Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

Introduction to Library Resources for Language Instructors

Key resources and information about IU libraries locations, holdings, and services available to support language instruction.

Special Collections at IU

Students often enjoy working with special collections because these unique materials offer a tangible connection to history and culture, making language learning more immersive, authentic, and memorable. Below find guides to some of the special collections available at IU Bloomington and ideas for integrating them into language pedagogy.

Collections by Library

The Lilly Library is IU's main special collections repository. It holds around a half million books and over 8 million manuscripts, as well as various other kinds of objects.You can visit its ongoing exhibitions or request a special visit for your class. Learn more and explore digital resources here: libraries.indiana.edu/lilly-library

Request a class session: libraries.indiana.edu/lilly-library/request-class

a view of the outside of the Lilly library, opposite Showalter fountain

Archives of Traditional Music (ATM)

Located in the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, the ATM holds over 120,000 recordings—including 4,000+ field collections—making it one of the largest university-based ethnographic sound archives in the U.S. Many recordings are unique and not available elsewhere.

Thanks to IU’s Media Digitization and Preservation Initiative, these materials have been digitized, with original media (like tapes and wax cylinders) preserved in a secure, climate-controlled facility. The ATM Research and Reading Room provides access to these collections and supports research in ethnomusicology and related fields.

Learn more about the ATM here: libraries.indiana.edu/archives-traditional-music

the hallway and door of the Archives of Traditional Music

African Studies Collection

The IU Libraries African Studies Collection includes several noteworthy collections of archival materials. Two of these collections, the Digital Somali Library, and the Nuer Field Notes Project consist of materials that have been digitized, and whose digital facsimiles can be accessed online. Please contact the Librarian for African Studies to make arrangements to use the H. K. Banda Archive and the Liberian Collections on-site.

Folklore Collection (Wells Library 7th Floor)

The IU Libraries' Folklore and Ethnomusicology Collection is the largest, most comprehensive library collection devoted to this subject in the world. The collection contains 55,000 distinct titles, including: 1,100 journals and periodicals; 125 current journal subscriptions; 2,570 sound recordings; and 1,100 musical scores. 

We collect scholarly publications and primary materials in folklore and ethnomusicology in all languages and formats. The collection includes folk literature and customs, folk music, dance, mythology, museum and heritage studies, folk art and craft, vernacular architecture, and much more. Some unique materials include the Fansler Collection of Philippine literature in vernacular languages (microfilm) and the Gaidoz Collection of Celtic studies, comparative religion, and mythology. 

Contact Folklore and Ethnomusicology Librarian Moira Marsh for more information.

Fine Arts Collection

Located on the 9th floor of Wells Library, the Fine Arts Collection holds materials in the visual arts, art history, architecture, and design, including circulating slides and over 2,500 artists' books. For more information contact Art, Architecture, and Design Librarian Sarah Carter.

South Asian Cinema Ephemera

This growing collection of materials related to South Asian cinema includes song booklets (over 1000), lobby cards, promotional materials, still photographs, unpublished scripts, posters, film festival guides, and other research materials in over a dozen languages from India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

Contact South Asian Studies Librarian Gwendolyn Kirk for more information.

East Asian Collection

The East Asian Collection is located on the 8th floor of the East Tower of the Wells Library. It houses monographs, bound periodicals, and newspapers in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages, and a reference collection for East Asian studies. 

In addition, there are other locations in the Wells Library with materials related to East Asia:

  • An extensive collection of Western language resources on East Asia is shelved on the other floors of the East Tower.
  • Currently subscribed periodicals and newpapers are shelved in the Reference Reading Room, first floor of the East Tower.
  • East Asia-related media materials are shelved in Media Services in the Reference Reading Room, first floor of the East Tower.
  • Tibetan materials are included in the Tibetan Collection which is located on the 9th floor of the East Tower.
  • Thousands of East Asian materials were transferred to ALF, the remote storage facilities on the Bloomington campus

For more information contact East Asian Studies Librarian Wen-ling Liu.

The Education Library has a large collection of children's and young adult literature in many languages from across the world. The 21,000+ volume Children's Literature Collection is a selective group of children's and young adult literature housed in the Education Library and the ALF. The collection supports the curriculum of children's and young adult literature classes in the School of Education, Information and Library Science Program, and the English Department. It is available to and is used by students, staff, faculty and Indiana residents. 

Learn more and explore the collectino here: libraries.indiana.edu/childrens-ya-literature-collection

Additionally, the Education Library has many volumes on pedagogy and teaching that are of particular interest to language teachers.

a view of the Education Library from its lawn

Special Collections in Language Pedagogy

Allowing students to use authentic, rare, or historical materials gives them an especially unique and engaging way to approach a new language and culture. Here are a few ideas for using special collections in language classes:

Use rare audio recordings for pronunciation and listening practice
Instructors can play archival recordings of native speakers, historical broadcasts, or oral histories to expose students to authentic accents, intonation, and cultural context.

Incorporate manuscripts and rare texts into reading comprehension activities
Students can analyze excerpts from historical documents or literary works in the target language to deepen vocabulary, interpret meaning, and explore linguistic evolution.

Design cultural comparison projects using rare books
Instructors can guide students in comparing cultural themes, idioms, or writing styles found in special collection materials with those in their own language or culture.

Create translation exercises from original sources
Students can work with untranslated manuscripts or texts to practice translation skills, discuss challenges, and explore nuances in meaning.

Develop storytelling or role-play activities based on historical materials
Using primary sources like letters, diaries, or folklore, students can recreate scenes, write dialogues, or perform skits that bring language and history to life.