BUS D271 Global Business Analysis
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
General Country Resources
- MarketLine AdvantageMarketLine country reports provide a good overview of a country and its business climate. A good place to start.
- CIA World FactbookCountry-specific statistics and overview of political, social, and economic landscapes.
- GlobeSmartGlobeSmart is a web-based tool that provides quick and easy access to extensive knowledge on how to conduct business effectively with people from 65 countries around the world. To access GlobeSmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your @indiana.edu e-mail address to create and register your account.
Country Reports & Forecasts
- Business Source CompleteTIP: Use the "Country Report" link to locate business forecasts, SWOT and PEST (political, economic, social, and technological) analyses, and country reports by location or publisher.
• Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Some freely available country analysis (historical, political, infrastructural, and economic trends, including business conditions) from The Economists' EIU website. Note that we do not subscribe this resource.
Developed by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The Country Commercial Guides and market research library provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.
• Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
A partnership between the London Business School and Babson College that provides country-specific reports and data on the state of entrepreneurship.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information DatabaseA library database that provides in-depth country-specific data and reports, including forecasts. Find city-level data for certain large cities.
- World Bank e-LibraryThe World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 3,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,400 World Bank publications and over 2,000 Policy Research Working Papers.
Data & Statistics
- International Financial Statistics (IFS)The International Monetary Fund's source for international finance and economic data for IMF member countries. Available data varies by country. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data from 1948. TIP: Start searching for economic and trade data by selecting the "Country Table" link from the left-hand menu.
• International Statistical Agencies
A portal of country-specific statistical agencies compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
- OECD iLibraryThe online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international governmental organization. Search for and extract data from across all OECD statistical databases.
• UNdata
A data service that allows one to search the United Nations statistical databases.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
• World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
WDI contains statistical time-series data for over 550 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.