Library Research Guides: BUS D594 International Competitive Strategy: D594 Research Resources

Sanctions

Use the following links to investigate US and UN sanctions currently in place:

U.S. Treasury Sanctions List
This frequently updated list provides information about countries and specific sanctions.

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Access to general news articles and major news publications.

Picking a Company, Industry, and Country (Initial Exploration)

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from in-country newspapers and major, international news sources.
Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.
Corporate Affiliations
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company hierarachies to determine where already operating.
Also includes in-depth details on directors, executives and their professional interactions.
IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Access to company analysis (SWOT), industry analysis (Five Forces), and geographic analysis (PEST/PESTLE).
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.

NationMaster.com
Compare countries using a variety of economic, political, and consumer data.

D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Screen for companies by industry and location.
Includes information on more than 170 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries

In-depth Analysis (Country and Market)

Business Enabling Environment (BEE)
- This link opens in a new window
Succeeds the World Bank Group’s Doing Business Project which was discontinued in 2021 because some of the data for 2018 and 2020 had been manipulated. The BEE website has links to several resources on the economic and business climate in many different countries and regions in the world. There are also links to legacy Doing Business reports from 2004 to 2020.
Export.gov
Developed by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The Country Commercial Guides and market research library provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.

Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Industry analysis for healthcare, telecommunications, IT, transportation, electronics, and semicoductors by country or region.
Frost & Sullivan provides research and analysis in new market opportunities for corporate growth. Frost & Sullivan covers the following markets and sectors:

Aerospace & Defense

Automotive & Transportation

Chemicals, Materials & Food
Chemicals & Materials
Food & Beverages

Energy & Power Systems Energy & Power
Power Supplies & Batteries

Environmental & Building Technologies
Building Management Technologies
Environmental

Healthcare
Clinical Diagnostics
Drug Discovery Technologies
Healthcare & Life Sciences IT
Medical Devices
Medical Imaging
Patient Monitoring
Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology

Industrial Automation & Electronics
Automatic Identification & Security
Electronic Devices
Industrial Automation & Process Control
Power Transmission
Semiconductors
Sensors & Instrumentation
Surface Mount Technologies
Test & Measurement

Information & Communication Technologies
Communications Services
Conferencing & Collaboration
Contact Centers
Digital Media
Enterprise Communications
IP Communications
IT Services & Applications
Mobile & Wireless Communications
Network Security
Next Generation Carrier Infrastructure
Smart Cards
Space & Communications
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
- This link opens in a new window
IFS is a monthly publication providing international and domestic finance for most countries of the world. IFS Online is cumulative and interactive.
Produced by the International Monetary Fund. The resource contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

IUB's GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd Floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library retains print copies of IFS from its beginning. GIMSS was also a subscriber to IFS on CD and has an old edition of that product available. GIMSS staff will be happy to assist with details about the use of the online or print editions of this resource.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics for economies, markets, and consumers by country.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.

General Library Resources

• IUB Libraries Website

Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.

• Business/SPEA Citation Guide

Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.

BUS D594 International Competitive Strategy

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Sanctions

Picking a Company, Industry, and Country (Initial Exploration)

In-depth Analysis (Country and Market)

General Library Resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS D594 International Competitive Strategy

Sanctions

Picking a Company, Industry, and Country (Initial Exploration)

In-depth Analysis (Country and Market)

General Library Resources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries