SPEA V236 Managing and Leading Organizations
Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Organization Research:
- GuideStar ProUnder the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
- MarketLine AdvantageOriginal industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Mergent IntellectProvides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles. (Find information previously accessed through Hoover's here.)
- PrivCoPLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:
News Articles:
- Nexis UniIncludes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
News, Scholarly, and Trade Articles:
- ABI/INFORM CollectionAccess to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- PAIS IndexPAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes articles, books, studies, selected official documents and other resources on public policy issues, public administration, law, politics and government.
- Social Services AbstractsCoverage of current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Wiley Online LibraryProvides access to over 3 million journal articles, online books, major reference works, and leading industry databases.
Evaluation of Sources:
You will want to evaluate sources for credibility prior to use. The CRAAP (currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose) framework can assist you in the evaluation process.
General Library Resources
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource.
- OneSearch@IUSearch across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.