Features works of more than 200 American poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of the most influential American poets as well as lesser known poets, from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Full-color digital facsimiles of 18th- and 19th-century American ephemeral publications (broadsides, ballads, programs, sermons, libretti, etc).
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
Full text of letters, diaries, and memoirs from the American Civil War, with biographies and an extensive bibliography.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together diaries, letters, and memoirs from more than 2,000 authors to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first-hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies. Some 50% of the plays have never been published before.
Full text of more than 2,000 plays, including all types of U.S. and Canadian dramas.
Contains 2,059 plays by 434 North American playwrights, written from the late 1800s. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Also includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides a survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
The AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
Since the initiation of the project in 1968, the mandate of the AFI Catalog has been to catalog every American motion picture either produced in the United States or sponsored and financed by American companies as an aid to the preservation of the American national film heritage. In accordance with the international film archival body FIAF (La Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film), AFI Catalog includes only those films that are 40 minutes or longer in duration, or 4 reels or longer in length.
A project to create 6,000 keyed and searchable texts from the Evans Early American Imprints Collection.
The University of Michigan, NewsBank/Readex Co., and the American Antiquarian Society are cooperating in a Text Creation Partnership to create 6,000 accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the Evans Early American Imprints Collection. Evans is the most significant collection of titles relating to the history of seventeenth and eighteenth century America, and the Text creation partnership seeks to create enduring digital text editions of the most frequently studied works. NewsBank/Readex is producing digital page images and searchable OCR (Optical Character Recognition) for the overall collection. The standards-based editions created and owned by Text Creation Partnership will link directly to the corresponding Newsbank/Readex page images and will provide a research and instructional tool of enduring scholarly and instructional value.
Collection of poetry surveying the movements, schools, and voices of modern and contemporary American poetry. The collection includes 50,000 poems by over 300 poets.
Collection of almost 3,000 digitized nineteenth-century American fiction in an ongoing cooperative project of Big Ten university libraries, led by Indiana University.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
Digital archive of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Based on a very comprehensive microfilm collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1940. Contains searchable full text of all extant issues of over 1000 titles, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. Can be cross-searched with historical newspaper archives.
Full text access to more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
A comprehensive online collection of prose, theatre, and poetry written by authors of Hispanic background working in the U.S. Includes text, pictures, and performance materials.
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. Incluces nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
Full text of letters, diaries, autobiographies, and oral histories of immigrants to America and Canada. Covers 1840 to present, but heaviest focus is on 1920-1980.
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Represented genres include plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and others.
Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The collection includes the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Sammy Davis, Jr., Ida B. Wells, Nikki Giovanni, Mary McLeod Bethune, Carl Rowan, Roy Wilkens, James Weldon Johnson, Audre Lorde, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Ellison, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Jesse Jackson, Bobby Seale, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Randall Kennedy, Cornel West, Nelson George, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Bayard Rustin, and hundreds of other notable people.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, Black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of Black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of Black feminism.
Black Women Writers includes fiction, poetry, and essays. Among the authors are Nikki Giovanni, Maryse Condé, Barbara Ransby, Angela Davis, Rhoda Reddock, Margaret Walker, Ama Ata Aidoo, Rosa Guy, Sonia Sanchez, Olive Senior, and Barbara Ransby. Works are in their original languages, although an English translation executed by the original author may be available. Works are reproduced in their entirety and when possible, an image of the original page accompanies the text. The dates of the material range from the 1700s to contemporary pieces.
Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
Collections included:
African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Caribbean Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers
Contains 1,100 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Also includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays, as well as writer biographies.
Part of an ongoing project to digitize and thoroughly index film scripts. The rationale behind this is not only to provide access to many previously unpublished screenplays, it is to allow scripts to become part of the established corpus of literary works. Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.
A full text archive of the important 19th-century American publication Harper's Weekly, with faceted search functionality
Electronic access to the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Includes illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era. Also provides images in three sizes and offers the capability for producing high quality image printouts, and allows you to save pages as JPEG files.
With HarpWeek, you can:
Browse Harper's Weekly issues by a Table of Contents of included articles and illustrations
Browse Harper's Weekly issues by page images
Search for text or phrases within the pages of Harper's Weekly
Use the thesaurus-based index to find articles
Search synopses of fictional works within Harper's Weekly
Search cross-index groupings using the Subject Headings feature
Limit searches to one of 16 Harper's Weekly "Features": Advertisements, Article series, Biographical sketches/obituaries, Cartoons, Editorials, Fiction, Government announcements, Humor/satirical commentaries, Illustrations, Maps, News stories/items, Panoramic views, Poetry, Portraits, Publisher's notices and Travel narratives.
Collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka. Includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, and personal records. The materials cover Baraka's involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J. and in Black Power movement organizations such as the Congress of African People, the National Black Conference movement, the Black Women's United Front. Later materials document Baraka's increasing involvement in Marxism.
Contents: Series I: Black arts movement, 1961-1998 -- Series II: Black nationalism, 1964-1977 -- Series III: Correspondence, 1967-1973 -- Series IV: Newark (New Jersey), 1913-1980 -- Series V: Congress of African People, 1960-1976 -- Series VI: National Black conferences and National Black Assembly, 1968-1975 -- Series VII: Black Women's United Front, 1975-1976 -- Series VIII: Student Organization for Black Unity, 1971 -- Series IX: African Liberation Support Committee, 1973-1976 -- Series X: Revolutionary Communist League, 1974-1982 -- Series XI: African socialism, 1973 -- Series XII: Black Marxists, 1969-1980 -- Series XIII: National Black United Front, 1979-1981 -- Series XIV: Miscellaneous materials, 1978-1988 -- Series XV: Serial publications, 1968-1984 -- Series XVI: Oral histories, 1984-1986 -- Series XVII: Komozi Woodard's office files, 1956-1986.
--OCLC
Primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures: William Wells Brown, Herman Melville, Matthew Arnold, Christina Rossetti, and Emily Shore.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Contains more than 550 works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa, expertly compiled by the curators of Afro-Americana Imprints collection. Genres include personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems, and musical compositions.
Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Black Authors, 1556-1922. Major subject areas addressed in Black Authors include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, and Diaspora Studies. Authors included are Leo Africanus, Ignatius Sancho, Benjamin Banneker, Phillis Wheatley, Olaudah Equiano, David Ruggles, William Wells Brown, Solomon Northrup, Harriet Wilson, Harriet Jacobs, Alexander Crummell, Martin Delany, Edward Wilmot Blyden, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, Josiah Henson, Frederick Douglass, Bethany Veney, Paul Laurence Dunbar, W.E.B. Du Bois, Charles W. Chestnutt, Booker T. Washington, James Weldon Johnson, and hundreds of others.
This database offers complete citation information and page images from every book published in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the United States between 1475-1700.
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars and experts covering the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries.
Provides annotated entries for scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1960 onward. The scope is international. Updated regularly.
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. The more than 133,000 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
Over 480,000 records for items published anywhere in Great Britain or its colonies or in English anywhere from printing's beginnings (1473) through the eighteenth century.
Full-text digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.
Comprehensive digital access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles
Includes access to:
British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900
Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950
Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.
British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950
From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.
British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950
With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).
The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
For scholars of English literature, particular attention has been given to the Renaissance period. All the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James Bible, including the highly influential Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles, appear. For researchers in the development of the English language, texts from all eras are included, with emphasis upon versions that closely represent its contemporary state. For biblical and theological scholars, texts from the Protestant, Roman Catholic and non-conformist traditions are represented.
English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the nineteenth century.
The English Poetry database contains over 4,500 volumes by 1,350 poets, comprising over 165,920 poems. Poets whose works are included have been selected from The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (available in the IU Research Collections under the Call Number REF Z 2011.N53). The poems are the English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the Nineteenth century.
Offers complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
The database includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection. Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of color images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting .
Access to nytimes.com and via apps. Additional access options for the New York Times are available.
IUB Affiliates: To register for access, go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. Once activated, you can access all content at NYTimes.com from a Web browser, as well as via NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. Students will need to renew the IUB Group Pass annually. Faculty will need to renew every 4 years.
Click more for complete activation and renewal instructions, access for unaffiliated users, and additional access options.
New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location
Returning IUB Affilated Users
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.
If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.
Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.
Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability
Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.
Alternative Press Index Archive offers both international and interdisciplinary coverage of a variety of alternative sources, indexing information on topics of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Provides searchable, online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. Includes newspapers from more than 35 states covering life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment, and more.
Some titles lasted a short time, or few extant issues have been found, so that the database may contain as little as a single issue from a source. Other newspapers had longer lives, and long runs of issues are available.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998:
Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York
Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN).
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956:
Key titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), and Southern News (Richmond, VA).
Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
Collections included:
African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Caribbean Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers
The full text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-2011 with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type. Additional access options for the Chicago Tribune are available.
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1996) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Additional access options:
Access to the Chicago Tribune from 2008 – recent (coverage extends to within days of the current issue) is at https://libraries.indiana.edu/chicago-tribune-proquest-digital-microfilm. This is a digitized microfilm of the Chicago Tribune.
The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Tribune as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy. Here is the link to the physical microfilm in IUCAT: http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/8070516
Bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects--all subjects and languages.
This series lists 50,000 titles, of which over 20,000 are `family members' through a merger with or restructuring of some other publication. By the completion of the five-series set, some 125,000 titles are expected to be identified, located and described. All subject areas are covered, although each one of the series attempts to provide a comprehensive listing of from seven to ten additional subjects, while including many thousands of titles not on those specialty lists.
The full text of the Washington Post from 1877 - 2000, with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type. Additional access options for the Washington Post (https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/majornews).
From 1877 - 2000, every backfile issue of The Washington Post has been digitized from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. You can search using basic keyword, guided, publication-specific searches, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. You may also browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition.
Full-text digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.
Includes three indexes: "Palmer's" covering The Times (London) 1790-1905, the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 and the NYT 1863-1905 and 1913-1922.
Historical Newspapers includes indexes to The Times (London) up to 1905 and the New York Times from 1863 to 1922 (with a few missing years).
The titles correspond to the printed index to the New York Times which the library owns from 1851 to the present (Wells Library, Reference Department); and to Palmer's Index to the Times and The Official Index to the Times, both owned in a complete run (Wells Library, Reference Department).
Full text of both newspapers is also available on microfilm and online.
Digital archive of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Based on a very comprehensive microfilm collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1940. Contains searchable full text of all extant issues of over 1000 titles, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. Can be cross-searched with historical newspaper archives.
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Pittsburgh Courier, African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2010), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. (OCLC)
Comprehensive digital access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles
Includes access to:
British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900
Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950
Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.
British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950
From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.
British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950
With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first-hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
Database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.
Full-color digital facsimiles of 18th- and 19th-century American ephemeral publications (broadsides, ballads, programs, sermons, libretti, etc).
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
This database provides full-page and article images with searchable full text from the Atlanta world (1931-1932) and the Atlanta daily world (1932-2010). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
The Atlanta Daily World had the first Black White House correspondent and was the first Black daily newspaper in the nation in the 20th century.
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago Defender, African-American newspaper founded in 1905.
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily defender (1966-1973 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago daily defender (1960-1973 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1909-1966 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1921-1967 : National ed) ; Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008) ; Chicago daily defender (1973-2010 : Daily ed.)
Covers the people, issues, and events that shaped Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries, and other items.
Includes access to Series 1 and 2:
African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922:
Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925
Features English- and foreign-language titles. Includes notable publications, such as the Demain (Algeria), Africa’s Luminary (Liberia), France Orientale (Madagascar), Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa (Morocco); O Moçambique (Mozambique), Voortrekker (Namibia), Nigerian Times (Nigeria), Munno (Uganda) and many widely sought South African titles from Cape Town, Grahamstown, Port Elizabeth, Pietermaritzburg and Johannesburg. Among the South African titles are Black Man, British Settler, Cape Times, Johannesburg Times, and South African Spectator.
A full text archive of the important 19th-century American publication Harper's Weekly, with faceted search functionality
Electronic access to the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Includes illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era. Also provides images in three sizes and offers the capability for producing high quality image printouts, and allows you to save pages as JPEG files.
With HarpWeek, you can:
Browse Harper's Weekly issues by a Table of Contents of included articles and illustrations
Browse Harper's Weekly issues by page images
Search for text or phrases within the pages of Harper's Weekly
Use the thesaurus-based index to find articles
Search synopses of fictional works within Harper's Weekly
Search cross-index groupings using the Subject Headings feature
Limit searches to one of 16 Harper's Weekly "Features": Advertisements, Article series, Biographical sketches/obituaries, Cartoons, Editorials, Fiction, Government announcements, Humor/satirical commentaries, Illustrations, Maps, News stories/items, Panoramic views, Poetry, Portraits, Publisher's notices and Travel narratives.
Database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.
Access to the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust. Includes the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.
In addition to William Wordsworth, the resource also includes documents by Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. There are also works by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. The documents (manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps) are digitized in color.
Searchable collection of color digital images of rare books, ephemera and other materials relating to popular culture in 19th and early 20th century London.
Primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures: William Wells Brown, Herman Melville, Matthew Arnold, Christina Rossetti, and Emily Shore.
Provides highly accurate transcriptions of literary works by British women writers of the late 19th century.
The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of literary works by British women writers of the late 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML). The works, selected with the assistance of the Advisory Board, will include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.
Perry Willett, General Editor
Includes 60 volumes of poetry from 47 women poets, predominantly Scottish, of the Romantic period.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Periodis a definitive collection organized by Nancy Kushigian of the University of California, Davis and Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska. In addition to 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, the database includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project by Alexander Street Press. This database contains over 9,027 pages.
English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the nineteenth century.
The English Poetry database contains over 4,500 volumes by 1,350 poets, comprising over 165,920 poems. Poets whose works are included have been selected from The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (available in the IU Research Collections under the Call Number REF Z 2011.N53). The poems are the English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the Nineteenth century.
Bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects--all subjects and languages.
This series lists 50,000 titles, of which over 20,000 are `family members' through a merger with or restructuring of some other publication. By the completion of the five-series set, some 125,000 titles are expected to be identified, located and described. All subject areas are covered, although each one of the series attempts to provide a comprehensive listing of from seven to ten additional subjects, while including many thousands of titles not on those specialty lists.
The Swinburne Project is a digital collection and scholarly project devoted to the life and work of Victorian poet Algernon Charles Swinburne and to digital encounters with Swinburne's works and related documents and information resources.
Covers over 400 British women writers in a wide variety of literary genres, including novels, travel writing, poetry, theater, children's books, cook books and religious writings. The authors are "women whose reputations were established before the early 1980s." The editor broadly defines "British," so there are entries for those born elsewhere but whose careers were in an important part tied to Britain.
Editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies, and brief plot summaries of popular works of literature.
Search by genre, title, author, subject., age level, characters.
Contains Masterplots (12 volumes), Masterplots II (58 volumes), Cyclopedia of World Authors (5 volumes), Cyclopedia of Literary Characters (5 volumes), Magill's Literary Annual 1977-2012 (38 volumes), Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature (4 volumes), Magill Book Reviews, and Critical Surveys (35 volumes).
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.
Complete text of Gale's DLB series. The DLB covers a wide variety of literary topics, periods, and genres, and includes entries on authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. Although international in scope, it tends to concentrate on American and British literature.
Each entry begins with the list of an author's works, followed by fairly detailed biographical information concentrating on the author's career. Some entries are about 2,000 to 5,000 words; some can run more than 10 pages (up to 15,000 words). They all include illustrations, photographs of the authors, their families and places where they lived, manuscripts in facsimile, or dust jackets. The entry ends with listings of letters, bibliographies, biographies and references.
Includes definitions, etymologies, and quotations. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
Biographies of children's authors and illustrators
The database includes two series from Gale publishers:Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.
The series contain illustrated biographies of children's authors and illustrators, searchable by keyword, full text, named author, and illustration caption.
Although concentrating on English-language writers, Something About the Author does include authors writing in other language, for example Aesop, Charles Perrault, Antoine de Saint-Exupery and the Brothers Grimm. Entries contain bibliographies of the authors' works and may also note adaptions of their works for the theater, film or television.
Covers over 400 British women writers in a wide variety of literary genres, including novels, travel writing, poetry, theater, children's books, cook books and religious writings. The authors are "women whose reputations were established before the early 1980s." The editor broadly defines "British," so there are entries for those born elsewhere but whose careers were in an important part tied to Britain.
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.
Biographies of those who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Online version of the 60-volume print Oxford DNB, published September, 2004, a major revision of the original Dictionary of National Biography and its supplements. Since 2005 regular updates have extended the Dictionary’s coverage, now including biographies of more than 60,000 people who died in or before the year 2016.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) provides more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 millions persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.
BGMI indexes entries from reference books such as Who's Who in America or the Dictionary of National Biography. It covers contemporary and historical figures, indicates birth and death dates and gives the title and edition in which relevant entries can be found.
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Includes over 3,000 different texts in a machine-readable corpus.
Indexes essays and miscellaneous works from printed anthologies and collections.
Topics of the essays cover a broad range of humanities and social sciences, including literary works, drama, and film. Essays are English-language, published in the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain. Approximately 340 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually.
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
It contains references to scholarly research in more than 3000 journals and series, in monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Covers all aspects of the study of language and contains non-evaluative abstracts of articles from over 1,200 international serials as well as other resources.
Provides access to the catalog of the Library's major holdings, developed over 250 years and containing over 150 million items. Also includes access to digital collections, subject guides, and collection guides.
Includes books, journals, manuscripts, maps, stamps, music, patents, photographs, newspapers and sound. Many of the digital collections are provided free online.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature is a bibliography compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association. ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations.
Contains more than 1 million records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates. It indexes more than 850 journals and is a resource for literary criticism published between 1892-1962.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospectiveprovides citation-level access to English-language articles contained in the equivalent of 46 printed index volumes. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
Access to Oxford University Press e-books, journals, and other content. Includes access to license to Oxford Scholarship content, as well as University Press Scholarship, and Oxford Handbooks. Covers the areas of classics, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion.
Provides annotated entries for scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1960 onward. The scope is international. Updated regularly.
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. The more than 133,000 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 provides selected extracts from book reviews, as well as citations to additional reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Peer-reviewed survey articles covering a broad range of topics in literary scholarship.
Literature Compass is a collection of peer-reviewed survey articles covering a broad range of topics within literary scholarship. The database works much like a journal, is updated regularly, and offers multiple and differing viewpoints on key issues within the field. It also includes citations and abstracts for some of the major journals within the field. The database is searchable and browseable by time period, and all time periods are included.
Only existing online union catalog of auction catalogs; describes art and rare book catalogs from North American and European auction houses and important private sales.
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
It contains references to scholarly research in more than 3000 journals and series, in monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature is a bibliography compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association. ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations.
Contains more than 1 million records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates. It indexes more than 850 journals and is a resource for literary criticism published between 1892-1962.
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 provides selected extracts from book reviews, as well as citations to additional reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Comprehensive digital access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles
Includes access to:
British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900
Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950
Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.
British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950
From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.
British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950
With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).
Full-text digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.
English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the nineteenth century.
The English Poetry database contains over 4,500 volumes by 1,350 poets, comprising over 165,920 poems. Poets whose works are included have been selected from The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (available in the IU Research Collections under the Call Number REF Z 2011.N53). The poems are the English-language works of British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh poets, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the Nineteenth century.
Over 480,000 records for items published anywhere in Great Britain or its colonies or in English anywhere from printing's beginnings (1473) through the eighteenth century.
Covers over 400 British women writers in a wide variety of literary genres, including novels, travel writing, poetry, theater, children's books, cook books and religious writings. The authors are "women whose reputations were established before the early 1980s." The editor broadly defines "British," so there are entries for those born elsewhere but whose careers were in an important part tied to Britain.
Offers complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
The database includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection. Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of color images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting .
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th-century fight for freedom.
Major collections include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
These collections contain documentation from the founding of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs in the last decade of the 19th century to the riots that followed the verdict in the Rodney King police brutality case in the last decade of the 20th century. In the intervening 100 years, researchers will encounter documentation on subjects like the Great Migration, the East St. Louis Riot of 1917, the activities of members of the Federal Council on Negro Affairs during the New Deal, the March on Washington Movement during World War II, the landmark Brown v. Board of Education decision, the Montgomery Bus Boycott, the 1963 March on Washington, the protests in Selma, Alabama, that inspired the passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. in 1968, and the National Black Political Convention in 1972.
FBI surveillance files: African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party.
Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. (OCLC)
A variety of materials comprise this collection, including:
FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, NYC, Baltimore, New Haven, Detroit, Miami, Atlanta, Newark, Kansas City, and Cleveland; Intercepted correspondence; Ephemera from NGO support groups; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Copies of handbills, pamphlets, and newsletters; Witness statements; Extremist Intelligence Section reports; Domestic Intelligence Division reports and memoranda; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Speech excerpts; Transcripts of conversations.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, Black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of Black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of Black feminism.
Black Women Writers includes fiction, poetry, and essays. Among the authors are Nikki Giovanni, Maryse Condé, Barbara Ransby, Angela Davis, Rhoda Reddock, Margaret Walker, Ama Ata Aidoo, Rosa Guy, Sonia Sanchez, Olive Senior, and Barbara Ransby. Works are in their original languages, although an English translation executed by the original author may be available. Works are reproduced in their entirety and when possible, an image of the original page accompanies the text. The dates of the material range from the 1700s to contemporary pieces.
Collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The collection includes the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Sammy Davis, Jr., Ida B. Wells, Nikki Giovanni, Mary McLeod Bethune, Carl Rowan, Roy Wilkens, James Weldon Johnson, Audre Lorde, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Ellison, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Jesse Jackson, Bobby Seale, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Randall Kennedy, Cornel West, Nelson George, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Bayard Rustin, and hundreds of other notable people.
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides a survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
Most records in the current coverage contain an abstract and, additionally, many records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The journal list was prepared with the guidance of an advisory board including librarians specializing in Black Studies.
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first-hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
Provides full-text access for over 200 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fictional prose by African authors, based on Heinemann African Writers Series. Works are in English or in English translation.
Notable works included are written by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot Bitek, and Tayeb Salih.
Full text access to more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
Collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka. Includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, and personal records. The materials cover Baraka's involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J. and in Black Power movement organizations such as the Congress of African People, the National Black Conference movement, the Black Women's United Front. Later materials document Baraka's increasing involvement in Marxism.
Contents: Series I: Black arts movement, 1961-1998 -- Series II: Black nationalism, 1964-1977 -- Series III: Correspondence, 1967-1973 -- Series IV: Newark (New Jersey), 1913-1980 -- Series V: Congress of African People, 1960-1976 -- Series VI: National Black conferences and National Black Assembly, 1968-1975 -- Series VII: Black Women's United Front, 1975-1976 -- Series VIII: Student Organization for Black Unity, 1971 -- Series IX: African Liberation Support Committee, 1973-1976 -- Series X: Revolutionary Communist League, 1974-1982 -- Series XI: African socialism, 1973 -- Series XII: Black Marxists, 1969-1980 -- Series XIII: National Black United Front, 1979-1981 -- Series XIV: Miscellaneous materials, 1978-1988 -- Series XV: Serial publications, 1968-1984 -- Series XVI: Oral histories, 1984-1986 -- Series XVII: Komozi Woodard's office files, 1956-1986.
--OCLC
Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
The collection includes documentaries on leading artists, writers, musicians, playwrights, and performers, such as Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton, Frantz Fanon, Zora Neale Hurston, Richard Wright, Eldridge Cleaver, August Wilson, Bobby Seale, Ethel Waters, Amiri Baraka, and Robert F. Williams. The database also draws from the Hatch-Billops Collection, a critically acclaimed archive of primary and secondary resource materials focused on Black American art, drama, and literature. Additional content planned for inclusion are the SNCC archives, the NAACP archives, and archives from select Historically Black Colleges and Universities.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Contains reproductions of hundreds of FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which Black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected.
Many of the documents originated with Black "confidential special informants" enlisted by the FBI to infiltrate a variety of organizations. In addition to infiltration, the FBI contributed to the infringement of First Amendment freedoms by making its agents a constant visible presence at radical rallies and meetings. This archive is based on original microfilm.
Contents: COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups -- FBI file on A. Philip Randolph -- FBI File on Adam Clayton Powell -- FBI file on the Atlanta child murders (ATKID) -- FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina -- FBI file on the Committee for Public Justice -- FBI file on Elijah Muhammed -- FBI file on the Highlander Folk School -- FBI file on the Ku Klux Klan murder of Viola Liuzzo -- FBI file on Malcolm X -- FBI file : MIBURN (Mississippi Burning) -- FBI file on the Moorish Science Temple of America -- FBI File on the Murder of Lemuel Penn -- FBI file on Muslim Mosque, Inc. -- FBI file on the NAACP -- FBI file on the National Negro Congress -- FBI file on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU) -- FBI file on Paul Robeson -- FBI file on the Reverend Jesse Jackson -- FBI file on Roy Wilkins -- FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee -- FBI file on Thurgood Marshall -- FBI file on W. E. B. Du Bois -- FBI investigation file on Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference -- FBI surveillance file: Malcolm X -- FBI investigation file on Marcus Garvey. (OCLC)
Provides searchable, online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. Includes newspapers from more than 35 states covering life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment, and more.
Some titles lasted a short time, or few extant issues have been found, so that the database may contain as little as a single issue from a source. Other newspapers had longer lives, and long runs of issues are available.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998:
Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York
Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN).
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956:
Key titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), and Southern News (Richmond, VA).
Covers the people, issues, and events that shaped Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries, and other items.
Includes access to Series 1 and 2:
African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922:
Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925
Features English- and foreign-language titles. Includes notable publications, such as the Demain (Algeria), Africa’s Luminary (Liberia), France Orientale (Madagascar), Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa (Morocco); O Moçambique (Mozambique), Voortrekker (Namibia), Nigerian Times (Nigeria), Munno (Uganda) and many widely sought South African titles from Cape Town, Grahamstown, Port Elizabeth, Pietermaritzburg and Johannesburg. Among the South African titles are Black Man, British Settler, Cape Times, Johannesburg Times, and South African Spectator.
Full text of more than 2,000 plays, including all types of U.S. and Canadian dramas.
Contains 2,059 plays by 434 North American playwrights, written from the late 1800s. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Also includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies. Some 50% of the plays have never been published before.
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Represented genres include plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and others.
Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Full text access to more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Collection of published plays throughout the English-speaking world
Twentieth-Century Drama is a collection of published plays throughout the English-speaking world from the 1890s to the present. It contains the work of authors from North America and Canada, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean. Subject categories include: African American drama, American ethnic theatre traditions, off-Broadway, off-off-Broadway, popular successes, women playwrights, The complete works of Bernard Shaw, Irish Theatre, "1956 revolution" at London's Royal Court Theatre, The Royal Court's first era of avant-garde prominence, political plays, historical dramas, alternative and community theatre, global and postcolonial theatre in English, Innovative re-readings of the classics.
In addition to the text, there is subject and monologue indexing. With a subject field search you may restrict searches to plays with specified topical subjects or settings. For example: Geographical locations -- London, Paris, Vienna, New York City, the Appalachian Mountains, Hawaii, Sicily, Australia, New Delhi, Yorkshire and Nigeria; historical settings -- 19th Century, World War I, World War II, the American Civil War, the Easter Rising or the Vietnam War; historical figures -- Shakespeare, F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Jack the Ripper, Alexander the Great;or topical subjects -- Disability, Education, Sexual Politics, Marriage, Strikes, and the African-American Experience to Baseball, Newspapers, Turkish Baths and Strip-Tease.
Includes classic plays such as Bernard Shaw's Saint Joan (1923), Thornton Wilder's Our Town (1938), August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (1984), David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow (1987), Harold Pinter's The Homecoming (1965) or Brian Friel's Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) as well as less well-known texts drawn from the full range of modern theatrical traditions. Areas such as postcolonial writing, women's theatre, and community theatre are given full representation, and Naturalist, Expressionist and absurdist works appear alongside popular comedies, melodramas, farces and thrillers.
Provides access to streaming video for theater education. Includes filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material, in addition to playlists, video clips, and on-screen transcripts.
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages.
Combines access to the Lexikon des Mittelalters with a supplement, the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages. The Lexikon des Mittelalters online contains some 37,000 signed articles and covers all aspects of medieval studies for the period 300 to 1500
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216. Includes the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
Electronic version of the Acta Sanctorum, a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
Contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Société des Bollandistes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. All prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices, Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers, are also included.
Abbreviationes identifies abbreviations used in medieval Latin manuscripts (Latin paleography). It includes large collections such as the manuscripts held by the Vatican Library, the libraries at Oxford and Paris, the Morgan Library, the Huntington Library , as well as many smaller collections. The entries in the database cover the period from the 8th century up to and including the 15th century.
The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
For scholars of English literature, particular attention has been given to the Renaissance period. All the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James Bible, including the highly influential Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles, appear. For researchers in the development of the English language, texts from all eras are included, with emphasis upon versions that closely represent its contemporary state. For biblical and theological scholars, texts from the Protestant, Roman Catholic and non-conformist traditions are represented.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica is a large collection of medieval historical sources for the study of German-speaking Europe (Germany, Austria and Switzerland) during the Middle Ages.
Full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I (1272 - 1307) to the reign of Henry VII (1485 - 1509).
The rolls of parliament were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes entitled Rotuli Parliamentorum ( RP ) under the general editorship of the Reverend John Strachey. They were later superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons. This new edition reproduces the rolls edited in RP in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks (Latin, Anglo-Norman and Middle English). It also includes an introduction to every parliament known to have been held by an English king (or in his name) between 1275 and 1504, whether or not the roll for that parliament survives.
The Rolls of Parliament set includes:
Introductions to Individual Parliaments:
Historical background for the time, sometimes quite long and in considerable detail.
Text/Translation, original text:
The original text is in Latin or Anglo-Norman or Middle English.
Translations are side-by-side with the original text
Appendix:
The appendix usually contains lists of bills, petitions, grants, letters, complaints, commissions, appointments, orders and other similar matters
Images:
The images section reproduces the original manuscript as written by the clerk
The general introduction to the Rolls of Parliament describes the editorial approach to the set and provides historical information concerning the rolls themselves.
Includes 3 Brill encyclopedias - Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, containing 3600 signed articles on aspects of medieval history, culture and belief, with nearly 200 illustrations.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Includes over 3,000 different texts in a machine-readable corpus.
Contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions
Also includes: a chronology, a visual sources gallery, an interactive map, a glossary, family trees and links to other scholarly free to access digital resources for researching the medieval period.
Only five major letter collections exist from fifteenth century England and they are all available digitally via this resource.
The Paston letters have long been a subject of both literary and historical interest and are the largest of the collections and the best known of the five families. Their letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. Hundreds of documents and letters exchanged between different family members cover in microcosm the dilemmas of a nation beset by war, disease and legal disputes.
The Celys were a merchant family, and crucial players in the wool trade between England and the Channel ports. This collection covers every aspect of their commercial dealings.
The Stonors were a well-established gentry family in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire. These documents cover the longest time period of any of the collections and throw light on both business and domestic issues.
The Plumptons were a dominant northern family. Their documents, which continue right through to the early sixteenth century, reveal a family entangled in the social and economic affairs of the region.
The Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance.
A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: to save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).
Full-text database of Australian creative and critical writing sponsored by eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia.
AustLit is a non-profit collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature.
Provides full-text access for over 200 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fictional prose by African authors, based on Heinemann African Writers Series. Works are in English or in English translation.
Notable works included are written by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot Bitek, and Tayeb Salih.
Includes fiction, short fiction, essays, interviews, and manuscript materials written in English from authors originating in South and Southeast Asia
Works were written from the end of the colonial era to the present. The writers are from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji, either by birth or through cultural identity. Writers may now be living in the Caribbean or Africa, London, Toronto, or New York.
Prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, who address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Collection of 18th and 19th century newspapers published in the Caribbean. This resource is useful for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region back to the 18th century.
Most of the newspapers included were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish, French, and Danish language titles are also provided. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to this region.
Covers the people, issues, and events that shaped Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries, and other items.
Includes access to Series 1 and 2:
African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922:
Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1925
Features English- and foreign-language titles. Includes notable publications, such as the Demain (Algeria), Africa’s Luminary (Liberia), France Orientale (Madagascar), Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa (Morocco); O Moçambique (Mozambique), Voortrekker (Namibia), Nigerian Times (Nigeria), Munno (Uganda) and many widely sought South African titles from Cape Town, Grahamstown, Port Elizabeth, Pietermaritzburg and Johannesburg. Among the South African titles are Black Man, British Settler, Cape Times, Johannesburg Times, and South African Spectator.
Full text access to more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, Black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of Black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of Black feminism.
Black Women Writers includes fiction, poetry, and essays. Among the authors are Nikki Giovanni, Maryse Condé, Barbara Ransby, Angela Davis, Rhoda Reddock, Margaret Walker, Ama Ata Aidoo, Rosa Guy, Sonia Sanchez, Olive Senior, and Barbara Ransby. Works are in their original languages, although an English translation executed by the original author may be available. Works are reproduced in their entirety and when possible, an image of the original page accompanies the text. The dates of the material range from the 1700s to contemporary pieces.
