Books
The Art of Visual Notetaking (eletronic book) by ISBN: 9781633226227Publication Date: 2019-03-05Improve your bullet journals, to-do lists, class notes, and everything in between with The Art of Visual Notetaking and its unique approach to taking notes in the twenty-first century.
Blending Leadership (eletronic book) by ISBN: 9781119222224Publication Date: 2016-06-09An organizational approach to more effective school leadership, online and off "Leadership, especially in a school setting, is too important to be merely intuitive. In this generous book, Steve and Reshan outline a new way of thinking for a new kind of leader. Recommended." Seth Godin, author of What to Do When it's Your Turn (and it's Always Your Turn) "If you're a school leader, Blending Leadership is the book you need to guide your thinking in today's increasingly networked educational environment. Your students and staff may have varying degrees of comfort with technology, but this book will give you solid guidance on how to lead them both online and offline and chart a path to the future." Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive Blending Leadership provides all school leaders with a unique approach to utilizing technology for more effective learning and leadership. As the online aspects of schools become just as important as their brick-and-mortar counterparts, leaders must be as effective screen-to-screen as they are face-to-face. Drawing from research, experience, and real-world examples, this book explores and unpacks six core beliefs necessary for the blended leader to succeed. Between email, websites, apps, updates, tweets, attachments, infographics, YouTube, and unceasing notifications, most people are inundated with digital detritus, and they either grow to ignore it or get swept under it. Effective blended leaders see these distractions as spurs to action, models, test cases, remixable commodities, and learning opportunities. Blending Leadership gives you the perspective you need to excel and the knowledge to leverage the tools at your disposal.
Sketchnoting in the Classroom by ISBN: 9781564847775Publication Date: 2019-06-03Author Nichole Carter shows how sketchnotes can help students retain new material, develop skills to articulate empathy and build connections to larger concepts. Sketchnoting in the Classroom includes strategies for helping students feel successful as they develop their skills, for example, asking them what their brain is telling them, asking how they learn best and encouraging the process through specific note-taking strategies. The book includes: Analysis of the brain science behind sketchnoting, including teaching students how to identify patterns and apply them effectively in their sketchnotes. Lesson ideas for sketchnoting across content areas, including science, social studies, English language arts and math. Tools and resources for both analog and digital sketchnoting techniques. Tips for using sketchnotes for professional development, including at conferences and at department or staff meetings. Examples from a variety of teachers with experience using sketchnotes in their classes. This book makes sketchnotes more accessible to all teachers and helps both teachers and students feel confident in visual note-taking.
The Sketchnote Handbook by ISBN: 9780321857897Publication Date: 2012-12-03This gorgeous, fully illustrated handbook tells the story of sketchnotes--why and how you can use them to capture your thinking visually, remember key information more clearly, and share what you've captured with others. Author Mike Rohde shows you how to incorporate sketchnoting techniques into your note-taking process--regardless of your artistic abilities--to help you better process the information that you are hearing and seeing through drawing, and to actually have fun taking notes. The Sketchnote Handbook explains and illustrates practical sketchnote techniques for taking visual notes at your own pace as well as in real time during meetings and events. Rohde also addresses most people's fear of drawing by showing, step-by-step, how to quickly draw people, faces, type, and simple objects for effective and fast sketchnoting. The book looks like a peek into the author's private sketchnote journal, but it functions like a beginner's guide to sketchnoting with easy-to-follow instructions for drawing out your notes that will leave you itching to attend a meeting just so you can draw about it.
Ink and Ideas by ISBN: 9780325092539Publication Date: 2018-10-30Ink & Ideasis a lifetime in the making. Tanny McGregor has been thinking with a pen in her hand, putting words and pictures together for as long as she's been reading. Sketchnoting, also known as visual notetaking, helps make your thinking visible, visual, and meaningful. All kinds of people sketchnote, for all kinds of reasons. By introducing sketchnoting in your classroom, you will provide opportunities for your students to engage with and explore their thinking with what they are reading, listening to, or viewing. Ink & Ideasis Tanny's tried and true toolkit to get you and your students started, including templates, tools, suggested reading, ideas, inspiration, and more. She outlines the how and why behind visual notetaking, including research and benefits, providing everything you need to introduce and launch sketchnoting across grade levels and content areas. A different kind of thinking happens with pen in hand.With sketchnoting, the one who holds the pen holds the power. Only the thinker decides what appears on the page, and how. Open up a window into your students' brilliant minds and watch their thinking become visible as they sketchnote their way to deeper understanding and new ideas.
Sketchnote Definition
"Sketchnoting or visual notetaking is a process of representing ideas non-linguistically. (That’s a fancy of way of saying, “drawing pictures.”) Visual notetaking can include concept mapping, but also more artistic ways of visually capturing and representing ideas. On the simpler side of the visual notetaking continuum, visual notes can be used to create narrated art. On the complex end of the spectrum, some visual notetaking applications support the creation of narrated sketchnotes (whiteboard animation videos) which include audio narration synchronized to screencasts of drawings. Visual or graphic facilitation can be used at meetings to summarize presentations and guide discussions. Whether simple or complex, visual notes can be used to more deeply process information as well as communicate it to others with images."
"Sketchnote" from Wesly Fryer via https://showwithmedia.com/sketchnote/
Sketchnoting Articles
"Visual Notetaking"
A collection of resources offered to explain what Visual Notetaking is, how it is done, and tools that can be used (both free and for a price) to use visul note taking techniques digitally.
Drawing Tools (iOS and Android)
- Adobe Illustrator Draw (free)
- Explain Everything (post explaing app differences)
- SketchBook Pro (annual subscription required
For a complete list, see link above for the article.
"Tech Tips Newletter - Visual Note Taking and Sketchnoting"
List of resource articles providing introductions into sketchnoting, research on how sketcnoting can be a powerful tool in education, and technology resources from the University of Wisconsin-Stout.
"Start Doodling in Class: The Value of Lo Fi Graphics in eLearning"
"Sketchnoting 101: How To Create Aweseome"
Matthew Magain showcases his method and technique in preparing sketchnotes for a presentation. Provides a list of tools and steps for sketchnoting.
"Sketch Notes from Creative Commons"
Examples of general sketchnotes on creative commons.
"The Near-Sided Monkey" Tumblr by Lynda Barry
Student sketchnote examples from classes.
"Sketch Notes, a Non-traditinoal Way for User Researchers to Take Notes"
"Sketchnoting for College Students" by Doug Niell
"Sketchnoting in the Classroom" by Doug Niell
"Sketchnoting pushes studetns to learn, retain information differently - particularly in STEM"
This article examines the use of sketchnoting in STEM classroom, with Assistant Professor of Industrial Design Verena Paepcke-Hjeltness introducing the method to roughly 1000 students, when the article was published in 2018.
"Note-taking: A Research Roundup"
Jennifer Gonzalez offers a general overview of note-taking, brief descriptions of different areas of note-taking. An area of intrest that pertains to visual note-taking (section 4). Within the seection are links that provided additional articles about sketchnoting from an author, a list of books pertaining to visual notetaking, a list of Youtube videos, and hashtags to find examples of visual notetaking on instagram and twitter.
"Inspiring the next generation of students in STEM (Category: STEM Sketchnotes)"
A collection of students' stechnoting articles they read that pertains to STEM.
EXAMPLE: "Girls and Physics: Continuing barriers on 'beloning'"
"Sketchnote your Science"
Dr. Sue Pillans' article gives examples of using sketchnoting and STEM in both high schools and university, as well as workshops by Dr. Sue Pillans.
"How to Teach Sketchnotes from a Distance"
A blog that takes reader through step-by-step introduction to skechnoting with materials, videos and tools in the classroom or distance learning. Link provided in blog for a sketchnoting course.
"Can You Picture This? Instructions for Using Sketchnotes to Help Novices Improve Their Design Sketchnoting Skills"
By Morgaard 2017
Video Examples of Sketchnoting
Youtube Channel: "Verbal to Visual", by Doug Niell, offers multiple videos detailing examples and instructions on what sketchnoting is, how to start sketchnoting, and various techniques to use sketchnotes in different situations. Doug offers a playlists of videos called "Sketchnoting for Professionals", "Sketchnoting for Teachers", and "Sketchnoting Courses". Additonal, there is a site that offers a guide to starting sketchnoting and additonal resources.
Videos showing how to take traditional notes and slightly change those into sketchnotes. Sublte changes for beginners using a familiar format. Video produced by Doug Niell on Verber to Visual youtube channel.
Doug Niell offers his "Sketchnoting Tookit" and how he uses each item.
Rachel Smith provides two videos: 1. Overview of "what" and "why" of visual notetaking, for those who what to listen more than readand 2. Overview of digital visual notetaking examples for the first three minutes of the video.
Giulia Forsythe's presentation called "Drawing Conclusions" offers advice and encouragement for those who do not consider themselves "artist". Both video and presentation are available.
Rachel Smith's videos and Giulia Forsythe's video and presentation found on http://showwithmedia.com/visual-notetaking/
By Kendra L. Andrews and illustrated by T. Mark Bentley, explores strategies such as sketchnotes can enhance idea generation and learning and provide classroom stategies for multimodal composition.