Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
The PESTLE Framework
A PESTLE analysis is a common way of breaking down the contextual factors that affect businesses in a particular country and is used by companies as a basis for strategic decision making and marketing, among other things. While business decisions are often financially motivated, the six factors considered in a PESTLE (political, economic, sociocultural, technological, legal and environmental) consider the broader context in which the organization is operating, rather than focusing exclusively on the monetary.
Even if you are not interested in a PESTLE analysis, per se, the six areas still provide a useful framework for searching for information about a country; no matter what information you are trying to find about a country, it is likely to fall into one of these six categories. Different databases specialize in different kinds of data and analysis, so ask yourself which category the information you're looking for falls into and then search for databases below that fall under the corresponding letter.
| POLITICAL | ECONOMIC | SOCIAL/CULTURAL | ||
|
Examples include:
|
Examples include:
|
Examples include:
|
||
| TECHNOLOGICAL | LEGAL | ENVIRONMENTAL | ||
|
Examples include:
|
Examples include:
|
Examples include:
|
Databases Grouped by PESTLE Category Covered
P E S T L E
- Business Source Complete
This link opens in a new window
On the search screen, scroll down and select "country Report" under the Publication Type box, then enter Greece in the search box to find a variety of reports. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. See the PESTLE report on Greece. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Try searching for various aspects of the Greek business landscape with searches like Greece and Economy,Greece and business, or Greece and trade
- AMCHAMThe American-Hellenic Chamber of Commerce was established in 1932 and is one of the largest, most active and dynamic American Chambers in Europe.
- CIA, The World FactbookCIA's World Factbook is your authoritative source on the world's countries, territories, oceans, and more. Explore world facts at your fingertips.
- Freedom HouseFreedom House is founded on the core conviction that freedom flourishes in democratic nations where governments are accountable to their people.
- Greek GovernmentGov.gr is the new web portal of Greece.
- Transparency InternationalSurveys and reports on corruption at the government and industry levels. Search "Greece" in the upper right corner.
- US Department of State, GreeceLeading America's foreign policy to advance the interests and security of the American people.
NEWSPAPERS
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Text of the Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition. Provides business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns. Additional access options for the Wall Street Journal are available.
- Financial TimesNews, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, the worldʼs leading global business publication.
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
- Proto Thema NewsOnline access for Greek newspaper, Proto Thema.
- KathimeriniNews from Greece and the World.
- PaperboyRead online newspapers from around the world on your mobile device.
P E S T L E
- OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making.
P E S T L E
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- Enterprise GreeceEnterprise Greece is designed to promote and support Greece’s substantial investment opportunities and to engage the global business community with (first-class) high end export products—goods and services made in Greece.
- US Department of Commerce, GreeceThe Country Commercial Guide (CCG) is your trusted source about how to do business in an international market.
- World BankWith 189 member countries, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership fighting poverty worldwide through sustainable solutions.
P E S T L E
- World Economic ForumSearch your country of interest to find a variety of reports and information. Search function is in the upper left corner: You do not need to join or sign in.
P E S T L E
- eHRAF World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text ethnographies on hundreds of ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide. - ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World aggregates the statistical abstracts of approximately 70 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface.
- globalEDGESelect "Global Insights" then country or industry.
- The Heritage FoundationA research and educational institution whose mission is to build and promote conservative public policies, based in Washington, D.C..
P E S T L E
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Access provided by the Jerome Hall Law Library. A multilingual index to articles and book reviews that appear in legal journals published worldwide. Excludes the U.S., the UK, Canada, and Australia.