Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. For more accessible content, limit your search results to newspapers in the left column.
This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences, and includes scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications. .
Major areas of coverage include: Agricultural biotechnology; Air quality; Aquatic pollution; Bacteriology; Ecology; Energy resources; Environmental biotechnology; Environmental engineering; Environmental impact statements (U.S.); Hazardous waste; Industrial hygiene; Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; Risk assessment; Safety science; Toxicology & toxic emissions; Waste management;Water pollution; Water resource issues.
Digital access to text, archival primary sources, video and audio related to environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, and deforestation.
The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, focusing on social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
Digital access to environmental studies films, with a focus on ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.
The collection also covers specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.
NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide. Records in the archive range from paleoclimatic data to centuries-old journals to data less than an hour old. The Center's mission is to preserve these data and make them available to the public, business, industry, government, and researchers.
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.
Confronting the Climate Challenge by Lawrence Goulder; Marc Hafstead
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Presents a unique framework for evaluating the impacts of a range of U.S. climate-policy options, both for the economy overall and for particular household groups, industries, and regions. Lawrence Goulder and Marc Hafstead focus on four alternative approaches for reducing carbon dioxide emissions: a revenue-neutral carbon tax, a cap-and-trade program, a clean energy standard, and an increase in the federal gasoline tax.
When Rachel Carson described the dangers of DDT in the late 1950s she launched a movement that continues to influence society. This book examines how and why social change occurs and the lasting influence of the environmental movement.
Today's Environmental Issues: Democrats and Republicans by Teri J. Walker
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Offers a comprehensive collection of essays that explain how party politics affect perspectives on current environmental issues and policies. Provides readers with basic definitions and historical background for understanding the debate on each environmental issue.
The United States and China together account for a disproportionate 45 percent of global carbon dioxide emissions. The authors aim to help readers understand the challenges, constraints, and opportunities in each country.
Nature, Action and the Future by Sophie Smith (Editor); Katrina Forrester (Editor)