Problems & Solutions
UNDERSTAND THE ISSUE DATABASES
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Social issues series for coverage of current events topics. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, and primary documents.
-
CQ Researcher
Full text discussions of current, controversial public policy issues in a variety of areas.
GENERALIST DATABASES
-
Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
-
JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASES
-
ProQuest Social Sciences
Allows users to simultaneously search a collection of ProQuest Social Science databases.
-
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Covers concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, and provides access to a wide assortment of English-language social science journals.
NEWS DATABASES
-
Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Data & Statistics
-
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
-
DataUSAProvides access to government data on wages, demographics, diversity and job growth for industries and for specific occupations. Also provides comparison of specific US cities with regard to income, education, housing, cost of living, diversity, health and safety, and more. Works best on Chrome.
-
Social Explorer
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
-
IndianaMAPStatewide geospatial data for Indiana
-
STATS INDIANAAn information service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at IU's Kelley School of Business.
-
ProQuest Statistical InsightProQuest Statistical is a library database that provides electronic access to tables and citations of statistics produced by the United States federal, state, and local governments, international governmental organizations, and non-governmental organizations.
-
FAO of the United NationsFind information on food security for many nations in this site from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Data Resources - Food Justice
-
An Annotated Bibliography on Structural Racism Present in the U.S. Food SystemFrom Michigan State University, This annotated bibliography provides current research and outreach on structural racism in the U.S. food system for the food system practitioner, researcher, educator, and advocate.
Other Resources
-
American Planning Association (APA)Website of the American Planning Association, dedicated to advancing " the art and science of planning and the activity of planning — physical, economic, and social — at the local, regional, state and national levels.."
-
Journal of the American Planning AssociationFor more than 70 years, the quarterly Journal of the American Planning Association ( JAPA ) has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, policymakers, scholars, students, and citizens of urban, suburban, and rural areas.
-
GuideStar Pro
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
-
Foundation Directory Online
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides comprehensive information on grantmakers and their funding activities.
Library databases, books, journals, & articles - Food Justice
-
Food Activism
by
ISBN: 9780857858320Publication Date: 2014-01-30Across the globe, people are challenging the agro-industrial food system and its exploitation of people and resources, reduction of local food varieties, and negative health consequences. In this collection leading international anthropologists explore food activism across the globe to show how people speak to, negotiate, or cope with power through food. Who are the actors of food activism and what forms of agency do they enact? What kinds of economy, exchanges, and market relations do they practice and promote? How are they organized and what are their scales of political action and power relations? Each chapter explores why and how people choose food as a means of forging social and economic justice, covering diverse forms of food activism from individual acts by consumers or producers to organized social groups or movements. The case studies embrace a wide geographical spectrum including Cuba, Sri Lanka, Egypt, Mexico, Italy, Canada, France, Colombia, Japan, and the USA. This is the first book to examine food activism in diverse local, national, and transnational settings, making it essential reading for students and scholars in anthropology and other fields interested in food, economy, politics and social change. (E-Book access through IUCAT) -
Geographies of Race and Food
by
Call Number: GT2850 .G46 2013ISBN: 9781409469261Publication Date: 2013-09-12This collection argues there is an unacknowledged racial dimension to the production and consumption of food under globalization. Building on case studies from across the world, it advances the conceptualization of race by emphasizing embodiment, circulation and materiality, while adding to food advocacy an antiracist perspective it often lacks. Within the three socio-physical spatialities of food - fields, bodies and markets - the collection reveals how race and food are intricately linked. An international and multidisciplinary team of scholars complements each other to shed light on how human groups become entrenched in myriad hierarchies through food. -
Handbook on Urban Food Security in the Global South
by
ISBN: 9781786431509Publication Date: 2020-12-18 -
Introduction to the US food system : public health, environment, and equity byPublication Date: 2015
-
Disability inclusion: A missing ingredient for food system equityArticle from the journal Global Food Security that argues for adding a disability perspective to food systems as a whole.
