Articles
- Woman Designer Creates Automobile 'Ensembles': Helen Dryden Utilizes Fashion Background And Mechanical Flair To Gain Effective Simplicity And Practical Utility In Car Bodies And Furnishings
This link opens in a new window
A primary source document detailing the design of Helen Dryden's work. - Fashion, femininity and the fight for the vote
- This link opens in a new window
Characterizes the militant suffragette movement, the Women's Social and Political Union (WSPU). Importance attached by the WSPU to dress and appearance; Elements of fashion adopted by women in feminist movements; Factors that contributed to the notoriety of the WSPU.
Question: How do romanticized fashion illustrations on magazine covers affect the public’s perception of women’s roles in society?
The materials from IU Libraries can help us answer questions like these. Use the links on this page to learn more about Helen Dryden and the influence of fashion marketing on women's roles in society.
Books from the Catalog
Dress Codes: Meanings and Messages in American Culture by Call Number: GT605 .R835 2001ISBN: 0813367956Publication Date: 2001Rich with illustrations, this revised and updated second edition of Dress Codes systematically analyzes the meaning and relevance of clothing in American culture. Presented here is an up-to-date analysis of images of power and authority, gender, seduction (the sexy look, the alluring look, the glamorous look, the vulnerable look), wealth and beauty, youth and health, and leisure and political hierarchy. Taken together, the chapters offer to the student and the general reader a complete "semiotics of clothing" in a form that is highly readable, very entertaining, and thoroughly informative. The illustrations provide fascinating glimpses into the history of American fashion and clothing-along with their antecedents in Europe-as well as a fine collection of images from the more familiar world of contemporary America.Rubinstein has identified six distinct categories of dress in American society, upon which Dress Codes is based. "Clothing signs" were instituted by those in authority, have one meaning, indicate behavior, and are required attire (police uniforms, or the clothing of ministers and priests); ?clothing symbols," on the other hand, reflect the achievement of cultural values?wealth, beauty, you and health. The wearing of clothing symbols?designer clothing or jewelry?may have several meanings; '`'clothing tie-signs,? which are specific types of clothing that indicate membership in a community outside mainstream culture (Hasidic, Amish, or Hare Krishna attire). They were instituted by those in authority, have one meaning, they indicate expected behavior, and are required attire; ?clothing tie symbols? emanate from hopes, fears, and dreams of particular groups. They include trendy styles such as hip-hop, hippie, and gothic. Another category, ?contemporary fashion,? reflects consumer sentiments and the political and economic forces of the period. ?Personal dress,? refers to the "I" component we bring in when dressing the public self (bowtie, dramatic, or artistic attire). Many of these images have their roots in the ?collective memory? of western society. Written in a lively and entertaining style,Dress Codes will fascinate both general readers and students interested in the history of fashion and costume, fashion design, human development, and gender studies.
Vogue: The Covers by Call Number: NC974.4.V63 K35 2011Publication Date: 2011-10-01Since its first cover on December 17, 1892, Vogue has had people talking. Vogue: The Covers chronicles the extraordinary images that have reflected--and transformed--the world of style for more than 120 years. More than 300 of the most beautiful, provocative, and fashion-forward covers ever produced are highlighted alongside the history and stories behind the covers themselves. Organized in chronological order by decade, Vogue: The Covers begins with the illustrated covers from the magazine's inception in 1892 and spans the 20th century to the present day, charting the evolution of fashion, art, culture, and photography for the past 120 years. Featuring the work of influential artists--Helmut Newton, Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, Bruce Weber, Herb Ritts, Steven Meisel, Annie Leibovitz, and Mario Testino--the book is a stunning celebration of the magazine and its unparalleled influence.
Cover Story by Call Number: NC975 .H396 1996Publication Date: 1996This volume showcases over 200 remarkable covers from diverse publications such as the Saturday Evening Post, Scientific American, Fortune, Good Housekeeping, and Vanity Fair. With eye-catching illustrations and a lively, informative text, Cover Story presents an entertaining look back at this exciting commercial art form.
Masters of Fashion Illustration by Call Number: TT509 .D69 2010ISBN: 9781856697040Publication Date: 2010A lavishly illustrated and beautifully designed book that celebrates the work of the great fashion illustrators from late-19th century to the present day. The book covers the work of fashion illustrators, such as Rene Gruau and Antonio Lopez, fine artists such as Boldini and Warhol, and graphic designers such as Tony Viramontes and Bob Peak.
The Evolution of the Illustrated Female in America by Call Number: World Wide WebPublication Date: 2013This thesis discusses the evolution of the illustrated femaile figure in America. It examines how artists like Charles Dana Gibson influenced society's perception of women and, in turn, how women viewed themselves. The illustrators discussed will be limited to Americans or foreign born artists who resided primarily in the United States from the late 1800's through the year 2000.
An additional focus will be how the changing role of women impacted how artists represent the female figure in their artwork. Major events both at home and abroad forever altered the role of women within the United States, subsequently resulting in dramatic changes in their depiction in illustration.
