Gender Studies

Welcome to the Recommended Resources for Gender Studies page, we're glad you're here. This guide offers numerous resources for students, researchers, educators, and scholars at any stage of their career and research process. If you need assistance navigating this guide or require additional resources, email your Gender Studies subject librarian, nicholae cline.

In this guide, you can find:

• Information about accessing our collections, which include the largest holdings on sexuality in North America
  • Relevant call numbers, subject headings, and keywords
  • E-book accessibility information
• Foundational texts in Gender Studies, Women's Studies, Queer/Sexuality Studies, Gay/Lesbian Studies, Transgender Studies, and more
  • Example syllabi for these fields
  • Histories/historiographies, readers/textbooks, and selected films
• Reference sources including bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks
• Relevant databases
• Academic journals, newspapers, zines, and periodicals
• Primary sources, archival collections, museums, libraries, and organizations in Bloomington and beyond

For additional resources, explore our related LibGuides:

• Introduction to Queer Theory (Philosophy)
• Spotlight on Queer and Trans* Asian Literature and Poetics (Gender Studies)
• Transfeminine Worlds: Works by Trans Women & Other Femme Folk (Gender Studies)
• Spotlight on Queer Poetry and Poetics (Gender Studies)
• Spotlight on Black LGBTQ+ Poetry (Gender Studies)
• Spotlight on Two-Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQIA Peoples (Gender Studies)
• Bisexual Awareness Day (Gender Studies) 
• Transgender Worldmaking in Video Games (Game Studies)
• Asexuality (Gender Studies)
• Transgender Resources (Gender Studies)
• LGBTQ+ Pride Month Awareness Streaming and DVD Resources (Media Services)
• LGBTQ+ primary sources in University collections (University Archives)