Library Research Guides: SOAD M405 International Fashion Consumers and Retailers: Country Research

Researching Latin American Countries

Chicano Database
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index covering Mexican-American topics and the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, the resource is designed to further research, teaching and scholarship for Chicano studies programs and extended ethnic studies curricula, giving researchers targeted access to materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender within the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience. (OCLC)
Portions of the Chicano Database are available in print format as: the Chicano Periodical Index, covering 1967-1988; the Chicano Index, covering 1989-1993; Arte Chicano : an Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981; the Chicano Anthology Index; the Chicana Studies Index : Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1981-1991; and Hispanic Mental Health Research : A Reference Guide, covering 1920-1980.
Informe Academico
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, full-text and images of Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets.
Spanish thesaurus and interface. Searching in both Spanish and English. Bilingual citations. A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Cubre necesidades de información para todas las disciplinas académicas. Desde economía, ciencia y tecnología, psicología, educación, hasta arqueología, historia, literatura y más. Contiene revistas académicas de toda Iberoamérica.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 humanities and social science journals, published in Latin America.
Participating libraries have accepted institutional collecting responsibilities for a cross-section of over 500 journals published in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela. The collecting responsibilities include acquiring each issue of the journal and making available through rapid delivery interlibrary loan, articles found in the journal.
HAPI Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
indexes articles from scholarly journals on Latin America, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.
Indexes articles that appear in more than 400 scholarly journals published throughout the world which regularly contain information on Latin America. The coverage includes materials written in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Researching Mexico
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database and a gateway to online resources about Mexican Studies.
Devised as a tool to support research in Mexican Studies, Researching Mexico provides a searchable index of Mexican scholarly journals, as well as access to full-text dissertations from Mexican institutions. Additional relevant resources include online directories of researchers and institutions, online bibliographies, quantitative data sets, and selected web sites relevant to researchers.

Latin American and Caribbean Studies Resources
A resource page devoted to Latin American and Caribbean Studies Resources provided by IUB Libraries.

Researching African Countries

Africa-Wide Information
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to research and publications by Africans and about Africa.
Africa-Wide Information is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present, including: African studies abstracts (1994- ), Africa Institute (1981- ), Southern African database (1961- ), School of Oriental and African Studies Library catalogue: Africa (1989- ), NAMLIT (19th century- ), Don Africana collection (16th century- ) Campbell collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library (19th century- ), Business & industry: Africa (1994- ), Natural and cultural history Africa (1960- ), African periodicals exhibit catalogue (1997), Bibliography on contemporary African politics and development (1981-1992), International library of African music, Database of Swiss theses and dissertations (1897-1996) ; Index to South African periodicals (1987-present), the South African national bibliography (1988-present), National English Literary Museum (1990-present, retrospective to the 19th cent.), Knipkat from the Nasionale Afrikaanse Letterkunde Museum en Navorsingsentrum, Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports (1970-present), The Centre for Rural Legal Studies Database (1987 and earlier to present), South African Legal Abbreviations, and others.

Stanford University African Collections Webpage
African Studies Resource Page at IUB
A full list of resources IUB Libraries subscribes to plus other helpful information on African Studies resources.

Researching Asian Countries

For more resources, see the IU Libraries East Asian Studies page. They also have resources broken down by Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, and Korean Studies.

For India, see the South Asian Studies page.

For Pakistan and Uzbekistan, see the IU Libraries Resources Central Eurasian Studies page.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, it covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.
Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, place of publication, language of publication, journal title, country, subject, keyword, ISSN and ISBN. Includes the full content of the printed volumes of the annual Bibliography of Asian Studies dating back to 1971.
China Academic Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of Chinese periodicals related to literature, history, philosophy, economics, political science, and law.
The largest comprehensive online full-text database in China. In addition to the purchase of the 1994-2001 back files of the Literature/History/Philosophy Series, the IUB Library has current subscriptions to the following modules: (F) Literature/History/Philosophy Series, (G) Politics/Military Affairs/Law, (H) Education & Social Sciences, and (J) Economics & Management.

China Core Newspapers Full-text Database
With an archive beginning in 2000, China Core Newspapers Full-Text Database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers from every province of China.

China Data Online
- This link opens in a new window
Databases include monthly and annual macro-economy, monthly economic development, city statistics, county statistics, and industrial data.
The University of Michigan's China Data Center provides access in Chinese and English to official statistics from China. Historical statistics, data for cities and counties, and macro-economic and industrial statistics are included.
Comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. IU Bloomington's subscription to this database does not include detailed census files for population or economic censuses, or collections such as a specialized Tibetan database. (IUCAT)
JapanKnowledge Lib
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of fully searchable and browseable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English encyclopedias and dictionaries, and Toyo Bunko collection.
JapanKnowledge+ is the largest and most resourceful site about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources, including Encyclopedia Nipponica and Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, It also contains full-text of books in the Toyo Bunko collection, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, NNA world news, collection of video clips, maps, and many other useful links. IU's subscription of the JapanKnowledge+ database includes the following databases as well: Jitsu 字通, Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典, and Nihon rekishi chimei taikei 日本歴史大系.
DBpia 연구동향 리포트
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of scholarly journals published by major Korean academic societies and research institutes. It includes over 1.7 million articles from 1,900 journals from 1918 onwards

Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.

South Asian Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia featuring titles from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka presented in original page images.
Fully searchable historical newspapers from South Asia; part of the World Newspaper Archive, created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. Features English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

SOAD M405 International Fashion Consumers and Retailers

IU Libraries

Researching Latin American Countries

Researching African Countries

Researching Asian Countries

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries