging and meaningful lessons for L2 learners. By empowering students as active co-constructors of knowledge, this book equips educators with the necessary tools to foster a vibrant and inclusive learning environment. Designed specifically for pre-service and practicing teachers, this book serves as an indispensable resource for integrating the pedagogy of multiliteracies into both coursework and classroom practices.

This book is the first substantive scholarly book on project-based and cross-curricular language learning using digital technologies. The book includes new empirical research on project-based language learning utilizing CALL technologies and conceptual and theoretical chapters that address new methodological approaches for researching projectbased and cross-curricular language learning in digitally-mediated learning environments. This dual focus distinguishes the volume from previous books on project-based learning in which digital technologies have not been the main focus. CALL research involving a variety of languages is also offered. The book is timely in that, inspired by OECD reports and curriculum reforms in several countries, a repositioning and re-evaluation of foreign language education in school-based education has been taking place in which foreign language learning is taught in a multi-disciplinary approach involving an emphasis on collaborative literacies, including problem-solving, civic engagement, social justice and telecollaboration. In this mix, language learning, particularly driven by developments in CLIL (content and integrated language learning), is being taught as one of several disciplines in a way that firmly emphasizes communication and creativity rather than a traditional functional approach.

This book showcases pedagogical tools for learning languages through interdisciplinary project-based learning (PBL). Chapters demonstrate a diverse range of PBL activities that help students build communities of practice within classroom settings, and across local and global communities. Too often, learning a language can become a static endeavor, confined to a classroom and a singular discipline. But language is dynamic and fluid no matter the setting in which learning takes place. In acknowledging this, this volume explores how PBL and community-engagement pedagogies serve to combine learning goals and community service in ways that enhance student growth and facilitate second language development in an interdisciplinary, multilingual, and multicultural higher education learning environment. Chapters touch on activities and approaches including spoken-word poetry, environmental projects, social activism, study abroad, and in-service learning. This book will be of interest to researchers, academics, and postgraduate students in the fields of language education, second language acquisition, higher education, and comparative and international education.

This book explores creative uses of social media for informal language learning, examining how informal language learning adapts to technological innovations in TikTok and Instagram. It offers pedagogical strategies for teachers to integrate newer technologies and multimodal materials into language classrooms to enhance learning experiences.