Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Library Databases
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- CIA World Factbook
This link opens in a new window
Country-specific statistics and overview of political, social, and economic landscapes.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, offering fulltext of working papers from research organizations, abstracts of foreign policy journal articles, etc. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text discussion of current, controversial public policy issues; coverage of newsworthy global affairs and issues from a variety of international viewpoints. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital library of legal journals, texts, cases, statutes, regulations and treaties, as well as international and foreign legal journals, cases and materials. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Search for country profiles to learn more about the political, economic, social and legal aspects of a particular country. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. - OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making. - PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is a library database that indexes materials related to pubic policy and social issues, including the fields of political science, government, international relations, economics, finance, law, environment, demography, sociology and business.
- Policy ArchiveThe Policy Archive is a free digital archive of non-partisan public policy research from the Center for Governmental Studies. It collects and disseminates summaries and full-texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. NOTE: Always check the think tank individually for specific bias.
- Political Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Access to political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
- Social Sciences Research NetworkSSRN provides access to abstracts of scholarly working papers, forthcoming papers, and some downloadable full-text documents for a variety of disciplines, including policy and political science.
Media Sources Through IU Libraries
NATIONAL NEWSPAPERS
- New York Times Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to nytimes.com and via apps. Additional access options for the New York Times are available.
IUB Affiliates: To register for access, go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. Once activated, you can access all content at NYTimes.com from a Web browser, as well as via NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. Students will need to renew the IUB Group Pass annually. Faculty will need to renew every 4 years.
Click more for complete activation and renewal instructions, access for unaffiliated users, and additional access options. - Washington Post Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Washington Post, one of America's leading daily newspapers. Includes access to reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary. Also includes live-streaming of Washington Post Live events. To create a personal account, see instructions on creating a personal Washington Post account with your IU Bloomington email.
MAGAZINES AND JOURNALS
- The EconomistMajor business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
Other Resources
POLICY RESEARCH
- Center for European Policy StudiesCEPS is a think tank and forum for debate on EU affairs.
- Danish Institute for International StudiesDIIS is an independent public research institution for international studies that conducts and communicates multidisciplinary research to inform policy and public debate.
- OECD LibraryThe online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international governmental organization. Search for and extract data from across all OECD statistical databases
DEVELOPING COUNTRIES
- Observer Research Foundation (India)Through engagement with domestic reforms, ORF works to build political and policy consensus that enables India to interact with the world.
- Brookings Institution" ... a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level."
HEALTHCARE
- World Health Organization (WHO)Responsible for international public health.
IMMIGRATION
- Migration Policy Institute (MPI)The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide and analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels.
EDUCATION
- National Center for Education Statistics"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
- PISA (OECD)PISA is the OECD's Programme for International Student Assessment. PISA measures 15-year-olds’ ability to use their reading, mathematics and science knowledge and skills to meet real-life challenges.
GENERAL INTERNATIONAL
- RAND Corporation" ... to help policymakers make decisions that are based on the best available information... our results are fueled by the best data, the strongest methods, and the brightest minds."
- Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)Founded in 1962, the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization whose purpose is to define the future of national security, by organizing conferences, publishing, lecture, and making media appearances that aim to increase the knowledge, awareness, and salience of policy issues with relevant stakeholders and the interested public.
POLITICAL THINKTANKS
(Be aware of political perspective of these sources and seek balance)
- The Heritage FoundationThe mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
Books
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the catalog for relevant books, both electronic and print., as well as videos, journals and more.
Political Handbook of the World 2016-2017 by ISBN: 9781506327181Publication Date: 2017-05-09The Political Handbook of the World provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information with in-depth coverage of current political controversies and political parties. Find facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. Political science and international relations scholars have revised this edition, and made understanding complex foreign affairs and political situations easy and accessible. Also, the new "For Further Reference" feature included for every country entry directs readers to additional resources to continue their research.
How Libraries Can Help
High-quality research is essential in V182 because it:
- Assists in good decision-making
- Facilitates the discovery of new ideas and solutions
- Helps establish YOUR credibility
- Supports your knowledge of the subject/topic
Librarians can help you thoughout your research process as you:
- Identify and narrow a search topic
- Locate appropriate sources, data, and statistics
- Evaluate sources for relevance and credibility
- Cite sources