Overview
The following pertains to the indigeneity of Siberia. The resources presented come mostly from the Indiana University Libraries collection; however, also included are those from open-access digital libraries. It starts with a gallery with images selected, randomly, from different disciplines. The next section, presented in a tabbed format, covers, very briefly, five types of sources. Then comes the last, a multimedia section. Please send inquiries to Wookjin Cheun (wcheun@iu.edu).
Gallery
"Comparative Word List Of Alaskan Eskimo, Siberian Eskimo, And Chukchee"
Franz Boas' field note "Comparative Word List Of Alaskan Eskimo, Siberian Eskimo, And Chukchee" from the online resource Anthropological Fieldwork Online.
Копия письма кочевников-эвенков
A letter to Stalin from an Evenki group dated February 19, 1934 (Source: Stalin Digital Archive)
Историческая энциклопедия Сибири (2009, 3 vols)
" ... специализированное научно-справочное энциклопедическое издание, отражающее ключевые аспекты развития Сибири с древнейших времен до современности... состоит из трех томов. Всего в книгу включено около 4 тыс. статей, опубликованных в алфавитном порядке от А до Я без тематического подразделения" -- From Editors
Книжная летопись 1932 : Специальные выпуски
The four special issues (специальные выпуски) of Knizhnaia letopis' (книжная летопись) 1932 registering 5,572 titles in a total of 72 non-Slavic languages.
Texe babaniin tүүxe : Hurguuliiin nahanai bagaşuudai unşaxa yliger = Сказка о козлике : для детей школьного возраста (1938)
" ... одна из первых бурятских литературных сказок для детей, созданных на народной основе и положивших начало национальной детской литературе. Эта поучительная и забавная сказка в стихах рассказывает о похождениях хвастливого козлика, который поймал серого волка, напугал медведя и других зверей.
Издание вышло в период перехода бурятского языка от старописьменной монгольской к латинизированной (1930), а затем в 1939 году к русской кириллической графике."
Ю́рий Серге́евич Рытхэ́у (celebrated Chukchi writer, 1930-2008)
" ... родился 8 марта 1930 года в посёлке Уэлен Дальневосточного края (ныне Чукотский автономный округ) в семье охотника-зверобоя. Его дед был шаманом, который в начале 20-го века ездил в Нью-Йорк и работал там в зоопарке: сидел в клетке, изображая «типичного северного дикаря». При рождении мальчику дали имя Рытгэв, что в переводе с чукотского ‘рытгэватъё’ означает «забытый»" From the Chukotka Regional Library website.
Ансамбль песни и танца «Энэр» («Звезда»)
Magadan-based music and dance ensemble, Ener (Star in English).
Siberia and Indigeneity
-
Luoravetlansko-russkii (chukotsko-russkii) slovarʹ / Vladimir Bogoraz (1937)One of the earliest Chukchi language textbooks by the Russian anthropologist Vladimir Bogoraz (1865-1936).
-
Nanaisko-russkii slovarʹ : 12 800 slov (1980)Dictionary of the Nanai ("moribund") language.
-
Nenetsko-russkii slovarʹ. Okolo 22 000 slov (1965)Nenets language ("threatened") dictionary.
-
Озвученный русско-эвенкийский разговорникEvenki audio phrasebook
-
Russko-orochskii slovarʹ : materialy po iazyku i traditsionnoi kulʹture udegeitsev / V.K. Arsenʹev (2008)Dictionary of the Oroch language ("near-extinct") of Siberia based on the materials collected by the Russian ethnographer, Vladimir Klavdievich Arsen'ev (1872-1930).
-
Телеуроки: Обучающие материалыShort video lessons for a few indigenous languages (Chukchi, Evenki, Dolgan, Iukagir)
** For more language learning materials -- such as dictionaries and grammars -- see "The indigenous language dictionaries of Russia"
-
Comparative Word List Of Alaskan Eskimo, Siberian Eskimo, And ChukcheeThe American anthropologist Franz Boas' field note. Ca. 1,200 items, arranged alphabetically by English with equivalents in parallel columns. Included in the online collection "Anthropolotical Fieldwork Online" (https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/anthropological-fieldwork-online).
-
Endangered Languages Project" ... users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files" -- From website
-
Ethnographic Video Online"Access to classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers working in the field, and some feature films. Includes searchable transcripts."
-
EtnoknigaA multifaceted online resource created by the culture professionals and scholars of the Magadan Oblast pertaining to the indigenous peoples of the Far North-East.
-
EvengusA comprehensive website for learning the Evenki language. Evenkiteka, its digital library (https://www.evenkiteka.ru/), provides full-text access to almost 300 books in the Evenki.
-
Издания на языках народов РоссииA section of "НЭБ Книжные памятники" (https://kp.rusneb.ru/) that provides full-text access to about 600 indigenous language publications.
-
Art of Siberia / Valentina Gorbatcheva, Marina Federova (2016)" ... compellingly describes the lives of the men and women who first conquered these vast lands and then struggled desperately to preserve their traditions."
-
Korennye narody dalʹnego vostoka Rossii = Aboriginal peoples of the Russian far east = Roshia Kyokutō senjūmin (2000)"A collection of art reproductions of the peoples of Siberia."
-
Orochi: Katalog kollektsii (2022)Catalog of the Oroch collection of the Grodekov Museum in Khabarovsk.
-
Ul'chi: Katalog kollektsii (2022)Catalog of the Ul'chi collection of the Grodekov Museum in Khabarovsk.
-
Zemlia evenskaia : fotoal'bom (2003)" ... Альбом приглашает в путешествие по Северо-Эвенскому району, где существуют уникальные возможности для рыбалки, охоты, путешествий и отдыха" -- Provided by publisher.
-
Agitating images : photography against history in indigenous Siberia / Craig Campbell (2014)"An innovative approach to challenging historical interpretation, Agitating Images demonstrates how photographs go against accepted premises of Soviet Siberia. All photographs, Campbell argues, communicate in unique ways that present new and even contrary possibilities to the text they illustrate. Ultimately, Agitating Images dissects our very understanding of the production of historical knowledge" -- Provided by publisher
-
Evil spirits and rocket debris : in search of lost souls in Siberia / Ludek Broz (2024)"The Altai Republic in southern Siberia is renowned for excavations of frozen mummies from high-altitude burial sites. Less well-known is the fact that it hosts fallout zones for the second stages of rockets launched from the Baikonur cosmodrome. Local inhabitants blame ‘evil spirits’ released by archaeological work and toxic fuel from rocket debris for their misfortunes. This book explores the divergent fates of such claims when confronted with state-fostered ‘rationalisms’ of science and governance." -- Provided by publisher.
-
Galvanizing nostalgia? : indigeneity and sovereignty in Siberia / Marjorie Mandelstam Balzer (2021)" ... Based on the field of cultural anthropology and historical research in the republics of Eastern Siberia--Sakha (Yakutia), Buryatia, and Tyva (Tuva)--the book highlights Indigenous concerns about civil society, spiritual vitality, and ecology. Indigenous groups are defending their lands and rights without being secessionist"-- Provided by publisher.
-
Post-Soviet transformations : politics of ethnicity and resource use in Russia / Hugh Beach, Dmitri Funk & Lennard Sillanpää, editors (2009)"This book provides a collection of ethnographic etudes ranging from the Russian North to the Far East of Siberia. It captures the essence of a new generation of Moscow-based ethnographers discovering the rural North and Southern Siberia with a fresh perspective." -- Provided by publisher
-
Системные изменения в языках России : тезисы докладов международной научной конференции, Санкт-Петербург, 16-18 октября 2014 г. / редакционная коллегия Е.В. Головко (отв. редактор) (2019)"В сборнике представлены описания изменений , происходящих в языках народов Российской федерации. Описываются явления, происходящие на различных уровнях (морфологическом, фонологическом, синтаксическом)." -- Provided by publisher
-
The tenacity of ethnicity : a Siberian saga in global perspective / Marjorie Mandelstam Balzer (1999)" ... Although First Nations, indigenous peoples, have often been victims of expansionist state-building, Balzer shows that processes of acquiring ethnic identity can involve transcending victimhood. She brings Khanty views of their history and current life into focus, revealing multiple levels of cultural activism." -- Provided by publisher.
-
Историческая энциклопедия Сибири (3 vols., 2009)" ... представляет собой специализированное научно-справочное энциклопедическое издание, отражающее ключевые аспекты развития Сибири с древнейших времен до современности... Особое значение имеют публикации последних двух десятилетий, в которых в научный оборот введен огромный массив новых фактов. Привлечены также ранее не публиковавшиеся документы, хранящиеся в центральных и местных архивах, в том числе материалы персональных фондов" -- Provided by publisher.
-
Litsa i liki : literatura malochislennykh narodov Severa i Dalʹnego Vostoka / Viacheslav Ogryzko (2013)"В биобиблиографическом справочнике Вячеслава Огрызко предпринята попытка дать сведения практически о всех участниках литературного процесса у малочисленных народов Севера и Дальнего Востока за последние сто лет" -- Provided by publisher.
-
The red book of the peoples of the Russian Empire / Margus Kolga ... [et al.] (2001)" ... Covers only those ethnic groups living in the former Soviet Union who can be considered "endangered peoples"--whose numbers are below 30,000, of whom less than 70% speak their native language, who have no venacular school, literature, or media, etc."
-
Slovari, izdannye v SSSR : bibliograficheskii ukazatelʹ, 1918-1962 (1966)" ... свод всей лексикографической продукции, вышедшей в СССР с 1918 по 1962 г. ..." -- From Introduction.