Home
Welcome to GIMMS
Government Information, Maps & Microform Services (GIMMS) is located on the second floor of Herman B Wells Library on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Included in GIMMS are local, state, and federal government information and data resources, the largest map collection in Indiana, GIS services, and microform services.
This guide brings together a comprehensive list of GIMMS resources regarding environmental sustainability.
For further information, or to request a consultation or IU Libraries instruction session, please contact us at libgimms@indiana.edu.
Government Information & Data Resources
Federal Government Resources
- Energy SaverFrom the Department of Energy, this site provides energy efficiency and renewable energy information to U.S. consumers, including families, homeowners, renters, and drivers.
- Environmental Dataset GatewayThe Environmental Protection Agency's official open data catalog. Contains data on climate change, environmental justice, as well as facility data.
- MedWatchThe U.S. Food and Drug Administration's safety information and adverse event reporting program.
- Directorate for Environmental Research and EducationPart of the National Science Foundation.
Bloomington & Monroe County Government Resources
- Sustainable Action PlanBloomington's first Sustainable Action Plan, adopted October of 2018.
- Sustainability Progress Report(2018) Meeting goals and implementing activities
- Biking in BloomingtonBloomington bicycle resources, routes, and the Pace community bike share program
- Bloomington Sustainability NewsletterQuarterly. Subscribe to receive.
- Monroe County Energy ChallengeCollaborative effort to reduce community energy use. Partners include the City of Bloomington, South Central Community Action Program, Vectren Energy Foundation, Solar Indiana Renewable Energy Network, Harmony School, Monroe County and Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporations, and others.
Maps & GIS Resources
Map Resources
Most of the maps of Indiana are discoverable in IUCAT. See How to Search for Maps for more tips of finding relevant materials. This list also includes digitized maps available online, as well as online databases of spatial data.
- Indiana Historic MapsDigitized maps of Indiana from the Herman B Wells map collection. Download available through the "contact the curator" option.
- IUPUI Historic Indiana MapsIndiana maps from IUPUI and IUB
- Indiana Spatial Data PortalThe Indiana Spatial Data Portal (ISDP) provides access to more than 30 terabytes of Indiana geospatial data. Available statewide datasets include aerial photos, topographic maps, LiDAR and elevation data, and Sanborn historic maps. In addition, the ISDP hosts several local datasets for Allen, Bartholomew, Boone, Dearborn, Gibson, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Posey, Shelby and Wayne Counties.
- IndianaMAPStatewide geospatial data for Indiana
- BTAA Geoportal
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- SimplyAnalytics
This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Indiana Water Quality AtlasOnline interactive maps and information for watershed managers and the general public; provided by the Polis Center at IUPUI
- GEOSPATIAL DATA FROM THE U.S. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCYGeospatial environmental data provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- Daily Weather Maps for the U.S.Weather maps provided by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration from 1871- present.
Microform Services
Why microforms?
Many of our materials are available on microform, sometimes only so. Do not be afraid! GIMMS equipment views and scans microfilm, microfiche, and microopaques. Images can be scanned in PDF, TIFF, JPEG, PNG and BMP formats and saved to CD, flash drive, or any Internet file storage service. Scans can also be printed like any other document.
