Pan-Africanism in Art and Literature

Harriet and the Promised Land by Jacob Lawrence (Illustrator); Jacob Lawrence (Illustrator) A brief biography in verse about Harriet Tubman and her dedicated efforts to lead her fellow slaves to freedom.

Jacob Lawrence by Richard Powell; Norma Broude (Editor) Briefly describes Lawrence's life and career, shows thirteen of his major paintings, and includes comments on their composition.

The Great Migration by Jacob Lawrence After an introduction from the artist about the migration of blacks from the rural areas in the South to the urban, industrialized North, there follows a collection of paintings that capture images of these events. A brief text connects the pictures, which were painted in the early 1940s. These are powerful images showing the difficulties of the journey as well as the strong support of families & friends. Many audiences will want to examine this visual history. A poem, "Migration" by Walter Dean Myers, follows the illustrations.

Over the Line by Peter T. Nesbett (Editor); Michelle DuBois (Editor) Over the Line: The Art and Life of Jacob Lawrence includes essays by eight distinguished art historians examining the ways in which Jacob Lawrence's art speaks so powerfully to different audiences. It is the first multi-author, in-depth probe of the artist's entire career: the nature of his work, his education, the critical climate in which he worked, and his use of materials and techniques. It reproduces, in full color, more than 200 works, most of which have not been published in color, or at all, in other books on the artist. An extensive chronology, collating events in his life with his public reception -- including selected exhibitions, publications, honors, and awards -- is illustrated with family photographs. Jacob Lawrence (1917-2000) spent his childhood in New York City, attending classes at the Harlem Community Art Center and the American Artists School, and later working for the Federal Art Project. While still in his twenties Lawrence exhibited his paintings at major museums across the country, including the Phillips Collection, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, and the Museum of Modern Art in New York, where he became the first African American artist represented in the permanent collection. He lived, painted, and taught in New York City until 1971, when he moved to Seattle to join the faculty of the University of Washington. He was the recipient of numerous awards including the National Medal of Arts. The paperback edition of Over the Line is published in conjunction with a major exhibition opening at the Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, on May 26, 2001, and traveling to the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Detroit Institute of Arts, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.

Painting Harlem Modern by Patricia Hills Jacob Lawrence was one of the best-known African American artists of the twentieth century. In Painting Harlem Modern, Patricia Hills renders a vivid assessment of Lawrence's long and productive career. She argues that his complex, cubist-based paintings developed out of a vital connection with a modern Harlem that was filled with artists, writers, musicians, and social activists. She also uniquely positions Lawrence alongside such important African American writers as Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, and Ralph Ellison. Drawing from a wide range of archival materials and interviews with artists, Hills interprets Lawrence's art as distilled from a life of struggle and perseverance. She brings insightful analysis to his work, beginning with the 1930s street scenes that provided Harlem with its pictorial image, and follows each decade of Lawrence's work, with accounts that include his impressions of Southern Jim Crow segregation and a groundbreaking discussion of Lawrence's symbolic use of masks and masking during the 1950s Cold War era. Painting Harlem Modern is an absorbing book that highlights Lawrence's heroic efforts to meet his many challenges while remaining true to his humanist values and artistic vision.

Jacob Lawrence by Elizabeth Hutton Turner (Editor); Austen Barron Bailly (Editor) This publication sets the precedent for the next generation of Lawrence scholars and studies in modern and contemporary discourse. The American Struggle explores Jacob Lawrence?s radical way of transforming history into art by looking at his thirty panel series of paintings, Struggle . . . from the History of the American People (1954?56). Essays by Steven Locke, Elizabeth Hutton Turner, Austen Barron Bailly, and Lydia Gordon mark the historic reunion of this series?seen together in this exhibition for the first time since 1958. In entries on the panels, a multitude of voices responds to the episodes representing struggle from American history that Lawrence chose to activate in his series. The American Struggle reexamines Lawrence?s lost narrative and its power for twenty-first century audiences by including contemporary art and artists. Derrick Adams, Bethany Collins, and Hank Willis Thomas invite us to reconsider history through themes of struggle in ways that resonate with Lawrence?s artistic invention. Statements by these artists amplify how they and Lawrence view history not as distant period of the past but as an active imaginative space that is continuously questioned in the present tense and for future audiences.

J'aime Chéri Samba by Chéri Samba; André Magnin

Arts of Africa: Jean Pigozzi's Contemporary Collection by Andre Magnin (Editor); Grimaldi Forum (Monaco, Monaco) Staff (Contribution by) Nurtured by historic aesthetic roots, sub-Saharan African artists have continued to absorb and transform external influences in extraordinary ways. The Jean Pigozzi Collection, the best-endowed contemporary African art collection in the world, shows how the rich values, forms, and cultural history of Africa have been incorporated, even into new media. This catalog of the collection included in the Grimaldi Forum exhibition profiles the work of 30 leading artists-painters, photographers, sculptors, and video artists. The artists featured include Seydou Ke#65533;ta, Fr#65533;d#65533;ric Bruly Bouabr#65533;, Malick Sidib#65533;, Moke, Ch#65533;ri Samba, Romuald Hazoum#65533;, and Bodys Isek Kingelez.