Library Research Guides: BUS L375 L376 Ethics &amp; the 21st Century Business Leader: Resources & Strategies

Identify Moral Problem:

CorpWatch
Web news items on corporate malfeasance searchable by company, issue, or industry.
Corporate Responsibility Initiative (Harvard Kennedy School)
Original research reports providing insight on how to solve complex, ethical problems.

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Access to business news articles and wire feeds.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Access general news articles from major publications.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

Background Information:

Company Sources
Library databases that provide background information (history, financials, strengths/weaknesses) for specific companies.

CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia coverage of current, controversial issues that includes references for further research.
Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Access to news articles from major publications.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides viewpoint articles and statistics on current, social issues.

Analysis (Articles that provide cases & support):

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Library database that provides access to scholarly, trade, magazine, and news articles for business.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Library database that provides access to scholarly, trade, news, and magazine articles for a number of disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Business Ethics
Magazine articles on corporate social responsibility.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Library database that provides access to scholarly, trade, magazine, and news articles for business.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Emerald eJournal Premier Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Publisher platform focused on business and management. Access to scholarly articles related to ethics and corporate social responsibility.
Includes over 200,000 articles from 309 journals.
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Access to articles on policy issues, law, politics, and government.
Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies. Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)

Additional Publications

These publications provide credible, news and long-form magazine content.

The Atlantic
Business Ethics Quarterly
This resource requires a subscription. Access is provided by the Libraries.
Chicago Tribune

CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
This resource requires a subscription. Access is provided by the Libraries.
Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Ethisphere
The Financial Times
This resource requires a subscription. Access is provided by the Kelley School of Business.
Fortune
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
Los Angeles Times
New York Times Online
This resource requires a subscription. Access is provided by the Libraries.
The New Yorker
This resource requires a subscription. Access is provided by the Libraries.
National Public Radio (NPR)
NPR is a non-profit news organization that receives no money for advertisements (but does accept sponsorships). NPR has no commercial motive for producing news stories and often has coverage of topics, such as movies, that far exceeds its commercial competitors.
Rolling Stone
Vanity Fair
Wall Street Journal Online
This resource requires a subscription. Access provided by the Libraries.
The Washington Post

Data:

A full list of business data and statistical resources are available here.

Data.gov
U.S. government's open data.

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- This link opens in a new window
Online tables and charts of basic statistics about the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Online edition includes:

-Line-item access to tables
-Updated monthly instead of annually
-Table-specific capabilities for narrowing results by source, data date, subject, type of data breakdown

The Statistical Abstract is a great place to begin a search for statistical information since the footnotes lead you to the original source, which most frequently is more comprehensive.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Map or report Census and consumer data.
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

Legal Research:

HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of legal journals, cases, statutes, and regulations. Limit to the Law Journal Library to only search across legal publications, including law reviews.
Also includes materials related to constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Search for the full-text of federal and state cases as well as federal and state statutes and regulations.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

Evaluation of Sources:

You will want to evaluate sources for credibility prior to use. The CRAAP (currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose) framework can assist you in the evaluation process.

CRAAP Test

General Library Resources

• IUB Libraries Website

Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window

• Business/SPEA Citation Guide

Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats. The Purdue OWL is a good source of general citation information. Citing sources often involves knowing whether evidence is common knowledge. MIT's "What is Common Knowledge" can help you explore this concept. The Writing Tutorial Services guide for "How to Use Evidence" can also be helpful for citation.

BUS L375 L376 Ethics & the 21st Century Business Leader

Get Help

Citation Presentation

Business/SPEA Library

Identify Moral Problem:

Background Information:

Analysis (Articles that provide cases & support):

Additional Publications

Data:

Legal Research:

Evaluation of Sources:

General Library Resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS L375 L376 Ethics & the 21st Century Business Leader

Identify Moral Problem:

Background Information:

Analysis (Articles that provide cases & support):

Additional Publications

Data:

Legal Research:

Evaluation of Sources:

General Library Resources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries