Gender Studies

Includes films from independent distributors, such as Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films, Pragda, and Oscilloscope. The films fit into a variety of disciplines, including cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, theater, and African American studies.

Includes films by many of the world’s leading contemporary directors, such as Andrei Zvyagintsev, Koji Wakamatsu, Wong Kar-Wai, and Jean-Luc Godard. All the films were shown at major festivals. Many were nominated and a large number have won major awards. Twilight Samurai (2002), directed by Yôji Yamada, The Scent of Green Papaya (1993), directed by Tran Anh Hung, and Dogtooth (2009), directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, were all Oscar®-nominated. The Cannes Grand Jury Prize went to The Piano Teacher (2001), directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively, the films in the collection have won more than 1,000 awards.

Includes films across all art forms: from performing to performance, from music to electronic media, from physical to spiritual, from visual arts to photography, fashion and later included philosophy and religion, gastronomy, history and politics and psychology.

MCO supports a variety of access restrictions, including public access, IU-only access, and restricted access based on network ID or group membership. Online media can be embedded in other websites to support online exhibits or scholarly publishing. Collection managers can put content into MCO one-at-a-time using a web application, or in batches using a dropbox with descriptive metadata in a spreadsheet.

Online collection of 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.

Historical coverage in the collection ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas. You may sign in to create, edit and share playlists or clips.

Highlights include: “We Will Rise: Michelle Obama's Mission to Educate Girls Around the World;” an interview series with female leaders including Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Oprah, Tina Brown, Michelle Wie, Nancy Pelosi; series like “Future Finance”, “Passion to Portfolio”, “Eco Solutions;" specials on human trafficking, global poverty, and other human rights issues around the world; features on global cities, travel, world cultures, religion, food, and lifestyles outside the western hemisphere.

Documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience.

Debuting on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time newsreels blended confrontational journalism and docudrama, often using actors to stage events that had not been photographed on newsreel cameras. The March of Time expressed the worldview of Time magazine creator Henry Luce, who candidly described the series as “fakery in allegiance to the truth.” The series began with brief segments in the 1930s and eventually grew in length and scope to television programs of in-depth coverage of a single topic. Though extremely popular worldwide, the series eventually ceded viewers to the popularity of television programming, ending movie theater presentations in 1951 and airing its last television segment in 1967.

Meet the Press debuted in 1947 and is one of network television's longest running broadcast journalism programs. 

The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. These broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service.

World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films give scholars insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.

Covers Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. Also includes video on applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.

Includes content from such production companies as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and KimStim. Includes access to the Docuseek2 Complete Collection 2nd Edition, the Docuseek2 Complete Collection 3rd Edition, and the Icarus Films Collection. 

Subjects covered include: environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, and the arts.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Filmakers Library Online provides access to more than 1,500 online streaming titles from the award-winning distributor Filmakers Library. New releases will be added as made available.

Over 70 documentary films are available for immediate access. Includes some of the most requested titles for classroom use to include: "Killing Us Softly," "Dreamworlds" "Joystick Warriors: Video Games, Violence & the Culture of Militarism," "Game Over: Gender, Race & Violence in Video Games," and "Tough Guise: Violence. Media and the Crisis in Masculinity."

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.

Includes access to four collections:

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the “Great Eight” in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.

British Periodicals Collection IV continues this expansion, offering an eclectic mix of major popular titles from the twentieth century, reflecting the age’s attitudes interests and events across culture, politics and society. Key themes covered in these publications include socialism and the labour movement, international affairs/conflict, leisure/rural life, the arts, travel/empire and childhood/youth.

The Hohenberger collection documents the life, customs, and scenes of the hills of Brown County, in addition to other areas of Indiana, Kentucky, South Carolina, and Mexico.

Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. The Indiana titles digitized through NDNP are also available at the Library of Congress's Chronicling America, along with over 8 million newspaper pages from around the United States.

Spanish thesaurus and interface. Searching in both Spanish and English. Bilingual citations. A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Cubre necesidades de información para todas las disciplinas académicas. Desde economía, ciencia y tecnología, psicología, educación, hasta arqueología, historia, literatura y más. Contiene revistas académicas de toda Iberoamérica.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, some biographical details, etc. Aims at being an unbiased source of information about the commercial value of each artist's work through a comprehensive system of comparables.

The archive includes: international runway shows from the 1970s until the early 2000s, from over 400 designers, collections from McQueen, Gaultier, Westwood, Chalayan, Galliano, and more. Also includes backstage and front row shots from fashion shows of the past forty years and street-style images from global fashion cities.

Provides access to Oxford’s art reference works, including the Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) is a Research Centre within the Library and Learning Services Department at the University for the Creative Arts, and specializes in the management, storage, presentation, and archiving of digital images and other arts-based assets. VADS was founded to provide services to the academic community 14 years ago, and since that time it has built an online collection of more than 140,000 images of rare and unique collections from libraries, museums, and archives in universities and colleges across the UK, which are made available online for the purposes of learning, teaching, and research.

To access some features of the site, users need to register for an individual account. You must be on campus to register. Use your iu.edu email to create an account. Accounts expire every 90 days a require reactivation while on campus.

Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.

British Literary Manuscripts Online is published in two parts: British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance and British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900

The Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a non-commercial online image database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, or manuscripts made in the tradition of books before printing. DS unites scattered resources from a consortium of many libraries into a union catalog for teaching and scholarly research in medieval and Renaissance studies. It provides unprecedented access to illuminated and textual manuscripts through digital cataloging records, supported by high resolution images and retrievable by various topic searches. DS enables users from the most casual to the most specialized to study the rare and valuable materials of academic, research, and public libraries. It makes available collections that are often restricted from public access and includes not only recognized masterpieces but also understudied manuscripts that have been previously overlooked for exhibition or publication. DS fosters the public viewing of non-circulating materials otherwise available only within restricted access libraries. As a visual catalog, DS allows scholars and beginners to verify with their own eyes cataloguing information about places and dates of origin, scripts, artists, and quality. Special emphasis is placed on the touchstone materials, i.e., manuscripts signed and dated by their scribes, thus beginning the American contribution to the goal established in 1953 by the Comité international de paléographie latine (International Committee of Latin Paleography): to document photographically the proportionately small number of codices of certain origin that will serve stylistically to localize and date the vast quantities of unsigned manuscripts. DS publishes not only manuscripts of firm attribution but also ones that need the attention of further scholarship and traditionally would have been unlikely candidates for reproduction. Because it is web-based, it also allows for updates and corrections, and as a matter of form individual records in DS can and do acknowledge contributions from outside scholars. DS encourages interaction between the academic and the library world to build a growing and reciprocally beneficial body of knowledge. DS looks to the needs of a very diverse community of specialists: medievalists, classicists, musicologists, paleographers, diplomatists, literary scholars and art historians. At the same time DS recognizes a broader user community in the public that values rare and unique works of historical, literary and artistic significance.

Includes interactive maps and original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969. The images are sources from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

Also includes: a chronology, a visual sources gallery, an interactive map, a glossary, family trees and links to other scholarly free to access digital resources for researching the medieval period.

Only five major letter collections exist from fifteenth century England and they are all available digitally via this resource.

The Paston letters have long been a subject of both literary and historical interest and are the largest of the collections and the best known of the five families. Their letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. Hundreds of documents and letters exchanged between different family members cover in microcosm the dilemmas of a nation beset by war, disease and legal disputes.

The Celys were a merchant family, and crucial players in the wool trade between England and the Channel ports. This collection covers every aspect of their commercial dealings.

The Stonors were a well-established gentry family in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire. These documents cover the longest time period of any of the collections and throw light on both business and domestic issues. 

The Plumptons were a dominant northern family. Their documents, which continue right through to the early sixteenth century, reveal a family entangled in the social and economic affairs of the region.

The Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance.

Taken by amateur photographer Charles Weever Cushman between 1938 and 1969, the images document an amazing cross-section of American and international subjects, from inner-city storefronts and industrial landscapes to candid portraits and botanical studies. The collection is part of the Indiana University Archives. The richly saturated Kodachrome slides add color to an era primarily recorded in black and white, "a world that we had long since resigned ourselves to viewing only in shades of gray," writes Eric Sandweiss, IU Carmony Chair and Professor of History, in an essay included on the collection's Web site. "In Cushman's work," he observes, "the past becomes, for an instant, impossibly present."

Includes a wide variety of material types, including maps, textbooks, songs and novels. The texts are searchable and browsable by type.

Also includes contextual essays by leading academics, as well as an interactive chronology.

Includes access to Modules 1 and 2. The bulk of the material ranges from the sixteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Module 2 includes six rare Apicius cookbooks, the earliest of which dates from the ninth century.

London Low Life is "A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London."(OCLC)

London Low Life (subtitled on the site as Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld) includes Fast literature, Street ephemera, posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides, Penny fiction, Cartoons, Chapbooks, Street Cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens, Reform literature, andMaps and views of London. Among its topics are the underworld, slang, working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’ , Prostitution, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall andpolice and criminality. 

Listed as themes, you can explore: 
Street Literature and Popular Print 
Politics, Scandal and the News 
Disreputable London 
Sex, Prostitution and Obscenity 
Religion, Charity and Social Reform 
Crime and Justice 
Geography and the Built Environment 
Tourism 
Leisure and Entertainment 
Work, Industry and Commerce 
Women and Gender 

The database has a basic and advanced search. Pdfs of the items received may be downloaded and saved.Citations also will download into citation managers, including EndNote.

Includes access to the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange ; British Politics and Society ; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture ; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection ; Children's Literature and Childhood ; Mapping the World ; Europe And Africa ; Photography: the World Through the Lens ; Science, Technology, and Medicine; Women: Transnational Networks.