BUS D271 Doing Business in Japan

MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.

Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

Account use and renewal:

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting the New York Times News App site. Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.

New IUB Affiliated Users

To activate your NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass: 

1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your iu.edu email address. 
   1. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location
    

Returning IUB Affiliated Users

Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired, visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffiliated users

Users who are not affiliated with IU Bloomington may access a limited number of free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com by setting up a free account on the New York Times website.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your New York Times account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. To ensure that your Group Pass is still active, visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT and log in with your current NYT account credentials. You will either receive confirmation that your account is still active, or your group pass will be reactivated.
2. From a web browser, visit your New York Times account page by logging in to your existing NYT account.
3. Under Account Information, choose the Update link for you email address
4. Enter your iu.edu email address and your existing NYT password and press the Save button. 

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)
  • Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Account use and renewal:

Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/wall-street-journal.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be accessed via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your WSJ account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. From a web browser, visit the Wall Street Journal via IU Bloomington's subscription link.
2. Authenticate through IU Login
3. In the top-right of the screen, click on your name and then select Customer Center from the drop down menu.
4. From the left menu, select Account Settings.
5. In the Contact Information box, click the Edit button next to your existing email.
6. Enter your @iu.edu email address in the Email and Confirm Email fields and then press Save.
7. A message will appear indicating that a verification was sent to your @iu.edu email address.
8. Within a few minutes you will receive an email with the subject line “Please verify your email address for WSJ”.
   1. Click the link included in the email message which will take you to a WSJ log screen.
9. Enter your WSJ account password to complete the email update and verification process.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current