Information Overload!!!
The strength and the challenge of IU's history collection is its breadth. Do you feel overwhelmed? Can't find what you're looking for? This guide can help! If you're still having trouble, please let me know!
Getting Started
In a rush? Try the tabs below.
Ready to dive deeper? The other pages in this guide cover the following topics: finding books, gathering background information, finding primary and secondary sources about genocide, and general tips on academic paper writing.
Getting Started
The main catalog of books at Indiana University is IUCAT. Watch the video below if you need help finding e-books in IUCAT.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
If you are just starting a research project and need to know some basic information to get started, encyclopedias and historical dictionaries are great tools.
- Oxford Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
Reference resources from the Oxford University Press. Includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, English language reference books, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timelines and subject reference sources. - Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.
- History Encyclopedias in IUCATThis link takes you to a list of hundreds of encyclopedias that are available as e-books
- Oxford Research EncyclopediasThese encyclopedias have thousands of articles, many written by top scholars in their fields, in the areas of
- US history
- African history
- Asian history
- Latin American history
Most databases allow you click a box with a name like "scholarly articles," which does a reasonably good job of limiting your results to high-quality, academic articles.
- America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, chapters and theses about world history, 1450 to present. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
Although IU has access to newspapers from around the world, most of our large collections of historical newspapers center on the United States. Check out the "Old News" link below for non-American newspapers.
- Chronicling America
- This link opens in a new window
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of historical newspapers. Each issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.
- Newspapers.com World Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. - NewspaperARCHIVE
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
Primary sources take many forms and you can find them in all sorts of places, both online and in person, but you need to make be sure the source is legitimate. The websites below are just a few places to find primary sources. Go to the sources for researching genocide page for more options or contact me if you need help.
- Genocide Archive of RwandaThe Genocide Archive of Rwanda is the first of its kind in Rwanda. Its collections include testimonies, audio and video materials, photographs, physical objects, documents and publications as well as interactive mapping data.
Note: includes RTLM recordings broadcast during the genocide - Guide to Holocaust WebsitesList created by Professor Mark Roseman. Largely primary sources, but also many secondary sources.
- Human Rights Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. - USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view the 51,537 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide currently available in the Archive that were conducted in 61 countries and 39 languages. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Digitized CollectionsIncludes interviews, objects, newspapers, books, and many other types of material. You can also limit results based on events, cities, camps, and ghettos.