Folklore

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

Offers international coverage of the music scene, covering books, bibliographies, conference proceedings, catalogs, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos.

Music Periodicals Database covers a range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine a spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Based on Stith Thompson's 6-volume Motif index by Stith Thompson, this database classifies and indexes themes and motifs, characters and events in folk literature: folk-tales, ballads, myths, fables, medieval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. The classification system refers to works in which the various motifs occur.

The database corresponts to the print:
Thompson, Stith. Motif-index of folk-literature: a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. Revised and enlarged edition. Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1955-1958.

First published in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia has been the preeminent reference work for research in world music. Includes more than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors.

Includes historical and cultural overviews of many nations, along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

A pioneering social research organisation, Mass Observation was founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge. Their aim was to create an 'anthropology of ourselves', and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.

Launched in 1981 by the University of Sussex as a rebirth of the original 1937 Mass Observation, its founders' aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting volunteers to write about their lives and opinions. It is one of the most important sources available for qualitative social data in the UK.

Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

A project of the National and University Library of Iceland and Cornell University Library in association with the Árni Magnússon Institute in Iceland, contains ca. 250,000 manuscript pages and ca. 150,000 printed pages. These images cover the Icelandic family sagas (Íslendingasögur), the sagas of (chiefly Norwegian) kings (konungasögur), chivalric romances (riddarasögur) and the Indigenous Icelandic epic form called rímur, among other texts. Printed editions and translations published before 1901 and housed in the Fiske Icelandic Collection, Cornell University Library complement the manuscripts from the National and University Library of Iceland and the Árni Magnússon Institute in Iceland.

Personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories dating from around 1840 through the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980, with much of the material being previously unpublished. Also includes indexed and searchable Ellis Island Oral History interviews, and some image and audio files.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.