Indigenous Studies Resources for Africa
For more information contact interim African Studies librarian, Luis Gonzalez.
-
African Commission on Human and Peoples’ RightsThe African Charter established the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The Commission is officially charged with these major functions: 1) the protection of human and peoples' rights; and 2) the interpretation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights.
-
Indigenous Peoples of Africa Co-ordinating Committee (IPACC)The Indigenous Peoples of Africa Co-ordinating Committee (IPACC) is a network of 135 Indigenous peoples’ organisations in 21 African countries. It is a membership organisation. Any legitimate organisation composed of African indigenous peoples is welcome to apply for membership. Other associations working in development, human or Indigenous rights may apply for associate (non-voting) membership. Members elect an Executive Committee representing six geographic and cultural regions in Africa including a special regional representative of Indigenous women. IPACC is accredited with the UN Economic and Social Council, the UN Environment Programme, the Global Environment Facility, UNESCO and the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.
-
International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA)The IThe International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA) is a global human rights organization dedicated to promoting and defending Indigenous Peoples’ rights. is a global human rights organization dedicated to promoting and defending Indigenous Peoples’ rights.
-
UNESCO Digital LibraryThe UNESCO Digital Library is the repository of UNESCO’s institutional memory and a source of high-quality information on UNESCO activities (in education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information), with more than 350,000 documents dating back to 1945. It includes the collections of the UNESCO Library and several documentation centres in UNESCO’s Field Offices and Institutes, as well as the UNESCO Archives. The essential purpose of the UNESCO Digital Library is to share knowledge and to transmit it to future generations.
-
UNESCO Intangible Cultural HeritageThe term ‘cultural heritage’ has changed content considerably in recent decades, partially owing to the instruments developed by UNESCO. Cultural heritage does not end at monuments and collections of objects. It also includes traditions or living expressions inherited from our ancestors and passed on to our descendants, such as oral traditions, performing arts, social practices, rituals, festive events, knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe or the knowledge and skills to produce traditional crafts.
-
UNESCO Secretariat for the International Decade of Indigenous LanguagesUNESCO has placed at the heart of its mandate the preservation, revitalization and support to linguistic diversity and multilingualism, both online and offline. The Organization acted as lead UN Agency for the implementation of the 2019 International Year of Indigenous Languages and now, it has been tasked to continue leading global efforts in the framework of the International Decade of Indigenous Languages (IDIL2022-2032) as per United Nations General Assembly’s decision. The Decade provides a unique opportunity to engage in long-term actions and to enhance international cooperation in this area - for leaving none behind, no one outside by 2032.
-
The World in Faces - UN ExhibitionShown in 2019, during the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, the exhibition showcases photographs that display the incredible diversity of Indigenous peoples’ cultures through portraits of individuals from different parts of the world in their traditional clothing and environment.
-
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Provides access to historic field recordings from around the world, alongside supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata.
-
Ethnographic Video Online
Access to classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers working in the field, and some feature films. Includes searchable transcripts.
-
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Streaming educational video. Covers a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
-
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Sound files of traditional music from around the world, plus notes, images, video, and lesson plans. Search by culture, genre, instrument, year, etc. Includes access to volumes 1 and 2.
-
PBS Video Collection
This collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one online interface.
-
African Folklore
by
ISBN: 9780203493144Publication Date: 2004-03-01Written by an international team of experts, this is the first work of its kind to offer comprehensive coverage of folklore throughout the African continent. Over 300 entries provide in-depth examinations of individual African countries, ethnic groups, religious practices, artistic genres, and numerous other concepts related to folklore. Featuring original field photographs, a comprehensive index, and thorough cross-references, African Folklore: An Encyclopedia is an indispensable resource for any library's folklore or African studies collection. Also includes seven maps. -
The Cambridge History of Africa byPublication Date: 1975-1986
-
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East
by
ISBN: 9780816071586Publication Date: 2009-07-30Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East is a new two-volume A-to-Z reference to the history and culture of the peoples of Africa and the Middle East. This fascinating resource includes about 1,400 entries on the major peoples that have maintained a cultural identity in the area - from ancient to modern times - summarizing their history, migration, culture, belief system, social organization, and relationship to other peoples. Students will find entries on the Assyrians and the Asante, as well as entries on 'Iraqis: nationality' and 'Ghanaians: nationality', describing who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.It includes: Armenians; Bantu; Berber; Dinka; Egyptians; Fulani; Greeks; Hittites; Iraqis: nationality; Jews; Khoikhoi; Kurds; Ottoman; Persians; Phoenicians; and, South Africans: nationality. -
Handbook of Indigenous Peoples' Rights
by
ISBN: 9780203119235Publication Date: 2016-02-05This handbook will be a comprehensive interdisciplinary overview of indigenous peoples' rights. Chapters by experts in the field will examine legal, philosophical, sociological and political issues, addressing a wide range of themes at the heart of debates on the rights of indigenous peoples. The book will address not only the major questions, such as 'who are indigenous peoples? What is distinctive about their rights? How are their rights constructed and protected? What is the relationship between national indigenous rights regimes and international norms? but also themes such as culture, identity, genocide, globalization and development, rights institutionalization and the environment. -
Indigenous Peoples
by
ISBN: 9781440861185Publication Date: 2020-02-24The book is an essential resource for those interested in investigating the lives, histories, and futures of indigenous peoples around the world. Perfect for readers looking to learn more about cultural groups around the world, this four-volume work examines approximately 400 indigenous groups globally. The encyclopedia investigates the history, social structure, and culture of peoples from all corners of the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Alphabetically arranged entries focus on groups living in all world regions, some of which are well-known with large populations, and others that are lesser-known with only a handful of surviving members. Each entry includes sections on the group's geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival. Each entry concludes with See Also cross-references and a list of Further Reading resources to guide readers in their research. Also included in the encyclopedia are Native Voices inset boxes, allowing readers a glimpse into the daily lives of members of these indigenous groups, as well as an appendix featuring the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. -
Native Peoples of the World
by
ISBN: 9781315702155Publication Date: 2015-03-10This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups. -
The Routledge Handbook of Language and the Global South-S
by
ISBN: 9781003007074Publication Date: 2022-08-25This Handbook centers on language(s) in the Global South/s and the many ways in which both "language" and the "Global South" are conceptualized, theorized, practiced, and reshaped. Drawing on 31 chapters situated in diverse geographical contexts, and four additional interviews with leading scholars, this text showcases: Issues of decolonization Promotion of Southern epistemologies and theories of the Global South/s A focus on social/applied linguistics An added focus on the academy A nuanced understanding of global language scholarship. It is written for emerging and established scholars across the globe as it positions Southern epistemologies, language scholarship, and decolonial theories into scholarship surrounding multiple themes and global perspectives. -
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization
by
ISBN: 9781317200857Publication Date: 2018-03-05The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the first comprehensive overview of the language revitalization movement, from the Arctic to the Amazon and across continents. Featuring 47 contributions from a global range of top scholars in the field, the handbook is divided into two parts, the first of which expands on language revitalization issues of theory and practice while the second covers regional perspectives in an effort to globalize and decolonize the field. The collection examines critical issues in language revitalization, including: language rights, language and well-being, and language policy; language in educational institutions and in the home; new methodologies and venues for language learning; and the roles of documentation, literacies, and the internet. The volume also contains chapters on the kinds of language that are less often researched such as the revitalization of music, of whistled languages and sign languages, and how languages change when they are being revitalized. The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization is the ideal resource for graduate students and researchers working in linguistic anthropology and language revitalization and endangerment. -
The Routledge Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Languages
by
ISBN: 9781003107224Publication Date: 2020-11-29The Routledge Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Languages offers a state-of-the-art collection of original contributions in the area of Pidgin and Creole studies. Providing unique and equal coverage of nearly all parts of the world where such languages are found, as well as situating each area within a rich socio-historical context, this book presents fresh and diverse interdisciplinary perspectives from leading voices in the field. Divided into three sections, its analysis covers: Space and place - areal perspective on pidgin and creole languages Usage, function and power - sociolinguistic and artistic perspectives on pidgins and creoles, creoles as sociocultural phenomena Framing of the study of pidgin and creole languages - history of the field, interdisciplinary connections Demonstrating how fundamentally human and natural these communication systems are, how rich in expressive power and sophisticated in their complexity, The Routledge Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Languages is an essential reference for anyone with an interest in this area. -
The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics Around the World
by
ISBN: 9780203869659Publication Date: 2009-12-16Drawing on examples from a wide range of languages and social setting, The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics Around the World is the first single-volume collection surveying current and recent research trends in international sociolinguistics. With over 30 chapters written by leading authorities in the region concerned, all continents and their respective regions are covered. The book will serve as an important tool to help widen the perspective on sociolinguistics to readers of English. Divided into sections covering: The Americas, Asia, Australasia, Africa and the Middle East, and Europe, the book provides readers with a solid, up-to-date appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of the field of sociolinguistics in each area. It clearly explains the patterns and systematicity that underlie language variation in use, as well as the ways in which alternations between different language varieties mark personal style, social power and national identity. The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics around the World is the ideal resource for all students on undergraduate sociolinguistics courses and researchers involved in the study of language, society and power. English Language and Linguistics / Sociolinguistics
