Periodicals as Primary Sources
- Interwar Culture
This link opens in a new window
Access to prominent and lesser-known periodicals published throughout the interwar period, covering various facets of culture, entertainment, fashion, home and family life, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues. Includes access to modules 1 and 2.
- Blue Mountain ProjectThe archive of the Princeton Blue Mountain project contains fully searchable issues of important periodicals of the European avant-garde.
This collection contains 3,747 issues comprising 80,953 pages and 93,148 articles.
Books about the Eskenazi Museum of Art
Indiana University Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art Guide to the Collection
The first overview of the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art's collection in nearly ten years, this indispensable, lavishly illustrated guide includes a brief history of the museum along with fresh perspectives on visitor favorites. Three hundred fifty essential works, chosen by the museum's curators, are showcased by beautiful color reproductions paired with informative texts. Iconic works from five diverse collections include media as varied as painting, decorative arts, sculpture, traditional arts, and works on paper (the broadest compilation to date), offering a comprehensive, global view of art history, from ancient to contemporary. Guide to the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art Collection is an outstanding introduction to the museum's 45,000 works, an ideal companion volume for those already familiar with the collection, and an absorbing read for lovers of art and art history.
Masterworks from the Indiana University Art Museum
Richly illustrated with more than 160 full-color plates, Masterworks from the Indiana University Art Museum presents a selection of the finest works from one of the best university art museums in the world. Included are examples from the full range of world cultures collected by the museum: Africa, the Ancient Western World, Asia, Ancient America, the South Pacific, and Western Art before and after 1800. The entry accompanying each piece, by the curator of that collection, sketches the cultural context within which the object was created and used and describes the unique qualities that make it a masterpiece. In addition to showcasing the research of the museum's highly respected curatorial staff, this handsome volume highlights the remarkable photography of Michael Cavanagh and Kevin Montague, widely regarded as among the premier photographers of fine arts. For students, lovers, and collectors of art, Masterworks provides an inspiring and illuminating tour of the world's artistic traditions.
Works on paper
Works on paper / Indiana University Art Museum. by Call Number: N518.B4 A63 v.1 (Wells Reference Reading Room)Publication Date: 1992 -Contents
v.1. Pre-1800's
v.2. 19th and 20th century
v.3. Non-Western art
v.4. Photographs and posters.
