Open Access Resources
Open Access (OA) refers to a series of principles and practices through which research is distributed online with no institutional/monetary barriers and with full reuse rights. Traditionally, open access has referred to materials published by peer-reviewed journals, but the term can apply to any research output including books, monographs, theses/dissertations, conference papers/proceedings, and more. The Open Access movement also encompasses open data, open educational resources, and open science. Here, we have gathered a number of open access resources, including traditional peer-reviewed content along with digital collections, reference materials, and other sources available free-of-charge.
Video: Open Access Explained! Piled Higher and Deeper (PHD Comics) (2012).
See the following links to learn more:
- Open Access LibGuide (Indiana University Libraries)
- Open Access LibGuide (Brown University Library)
- What is Open Access? (openaccess.nl)
- Be iNFORMEd: Checklist to assess the quality of a journal or publisher (Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives)
General
- Project Gutenberg
This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, downloadable ebooks for books out of copyright in the U.S. Project. Project Gutenberg has the goal of making information, books, and other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Includes access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries.
- The Online Books PageLists over 3 million books available on the web. Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of American works with a national network of partners to make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital CollectionsThe New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Collections platform is the primary portal for engaging with our digitized collections and their descriptions, over 922,495 items and counting. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of our vast collections—from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more. To date, there are 293,499 public domain items in Digital Collection.
- Reveal DigitalReveal Digital develops Open Access primary source collections from under-represented 20th-century voices of dissent, crowdfunded by libraries. The content is curated and sourced from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies and individual collectors. The results are diverse thematic collections of scholarly value available to everyone everywhere.
- Reveal Digital: Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art Collections OnlineCollections Online is a resource that allows visitors from around the world to see a selection of the 45,000 objects+ in our permanent collection. You’ll find high-quality images, complete descriptions, and details about each artwork that you can’t find anywhere else! For information about these objects, or others in our permanent collection, please contact a curatorial staff member.
- Rhizome
- This link opens in a new window
Online platform for the global new media art community supporting the creation, presentation and discussion of contemporary art that uses new technologies.
News & Journalism
See our Selected Newspapers and Periodicals box for more open-access popular publications.
- Chronicling America
- This link opens in a new window
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Hemeroteca Digital
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish periodicals online, 17th-20th centuries from the Spanish National Library.
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México (HNDM)
- This link opens in a new window
Virtual repository of historical Mexican periodicals. Includes nearly nine million digital pages.
- Hoosier State Chronicles
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1,000 newspaper titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). PLEASE NOTE: registration is required to download PDFs.
- International Coalition on NewspapersThis page highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources.
- Prism ReportsThrough in-depth and thought-provoking journalism, Prism reflects the lived experiences of people most impacted by injustice. As an independent and nonprofit newsroom led by journalists of color, we tell stories from the ground up: to disrupt harmful narratives, and to inform movements for justice.
For our selection of NAIS Open Access Databases, please see our databases and primary source pages.
For additional digital collections:
- Indigenous Digital Collections (The University of British Columbia Library)
- Native Americans: Resources in Local History and Genealogy, Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
- American Indian Digital History Project
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to the American Indian Digital History Project, a Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America. - Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana. - Collaborative Indigenous Research Digital Garden
- This link opens in a new window
Our aim in creating the CIR Digital Garden is to promote and expand the field of Collaborative Indigenous Research. We wish to highlight the methods, ethics, theories of change, and forms of knowledge mobilization present in Collaborative Indigenous Research methodologies. - Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the country. Through these resources, we seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there. - American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries. - I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
- This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world. - Blackfoot Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Developed in collaboration with University of Lethbridge and Red Crow Community College to celebrate Akaitapii through various forms of media, to help and support the Kainai and other students of today and tomorrow. The Blackfoot Digital Library is a venue for sharing our families and our communities stories, past and present. - Native Land Digital
- This link opens in a new window
Native Land is an app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages. - SFU Digitized Collections: Indigenous Collections
- This link opens in a new window
The Simon Fraser University Library digitized collections include over 130 collections, with more than 1.3 million digitized newspapers, photographs, documents, sound recordings, and other objects. Many of these collections originated with the Multicultural Canada digitization project, which grew from the conviction that the cultural groups that make up our country have little-known stories that need to be researched and told. - Internet Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. - Media History Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Led by Eric Hoyt and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. - Native American Indian Legends and Folklore
- This link opens in a new window
This page is our collection of Native American folktales and traditional stories that can be read online. We have indexed these stories tribe by tribe to make them easier to locate; however, variants on the same native legend are often told by American Indians from different tribes, especially if those tribes are kinfolk or neighbors to each other. - Huna Heritage Foundation Digital Archives
- This link opens in a new window
The mission of Huna Heritage Foundation is to Enrich Our Way of Life in perpetuity. Huna Heritage core program areas include a Library and Archives, a scholarship program and community cultural programming centered around Our Way of Life. - Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (Library and Archives Canada)
- This link opens in a new window
The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) was established by Order in Council on August 26, 1991, and it submitted in October 1996 the Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. The RCAP was mandated to investigate and propose solutions to the challenges affecting the relationship between Aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis Nation), the Canadian government and Canadian society as a whole. - EVIA Digital Archive Project
- This link opens in a new window
The EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis) Digital Archive Project is a preservation and access system for annotated ethnographic field video by scholars, available to educators and researchers online. Follow the links on this page if you are interested in learning more about the history, development, and support for the Project; the requirements and steps in becoming a depositor; or if you would like contact information for the various institutions and individuals associated with the Project. - Native American Ethnobotany
- This link opens in a new window
A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants. - The National Native American Boarding School Healing Collection
- This link opens in a new window
NABS was created to develop and implement a national strategy that increases public awareness and cultivates healing for the profound trauma experienced by individuals, families, communities, American Indian and Alaska Native Nations resulting from the U.S. adoption and implementation of the Boarding School Policy of 1869. - American Indian Treaties Portal
- This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of the final texts of 366 of the 375 American Indian treaties recognized by the United States Department of State - Tribal Writers Digital Library (Sequoyah National Research Center)
- This link opens in a new window
The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of “Native Writing” not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in “ephemeral” sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
This box contains a selection of Open Access Native American and Indigenous Studies journals. For additional NAIS studies-specific open access resources, see the websites below:
For additional general open access resources, see the following:
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
- OER (Open Educational Resources) Commons OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
- OAPEN Online library of open access books
- Sciendo Search Open Access journals in your subject of interest
American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ)
- This link opens in a new window
In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and researchers. The premier journal in Native American and Indigenous studies, it publishes original scholarly papers and book reviews on a wide range of issues in fields ranging from history to anthropology to cultural studies to education and more. It is published three times per year by the UCLA American Indian Studies Center./29_1_2022_cover_horizontal.jpg?sfvrsn=b747b3ba_2)
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research- This link opens in a new window
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research is a professionally refereed scientific journal. It contains empirical research, program evaluations, case studies, unpublished dissertations, and other articles in the behavioral, social, and health sciences which clearly relate to the mental health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society- This link opens in a new window
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society solicits any work purposefully engaged in the decolonization process, regardless of discipline or field, encouraging work that actively seeks undisciplinary connections that work both against and beyond the Western academy. We recognize that this is a wide net to cast but feel strongly that decolonization must happen at all levels, in all fields, and all locations; decolonization seeks to explore the relationships between knowledges and tears down the artificial disciplinary demarcations of dominant ways of knowing and being. Colonial power affects all areas of life and thought - this journal seeks to engage and confront that power at every level.
First peoples child & family review: An Interdisciplinary Journal Honouring the Voices, Perspectives, and Knowledges of First Peoples- This link opens in a new window
Founded in 2003, the First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First Peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community-based matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
Fourth World Journal by - This link opens in a new window
The Fourth World Journal (FWJ) is the world’s leading publication for ideas and analysis about and by writers from the world’s more than six thousand Fourth World nations.
Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index- This link opens in a new window
The Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections.
Indigenous Law Bulletin- This link opens in a new window
Since 1981 the Indigenous Law Bulletin ('ILB') has provided Indigenous and non-Indigenous readers from diverse personal and professional backgrounds with quality commentary on the relationship between Indigenous peoples and the law. The ILB provides a space for people in the community to write about the impact of the Australian legal system upon Indigenous Australians. It has facilitated discussion, celebrated legal achievements and attracted commentary from some of the country’s leading legal minds.
Indigenous Law Journal- This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Law Journal is a student-run legal journal and the first and only Canadian legal journal to exclusively publish articles regarding Indigenous legal issues. Launched in 2002, the journal is dedicated to developing dialogue and scholarship in the field of Indigenous legal issues both in Canada and internationally.
The Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and Resistance The Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and Resistance- This link opens in a new window
We are the Indigenous Peoples’ Journal of Law, Culture & Resistance and we are here to serve as a law journal that publishes writings concerning Native Peoples’ cultures, traditions, and histories. We publish with the goal of bettering and advancing Native Nations and Indian People. Our Journal is here to actively resist against the insidious effects of colonialism, racism, and the subjugation of Native Peoples. We promote Native scholarship, both student and faculty, and support Native scholars and voices.
International Indigenous Policy Journal (IIPJ) - This link opens in a new window
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world. IIPJ has a very specific set of goals: (1) To promote evidence-based policy making. (2) To encourage quality research based on partnerships with Indigenous Peoples. (3) To develop networks of policy researchers and policy makers, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous, and their communities. (4) To improve scholarship related to Indigenous issues. (5) To spark debate on important policy issues facing Indigenous Peoples around the world.
International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2008-2022The International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies. Indigenous scholars from around the world share common experiences of colonisation. Our collective politics have been shaped by our intellectual traditions which inform our work within the academy.
International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH)- This link opens in a new window
The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. IJIH is peer-reviewed, online, and open-access.
InVisible Culture: A Journal for Visual Culture by - This link opens in a new window
InVisible Culture: A Journal for Visual Culture (IVC) is a student-run interdisciplinary journal published online twice a year in an open access format. Through double-blind peer-reviewed articles, creative works, and reviews of books, films, and exhibitions, our issues explore changing themes in visual culture. Fostering a global and current dialogue across fields, IVC investigates the power and limits of vision.
Journal of Global Indigeneity (JGI)- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Global Indigeneity (JGI) is a unique and innovative digital journal associated with Centre for Global Indigenous Futures. The journal publishes critical writing and research on topics that impact the lives of Indigenous peoples and communities around the world. We privilege Indigenous authorship and collaborations, and encourage submissions from early career researchers and graduate students.
Journal of Indigenous Research- This link opens in a new window
This peer reviewed Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people. The focus of this publication is to obtain articles about research conducted with Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori populations- written for laypeople - and approximately 1500-2000 words (not including figures, tables, appendices, or references).
Transmotion- This link opens in a new window
Transmotion is a biannual, fully and permanently open-access journal inspired by the work of Gerald Vizenor. Transmotion publishes new scholarship focused on theoretical, experimental, postmodernist, and avant-garde writing produced by Native American and First Nations authors, as well as book reviews on relevant work in Vizenor Studies and Indigenous Studies.
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing is a peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly online journal that shares multi-disciplinary Indigenous knowledge and research experience amongst Indigenous health professionals, leaders, researchers and community members. The journal publishes original, informative and scholarly articles on the broadly defined topic of Indigenous wellbeing. Serving as a forum for the clarification and exchange of ideas, the journal features articles on projects that make a significant impact on our understanding of Indigenous wellbeing.
MAI Journal: A New Zealand Journal of Indigenous Scholarship- This link opens in a new window
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. We aim to publish scholarly articles that substantively engage with intellectual indigenous scholarship. MAI Journal reflects developments in the vision and mission of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga within the landscape of indigenous research in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Native American Rights Fund Legal Review- This link opens in a new window
The NARF Legal Review is published semi-annually and provides updates on NARF’s cases and information on other timely Indian law topics. There is no charge for subscriptions to the Legal Review, but contributions are greatly appreciated.
Indigenous Nations Studies Journal- This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Nations Journal was published by the Indigenous Studies program and the University of Kansas. An interdisciplinary publication juried by its peers, the Journal is geared toward those who have an interest in issues facing indigenous people. It is no longer being published.
- Indigenous Education Commons (Digital Commons Network)
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. - Native Knowledge 360°
- This link opens in a new window
Native Knowledge 360° (NK360°) provides educators and students with new perspectives on Native American history and cultures. Most Americans have only been exposed to part of the story, as told from a single perspective through the lenses of popular media and textbooks. NK360° provides educational materials, virtual student programs, and teacher training that incorporate Native narratives, more comprehensive histories, and accurate information to enlighten and inform teaching and learning about Native America. NK360° challenges common assumptions about Native peoples and offers a view that includes not only the past but also the vibrancy of Native peoples and cultures today. - Indigenous Foundations (UBC)
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Indigenous Foundations, an information resource on key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. This website was developed to support students in their studies, and to provide instructors, researchers and the broader public with a place to begin exploring topics that relate to Aboriginal peoples, cultures, and histories. - MERLOT: American Indian or Native American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. - MERLOT: Indigenous Materials
- This link opens in a new window
- Sustainable Heritage Network (SHN)
- This link opens in a new window
The Sustainable Heritage Network (SHN) is an answer to the pressing need for comprehensive workshops, online tutorials, and web resources dedicated to the lifecycle of digital stewardship. The SHN is a collaborative project that complements the work of Indigenous peoples globally to preserve, share, and manage cultural heritage and knowledge. The SHN, along with their Partners, organize and offer face-to-face workshops, produce educational resources, and link people and resources through our digital workbenches. The SHN is part of a network of individuals, communities, and institutions who work together to provide each other with digital tools and preservation assistance. - Native American Digital Collections: Classroom Materials (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
Library of Congress Digital Collections are free to view online. A selection of these resources is provided below with links to specific items or to the home pages for each relevant archive. You can also explore the complete list of Digital Collections to find even more and see the latest additions. - Living Nations, Living Words: A Guide for Educators (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to the educator guide for “Living Nations, Living Words," the signature project of 23rd U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo—the first Native American poet to serve in this position. Harjo’s “Living Nations, Living Words” project gathers and highlights the diverse voices of 47 contemporary Native American poets. The educator guide presented here is designed to offer you, as teachers, support as you prepare to use “Living Nations, Living Words” with students in grades 7 and above. In the following video, Joy Harjo shares a special message for educators. - Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concept of Health and Illness Lesson Plans
- This link opens in a new window
The following lesson plans, developed by the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine, are designed to enhance the experience of visiting the Native Voices Exhibition or interacting with the Native Voices Web site. The lessons highlight various health issues addressed in the Native Voices interviews. They invite students to consider these issues in the light of their personal experiences and to relate them to the experiences of their families and communities. - Digital Public Library of America: American Indian Boarding Schools
- This link opens in a new window
Throughout the nineteenth century, boarding schools were established to educate and assimilate American Indian children according to US cultural standards and values. These schools, predominantly run by Christian missionaries, were often funded by the federal government and worked to “civilize” Native American children, forcing many to abandon their names, cultures, and identities in the process. This collection of photos and documents shows what life was like for the many children enrolled in American Indian boarding schools. Features additional resources and a teaching guide. - OER Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of Open Education Resources (OER) including textbooks and lesson plans. - Open Textbook Library
- This link opens in a new window
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Browse textbooks by subject. - Cinegogía
- This link opens in a new window
Cinegogía is an open-access website devoted to the teaching and study of Latin American cinemas. This collaborative project is comprised of syllabi, film guides, course materials, a film database and links to other resources.
Guides
- Indigenous Education Resources (McGill University)
- This link opens in a new window
These (non-comprehensive) resources are for instructors who wish to learn about Indigenous approaches to education. They are shared to provide background information, encourage reflection, inform instructors’ pedagogical decisions where appropriate, and potentially act as conversation-starters. - Indigenous Studies: Open Educational Resources (Loyalist College: Parrott Centre)Contains resources for books, textbooks, and free-to-access educational courses.
- Indigenous Studies: Teaching Resources (Mount Saint Vincent University)Primarily contains pedagogical resources, courses, and a few open-access textbooks.
Bibliographies
- Bibliography of Scholarship on Indigenous Literatures and Cultures Bibliography of Scholarship on Indigenous Literatures and Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Angeline O'Neill (University of Notre Dame Australia) and Albert Braz (University of Alberta). - A Critical Bibliography on North American Indians, for K-12 (National Museum of Natural History)
- This link opens in a new window
This annotated bibliography is a response to teachers' concerns about choosing culturally sensitive and historically accurate books about American Indians and Alaska Natives. It contains critical annotations and evaluations of approximately 1,000 books, most published 1960-93, and points out controversial titles and disagreements about specific books. The focus is primarily on materials for elementary and secondary students but also includes publications of interest to the general public. - Georgetown University Indigenous Studies Working Group: Recommended Reading
- This link opens in a new window
The following is a working list of scholarly references for students and researchers in the social sciences and humanities. Please note that some links may require an institutional login. - Reference Materials for Indigenous Studies (UNB Libraries)
- This link opens in a new window
- UAF Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
- This link opens in a new window
The Alaska & Polar Regions Index cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. It does not contain the text of those articles, but all are received by the UAF Rasmuson Library. More than 200,000 articles are covered, and most articles are not in any other index.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
- This link opens in a new window
‘Te ara’ in Māori means ‘the pathway’. Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. It is a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society. As an encyclopedia founded on historical principles, it is written mainly in the past tense. - The Canadian Encyclopedia: Indigenous Peoples
- This link opens in a new window
Features timelines, education guides, image galleries, and videos.
Routledge Handbook of Climate Change Impacts on Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781003356837Publication Date: 2023-12-25While there is well-established evidence that the climate of the Earth is changing, the scarcity of instrumental data oftentimes challenges scientists’ ability to detect such impacts in remote and marginalized areas of the world or in areas with scarce data. Bridging this gap, this Handbook draws on field research among Indigenous Peoples and local communities distributed across different climatic zones and relying on different livelihood activities, to analyse their reports of and responses to climate change impacts. It includes contributions from a range of authors from different nationalities, disciplinary backgrounds, and positionalities, thus reflecting the diversity of approaches in the field.
The Routledge International Handbook on Decolonizing Justice by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781032009773Publication Date: 2023-06-12The Routledge International Handbook on Decolonizing Justice focuses on the growing worldwide movement aimed at decolonizing state policies and practices, and various disciplinary knowledges including criminology, social work and law. The collection of original chapters brings together cutting-edge, politically engaged work from a diverse group of writers who take as a starting point an analysis founded in a decolonizing, decolonial and/or Indigenous standpoint. Centering the perspectives of Black, First Nations and other racialized and minoritized peoples, the book makes an internationally significant contribution to the literature. The chapters include analyses of specific decolonization policies and interventions instigated by communities to enhance jurisdictional self-determination; theoretical approaches to decolonization; the importance of research and research ethics as a key foundation of the decolonization process; crucial contemporary issues including deaths in custody, state crime, reparations, and transitional justice; and critical analysis of key institutions of control, including police, courts, corrections, child protection systems and other forms of carcerality.
This box contains a small selection of Open Access books. If you are looking for additional selections, consult the links below:
- punctum books
- This link opens in a new window
Access to freely available e-books in the fields of humanities, social sciences, fine arts, and architecture & design. punctum focuses on authors who want to publish books that are genre-queer and genre-bending and take experimental risks with the forms and styles of intellectual writing.
- Taylor & Francis Open Access Indigenous BooksSearch additional open access books on the Taylor & Francis website.
Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Policy by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780429273957Publication Date: 2020-10-29This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs. In the digital age, governments are increasingly dependent on data and data analytics to inform their policies and decision-making. However, Indigenous Peoples have often been the unwilling targets of policy interventions and have had little say over the collection, use and application of data about them, their lands and cultures. At the heart of Indigenous Peoples' demands for change are the enduring aspirations of self-determination over their institutions, resources, knowledge and information systems.
Indigenous Religion(s): Local Grounds, Global Networks by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781003021513Publication Date: 2020-06-24What counts as 'indigenous religion' in today´s world? Who claims this category? What are the processes through which local entities become recognisable as 'religious' and 'indigenous'? How is all of this connected to struggles for power, rights and sovereignty? This book sheds light on the contemporary lives of indigenous religion(s), through case studies from Sápmi, Nagaland, Talamanca, Hawai`i, and Gujarat, and through a shared focus on translations, performances, mediation and sovereignty. It builds on long term case-studies and on the collaborative comparison of a long-term project, including shared fieldwork. At the center of its concerns are translations between a globalising discourse (indigenous religion in the singular) and distinct local traditions (indigenous religions in the plural).
Indigenous Invisibility in the City: Successful Resurgence and Community Development Hidden in Plain Sight by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780429506512Publication Date: 2020-11-17Indigenous Invisibility in the City contextualises the significant social change in Indigenous life circumstances and resurgence that came out of social movements in cities. It is about Indigenous resurgence and community development by First Nations people for First Nations people in cities. Seventy-five years ago, First Nations peoples began a significant post-war period of relocation to cities in the United States, Canada, Australia, and Aotearoa New Zealand. First Nations peoples engaged in projects of resurgence and community development in the cities of the four settler states. First Nations peoples, who were motivated by aspirations for autonomy and empowerment, went on to create the foundations of Indigenous social infrastructure.
Indigenous Sport and Nation-Building: Interrogating Sámi Sport and Beyond by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781003138228Publication Date: 2022-05-04This book investigates the social, political, and cultural dimensions of Indigenous sport and nation-building. Focusing on the Indigenous Sámi of Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Russia, it addresses how colonization variously impacts organizational arrangements and everyday sporting life in a modern world. Through detailed case data from the Norwegian side of Sápmi (the land of the Sámi), this book provides a critical and contemporary perspective of post-colonial influences and their impacts on sport. The study uses concepts of conventions, citizenship and communities, to examine the tenuous roles of Indigenous-based sport organizations and clubs towards the building of an Indigenous nation. The book further draws together international, national, and local Sámi experiences to address the communal and assimilative influences that sport brings for people in the North Calotte.
Indigenous Knowledge Production: Navigating Humanity within a Western World by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781315437811Publication Date: 2018-05-16Despite many scholars noting the interdisciplinary approach of Aboriginal knowledge production as a methodology within a broad range of subjects - including quantum mathematics, biodiversity, sociology and the humanities - the academic study of Indigenous knowledge and people is struggling to become interdisciplinary in its approach and move beyond its current label of 'Indigenous Studies'. In this insightful volume, Marcus Woolombi Waters investigates the historical connection and continuity that have led to the present state of hostility witnessed in race relations around the world; seeking to further one's understanding of the motives and methods that have led to a rise in white supremacy associated with ultra-conservatism. Above all, Indigenous Knowledge Production aims to deconstruct the cultural lens applied within the West which denies the true reflection of Aboriginal and Black consciousness, and leads to the open hostility witnessed across the world.
Three Nations, One Place by ISBN: 9780203011409Publication Date: 2004-11-23An intensive exploration of the changes experienced by the Comanches and Caddoans during Spain's occupation of the Southern Plains (1689-1921), McCollough focuses on the relationship between political and economic conditions and patterns of settlement, production and social reproduction. Challenging historical views that structure a dichotomy of the colonizers and the colonized, this study examines global, regional and local populations as it details the points of interface between Euro-American markets, Native American commodities and indigenous social groups in this early colonial period.
Selected Native/Indigenous Newspapers, Periodicals, & News Media Sources
The resources in this section include newspapers, magazines, and other periodicals created by and for Native people. For a more general and comprehensive summary of our newspaper resource holdings, please scroll down to the next box on this page.
- Indian Country Today
- This link opens in a new window
Indian Country Today is a spacious channel that serves Indigenous communities with news, entertainment, and opinion. - High Country News - Indigenous Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
High Country News is the nation's leading source of reporting on the Western United States. From Alaska and the Northern Rockies to the desert Southwest, the Great Plains to the West Coast, High Country News covers 12 Western states and hundreds of Indigenous communities. - Anishinabek News
- This link opens in a new window
The voice of the Anishinabek nation (Union of Ontario Indians). - Eagle Feather News
- This link opens in a new window
A monthly newspaper serving readers in Saskatchewan's First Nation and Métis communities. - The Eastern Door
- This link opens in a new window
A community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake, Quebec. - First Nations Drum
- This link opens in a new window
A national Indigenous newspaper distributed across Canada (no longer publishing). - Ku'ku'kwes News
- This link opens in a new window
An independent Indigenous news website covering Atlantic Canada. - Nunatsiaq News
- This link opens in a new window
A newspaper covering Nunavut and Nunavik. Articles are published in English, French, Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun. - Nunavut News North
- This link opens in a new window
One of seven Northern News Services newspapers circulated in NWT and Nunavut. - Turtle Island News
- This link opens in a new window
National weekly news. Independently published by the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in Southern Ontario. - Wawatay News
- This link opens in a new window
A newspaper serving indigenous communities in Northern Ontario. News and features are published in English, Ojibway, OjiCree or Cree. - Windspeaker
- This link opens in a new window
One of several news sources operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta, published biweekly. - Yellowknifer (Northern News Services)
- This link opens in a new window
Based in Yellowknife. Publishes weekly.
Source: Current Indigenous Newspapers and Media | McGill University
- Ha-Shilth-Sa
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council, Port Alberni, BC - Char-Koosta News
- This link opens in a new window
The goal of Char-Koosta news is to publish articles and stories of interest to the Confederated Salish and Kootenai tribal membership including, but not limited to: historical information, tribal government policies and services, Tribal Council actions and articles of community interest. - Sho-Ban News
- This link opens in a new window
Telling the stories that honor our past, define our present, and shape our future. Covering Idaho and Indian Country.
- American Indian Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring Native American art and culture, this award-winning quarterly magazine engages its readers with diverse articles about the fascinating and often overlooked histories of American Indian nations and the contemporary challenges facing Native peoples across the Western Hemisphere. From Alaska's Native villages to the Andean communities of South America, American Indian tells inspiring and enlightening stories illustrated with spectacular photography. - Cultural Survival Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural Survival advocates for Indigenous Peoples' rights and supports Indigenous communities’ self-determination, cultures and political resilience, since 1972. - First American Art Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
First American Art Magazine, LLC (FAAM), broadens understanding of art by Indigenous peoples of the Americas from tribal communities to the global art world. - The Footprint Press
- This link opens in a new window
Based in Mission, BC, Footprint Press is a non-profit community magazine published by the Citizens Against Urban Sprawl Society. Features content about nature and environmental issues, sometimes written by Indigenous activists. - High Country News: Indigenous Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
High Country News is the nation's leading source of reporting on the Western United States. We publish an award-winning magazine and a popular website, along with special reports and books. Through in-depth reporting, High Country News covers the West’s social, political and ecological issues. From Alaska and the Northern Rockies to the desert Southwest, the Great Plains to the West Coast, High Country News covers 12 Western states and hundreds of Indigenous communities. We are an essential magazine for people who care about this region. - IndigenousSME Business Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
IndigenousSME Magazine has been quite successful in its goal of providing a forum where owners of small and medium-sized businesses can network while getting useful resources. With our team of experts and extensive research, no one is better placed to understand the needs of small businesses. - Native Max Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Native Max is a digital media company devoted to inspiring, entertaining, and celebrating Indigenous people through positive storytelling across a range of platforms. It’s more than a magazine–it’s a movement. - SAY Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
SAY Magazine has been sharing inspiring stories about Indigenous Peoples since 2002. A contemporary lifestyle publication, SAY Magazine celebrates First Nations, Métis and Inuit ingenuity by sharing success stories and stories of resilience. We cover a variety of areas including business, education, culture and language, law and justice, arts and entertainment, sports and wellness, as well as grassroots community initiatives. - YES! Magazine: Indigenous Lands
- This link opens in a new window
YES! Media is independent and nonpartisan. Our explanatory journalism analyzes societal problems in terms of their root causes and explores opportunities for systemic, structural change. Our stories uncover environmental, economic, and social justice intersections. Our solutions reporting spotlights the ideas and initiatives of people building a better world. Our commentaries address dominant economic, political, and social structures and consider alternative ways of thinking that can produce a more equitable and Earth-friendly world.
- Indigenous Top 10
- This link opens in a new window
Biweekly e-newsletter highlighting ten top stories in Indigenous academia and higher education. - IndigiNews
- This link opens in a new window
IndigiNews aims to provide digital journalism driven by Indigenous communities’ needs, while contributing to the long-term sustainability of independent Indigenous-centred media. - Tribal Business News
- This link opens in a new window
Tribal Business News is a digital publication delivering in-depth stories, analysis and business intelligence on all aspects of Native business and economic development activities. It’s a comprehensive 24/7 tool for tribes, tribal entities, policymakers and anyone doing business in Indian Country. - Indigenous Action: Zines
- This link opens in a new window
We’ve published a range of ‘zines over the years and continue to distro a range of Indigenous ‘zines at Táala Hooghan Infoshop and events.
Feel free to print and distro any of the ‘zines you find here. - Indigenous New Media: Zines (University of British Columbia)
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of zine resources compiled by the University of British Columbia. Includes featured zines, zine creators, distros (zine distribution centers) with indigenous content, and other zine resources.
- Media IndigenaWeekly podcast about Indigenous issues and events in Canada and beyond, hosted by Rick Harp in northern Saskatchewan.
- Warrior LifeWarrior life is a podcast meant to support a decolonizing journey in mind, heart, bodies and spirits, by educating and connecting a larger community.
- The HenceforwardThe Henceforward is a podcast that considers relationships between Indigenous Peoples and Black Peoples on Turtle Island.Through this podcast series, we take an open and honest look at how these relationships can go beyond what has been constructed through settler colonialism and antiblackness, we investigate what our mutual obligations and possibilities for contingent collaboration are, and much much more.
- UnreservedUnreserved is the radio space for Indigenous voices – our cousins, our aunties, our elders, our heroes. Rosanna Deerchild guides us on the path to better understand our shared story. Together, we learn and unlearn, laugh and become gentler in all our relations.
- A Tribe Called GeekFounded in 2014, by Johnnie Jae, A Tribe Called Geek is an award-winning media platform for that highlights Indigenous pop culture, STEM, and Indigenerditry. ATCG continues to be more than just a media platform, it is a community of intelligent, imaginative, innovative and creative Indigenerds acknowledging and advancing the visibility of Native and Indigenous contributions to the world.
- Revolutions Per MinuteOn the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) Podcast, Indigenous music and culture meet in sound. Each episode we give voice to the music, stories, and experiences of Indigenous artists from around the world by exploring a place, idea, or tradition that inspires our songs and our people.
- Native CurrentsA critical review of what's happening in Indian Country.
- This is Blackfoot TerritoryLauren Crazybull is a Blackfoot and Dene artist. She runs This Is Blackfoot Territory, a podcast that explores topics from a Blackfoot perspective.
- New FireFrom remote reserves to bustling big cities, join Urban Native Girl Lisa Charleyboy as she brings you to the surprising heart of the conversations important to Aboriginal youth.
- Thunder Bay - CanadalandThe highest homicide and hate crime rates in the country. A mayor charged with extortion. A police chief who faced trial for obstruction of justice. Nine tragic deaths of Indigenous high schoolers. Why does it all happen here?
- All My RelationsHaslihail and Osiyo! Welcome to All My Relations, a podcast where we explore what it means to be a Native person in 2019. To be an Indigenous person is to be engaged in relationships—relationships to land and place, to a people, to non-human relatives, and to one another. All My Relations is a place to explore those relationships, and to think through Indigeneity in all its complexities.
- Nation to NationNation to Nation takes a weekly look at the politics affecting Indigenous people in Canada.
- Missing and MurderedMissing and murdered Indigenous women in Canada is an ongoing crisis, and it’s an issue the media has often gotten wrong. In this podcast, Cree investigative journalist Connie Walker spends more time, and helps tell difficult stories in a way that honours the lives lost, and the families struggling to navigate a systemic, complex, intergenerational issue.
- Toasted SisterThis podcast is hosted by me, Andi Murphy. I started the Toasted Sister Podcast in January 2017 and talked with dozens of Indigenous people across the country about food. After contact, Indigenous foodways and knowledge were devastated, nearly destroyed and replaced with foods that are far from the people. So today, I’m talking to Native chefs and foodies about what Indigenous cuisine is, where it comes from, where it’s headed and how it’s used to connect them and their communities to their origins and traditions.
- Coffee with my MaMy radical activist mother Kahentinetha Horn tells me stories of her very long adventurous life, always with the sense of humour that carried herthrough.
- Our Native LandJoin our host, Tchadas Leo as we explore all things Indigenous and First Nations! Our Native Land features fun interviews and compelling discussions about Indigenous and First Nations cuisine, culture, heritage, and more from Vancouver Island and around the world. Recorded at CHEK Studios in Victoria, BC, Tchadas is joined by guests of all backgrounds and professions for educational, emotional, and engaging conversations.
- Indigenous ActionThe podcast covers critical thoughts about land acknowledgements, stolen kinships and anti-blackness in Indigenous communities. The website describes the podcast as, “an autonomous anti-colonial broadcast with unapologetic and claws-out analysis towards total liberation.”
Sources: Winter is time for stories: here are some of our favourite Indigenous podcasts | IndigiNews; Indigenous Story Tellers: Podcasts | University of Toronto Scarborough