Skip to Main Content

Nawrūz (Festival)

Resources about Nawruz -- festival of Persian New Year.

What is Nawruz?

Nowruz (Persian: نوروز‎, pronounced [nowˈɾuːz]; lit.  "new day") is the Iranian New Year, also known as the Persian New Year, which is celebrated worldwide by various ethno-linguistic groups in many countries, including Iran, Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, India, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Nowruz is the day of the vernal equinox, and marks the beginning of spring in the Northern Hemisphere. It marks the first day of the first month (Farvardin) of the Iranian calendars. It usually occurs on March 21.

It is spelled differently in various languages: 

Nauryz, Navruz, Nawrouz, Nevruz, Newroz, Nooruz, Norooz, Novruz, Nowrouz, Nowruz

This LibGuide is titled according to the spelling used in the Library of Congress Subject Headings.


The United nations recognizes March 21 as the International Day of Nowruz.

In 2016 the festival was included into UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage list.