Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

Henri Gaidoz Collection

A finding aid and guide to using the Henri Gaidoz Collection of pamphlets, booklets, and offprints compiled by French folklorist Henri Gaidoz pertaining to folklore, mythology, Celtic Studies, and comparative religion.

Accessing the Gaidoz Collection at Indiana University

The Gaidoz Collection microfiche set is located in the GIMSS department on the second floor of the Wells Library.

To use the microfiche set, consult the Gaidoz Collection Title List from ProQuest (April 2008). Note: the link will download the complete title list as an Excel file. Enable editing of the spreadsheet to activate the Excel filters, which will make using the title list easier. The microfiche collection is divided into five units:

  1. Folklore-Mythology
  2. Religion Part 1
  3. Religion Part 2
  4. General Folklore Part 1
  5. General Folklore Part 2

These are ProQuest's divisions, and they do not map to Gaidoz' original classification system. Use the Excel search function to find author names, titles, and subjects, or use filters in the Subject fields to locate everything by subject. Note that the HG box numbers found in the original archival collection do not appear in the microfiche version.

 

 

 

 

 

The original materials in the Gaidoz collection are stored in the Auxiliary Library Facility (ALF). Search or browse the Gaidoz Archival Collection at Archives Online finding aid to find the items you are interested in. Note the collection box number(s)  (HG 00001 to HG 00206) where they are housed, and use the box number to request delivery of the boxes you need from the archival collection record in IUCAT.

Alternatively, you can access scanned versions of the entire collection in the ProQuest microfiche set.