Library Research Guides: BUS C271/C272: Global Business [Cuba]: Country Information

General Country Resources

CIA World Factbook
- This link opens in a new window
Country-specific statistics and overview of political, social, and economic landscapes.

GlobeSmart
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth information and advice about business, culture, and travel-related topics in more than 80 countries.

Note: To access GlobeSmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your @indiana.edu e-mail address to create and register your account.
To access Globesmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your @iu.edu or @indiana.edu e-mail address to create and register your account.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Enter Cuba into the search box and choose Country Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Print and electronic books about Cuba on the Bloomington campus
A search in IUCAT that includes books written about Cuba in the last ten years, in both print and electronic formats, all available on the Bloomington campus.
IUB Libraries Cuba Data Visualization Dashboard
Platform that can be used to visualize political, social, economic, health, and business data for Cuba.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
TIP: Use the "Country Report" link to locate business forecasts, SWOT and PEST (political, economic, social, and technological) analyses, and country reports by location or publisher.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.

Business Enabling Environment (BEE)
- This link opens in a new window
Succeeds the World Bank Group’s Doing Business Project which was discontinued in 2021 because some of the data for 2018 and 2020 had been manipulated. The BEE website has links to several resources on the economic and business climate in many different countries and regions in the world. There are also links to legacy Doing Business reports from 2004 to 2020.
Export.gov
Developed by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The Country Commercial Guides and market research library provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.

World Bank e-Library
- This link opens in a new window
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 3,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,400 World Bank publications and over 2,000 Policy Research Working Papers.

International Statistical Agencies
A portal of country-specific statistical agencies compiled by the United States Census Bureau.

OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international governmental organization. Search for and extract data from across all OECD statistical databases.
Also includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
UNdata
- This link opens in a new window
A data service that allows one to search the United Nations statistical databases.

Unesco
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

World Development Indicators
- This link opens in a new window
WDI contains statistical time-series data for over 550 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool yet for researching developmental data.
Print and CD-ROM versions of WDI are retained in GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library, which also subscribes to most World Bank publications.