Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. 10th Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@iu.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
- BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Companies/Competitors
- MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Reference Solutions
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- PrivCo
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Business Source Complete, Factiva and Nexis Uni are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| Generation Z | ("generation z" or genz) |
| Consumer psychology | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior") |
| Purchase drivers | ("purchase intention" or "path to purchase" or "willingness to pay") |
| Mobile/online shoppping | (mobile or online) and (shop* or purchas*) |
| Mobile payments | (fintech or "financial technology" or "mobile banking") |
| Marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
Examples:
("consumer attitudes" OR "consumer behavior") AND (mobile OR online) AND (shop* OR purchas*)
(clothing or apparel) AND ("purchase intention" or "path to purchase" or "willingness to pay")
* The asterisk is known as a 'wild card.' It gives the search engine permission to substitute any string of letters for the asterisk, so in this case, it will return articles that mention shopping, shoppers or shop.
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- Factiva
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Marketing and Demographics
- Mintel Reports
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- MRI-Simmons Insights
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits.
- Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
- SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
General Library Resources
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource. - OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
