Skip to Main Content

BUS D271 Developing Economics with an emphasis on Africa - Kanyi

Cultural Research

eHRAF World Cultures
Searchable full-text ethnographies on hundreds of ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

globalEDGE
Select "Global Insights" then country or industry.

GlobeSmart
In-depth information and advice about business, culture, and travel-related topics in more than 80 countries.

Note: To access GlobeSmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your official @iu.edu e-mail address to create and register your account. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.

GlobeSmart is a web-based tool that provides access to extensive knowledge on how to conduct business effectively with people from 65 countries around the world. Developed from extensive research and interviews with business people from each country, GlobeSmart content is organized into more than 50 continuously updated topics, including communicating effectively, managing people, business protocol, local business environment, and travel information.

The GlobeSmart Profile allows the exploration of preferred work styles compared with the average styles of people from other countries on five dimensions of culture.

Hofstede Cultural Comparisons
Create a bar chart that compares country cultures on 6 dimensions.

Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
One Mail instructions:
If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.
1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
  1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
ISBN: 1593373686

Publication Date: 2006

Your Passport to International Business Etiquette The most authoritative and comprehensive text of its kind, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition is your must-have guide to proper international business protocol. With countries such as China and India taking on a more significant role in the global business landscape, you can't afford not to know the practices, customs, and philosophies of other countries. Now fully revised, updated, and expanded with over sixty country profiles, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition provides invaluable information on how to handle common business interactions with grace, respect, and an appreciation for different cultures.

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2025 3:16 PM
URL: https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/D271K
Print Page