Psychological & Brain Sciences for Graduate Students

Getting Started

IU Libraries has a Research Guide for each discipline. Psychological resources can be found here.

General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases 

• Academic Search (EBSCO)   This link opens in a new window

  Full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines. Also contains an image database.

• OneSearch@IU   This link opens in a new window

• Scopus   This link opens in a new window

  A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.

• Google Scholar  This link opens in a new window

Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.

Psychology Databases

These databases provide information specific to the field of psychology. PsycINFO is one of the most popular psychology databases IU Libraries has access to, but there are plenty of other tools listed below.

• APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) 

  Access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, social sciences, and mental health fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Psychotherapy.net 

  This collection offers streaming videos which show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Psychological Experiments Online 

  Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Psychiatry Online 

  Online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) of Mental Disorders fifth edition

  •  This link opens in a new window

Survey Tests & Measures

• APA PsycTests
  Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides access to thousands of test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
• PhenX Toolkit
  The PhenX Toolkit (consensus measures for Phenotypes and eXposures) provides recommended standard data collection protocols for conducting biomedical research. The protocols are selected by Working Groups of domain experts using a consensus process, which includes the scientific community. The Toolkit provides detailed protocols for collecting data and tools to help investigators incorporate these protocols into their studies. Using protocols from the PhenX Toolkit facilitates cross-study analysis, potentially increasing the scientific impact of individual studies. PhenX is funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI).
• PROMIS (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System)
  PROMIS^® (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System) is a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children. It can be used with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions.
• Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) 
   This link opens in a new window
  more...

Other Resources

• PubMed 
  •  This link opens in a new window

  Biomedical citations and abstracts (MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Additional citations, approximately 1% of the database, are from other sources.

• Dataplanet 
  •  This link opens in a new window

  Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.

• JoVE   This link opens in a new window
  JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) provides access to peer reviewed scientific video journals. JoVE has produced over 5,500 videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions.

Research Funding Opportunities

• PIVOT 
  •   This link opens in a new window

  The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.

Psychology Journals

Interested in seeing which journals are available through IU Libraries? Check out the list here. 

Resources A-Z

Are you interested in seeing all resources available through IU Libraries? Check out the A-Z list:

https://libraries.indiana.edu/all-resources