It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women have made a difference in every field imaginable, and they continue to do so today. Women's Lives in History introduces readers to dozens of these remarkable people. Women in Sciencefeatures groundbreaking figures in chemistry, biology, mathematics, medicine, and many other scientific fields. Compelling text and vivid photographs bring these women to life. Features include essential facts, a timeline, a glossary, additional resources, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
From George Washington Carver to Dr. Mae Jemison, African Americans have been making outstanding contributions in the field of science. This unique resource goes beyond the headlines in chronicling not just the scientific achievements but also the lives of 100 remarkable men and women. Each biography provides an absorbing account of the scientist's struggles, which often included overcoming prejudice, as they pursued their educational and professional goals.
Resilience and Success charts the education and career trajectories of African American women scientists and sheds light as to why young African American females drop off the science map in high school. It constructs a story about the map, which includes exits, entrances and turns. This phenomenon was influenced by cultural and socio-economic issues; class, race relations and racial biases; geography and most important, opportunities and serendipity. None of the roads were smooth as these African American women followed in the footsteps of those who had gone before them. It is critical for young African American female students to know that they have a passion and sense of curiosity befitting a future scientist. The stories of these women serve as a model for the way families, teachers, counselors, community activists and policy makers can participate in developing a new generation of African American women scientists.
This reference source provides entries recording the achievements, importance and impacts of the most significant 250 black American scientists throughout time.
The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a specialist bibliography of African Studies and contains 140,000 entries of the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015 and about 4,000 new publications will be added per year.
Provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries.
This database is the online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES), which started in 1956 at Indiana University, Bloomington, and continued until 1994, when it completely went online. Its chronological scope is limited, going back to 1989.
Contains the record of research and scholarly literature on Asia written in Western languages; includes books, journal articles, conference presentations, chapters in edited volumes, etc.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Women in Science (E-Book) by 
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century by 
Resilience and Success by 
Notable Black American Scientists by 
