Finding Materials
General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- OneSearch@IU
- Scopus
A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
This link opens in a new windowNursing Databases
Complete list of nursing resources can be found here
- CINAHL Complete
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
- PubMed
Use this connection to this open access database in order to take advantage of subscriptions to content provided by IU Libraries.
- UpToDate
A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment.
- JBI EBP Database
Contains summarized and appraised health care evidence, including 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Covered subjects: Nursing care, medical care.
This link opens in a new windowResources A-Z
Alphabetical list of databases accessible to all IU Bloomington students:
HIV/AIDs Public Health Information
AIDSVu
AIDSVu is an interactive online mapping tool that visualizes the impact of the HIV epidemic on communities across the United States.
Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)
Kaiser Family Foundation is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. The link above shares information specifically about HIV/AIDS
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization (WHO) provides key facts, along with recent news related to HIV/AIDS
National Center for Health Statistics
The Center for Disease Control provides data points about various health conditions to support their mission to "provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people."
United Nations Statistics Division
Provides global statistical information. Areas relevant to HIV/AIDS include social conditions, population, demographics, and health care.
UNAIDS
The joint United Nations program "united the world against AIDS." Provides country-specific HIV/AIDS information and publications.
AIDS United
An organization that seeks to "build a natural strategy to end the epidemic" of HIV/AIDS. Provides information on HIV/AIDS-related legislation, state-specific AIDS/HIV information, and other public policy issues.
Avert.org
International HIV and AIDS charity that provides current and historical HIV/AIDS information. Includes comprehensive statistics, and regional and ethic/social HIV/AIDS information.
The Center of Excellence for Transgender HIV Prevention
Provides information on research and resources for HIV/AIDS prevention in the transgender community.
AIDSinfo
Offers current information on HIV/AIDS research, treatment, and prevention with federal approval. Includes clinical trials, medical guidelines, and drug reference guides.
National Institutes of Health
Provides information on medical research and basic profiles of HIV and AIDS.
HIV InSite
"Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes profiles and tables on various drugs, clinical trials, and countries.
- IUCAT Online Library Catalog
The Indiana University online catalog. Find books, magazines, journals, movies, sound recordings, government publications, digital collections, and more.
Things to keep in mind:
- Physical books can be borrowed from other IU Libraries (Kokomo, South Bend, IUPUI, etc.), but if IU Bloomington has an available copy, you will get it quicker.
- E-Books can only be accessed if the link says "IU Bloomington" or "All Campus Access"
- Request delivery allows you to borrow books from other campuses or branch libraries (Education, Neal-Marshall, etc.) and have books delivered to one convenient location. You can request delivery once you are logged into IUCAT.
- Renewing books is as simple as logging into IUCAT and clicking "My Account" and "Renew."
Can't find what you're looking for? Luckily Document Delivery Services (DDS) and Inter-Library (ILL) Loan can help!
Articles and books from other non-IU libraries can be borrowed for free. Articles will be digitally sent as PDF files to your email and books are delivered and picked up from Wells Library.
Need to make a request?
- Fill out this form to obtain an electronic copy of an article or book delivery