Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

BUS C104 Business Presentations Kerle'

Instructor: Kerle'

Partial List of Sources to Explore

(Note: Do not use Investopedia, Wikipedia, or an encyclopedia as a source.)

FUNDAP – The Case Client.:

  1. FUNDAP Website

Nonprofit Websites:

  1. The website of the nonprofit you choose, including links to other materials found through that website (e.g., annual reports, etc.).
  2. GuideStar Pro (Candid) – basic nonprofit info, particularly financial.
  3. Taprootfoundation.org (category > marketing)
  4. BridgeSpanGroup.org
  5. Indeed.com (search > industry – nonprofit & NGO)
  6. Idealist.org (search > nonprofits & issue areas)
  7. Society for Nonprofits (snpo.org) (search > articles > category > Communications/PR/Marketing)
  8. projects.propublica.org/nonprofits (mostly financials)
  9. nonprofithub.org
  10. National Council of Nonprofits (councilofnonprofits.org) (search> running a nonprofit > marketing and communications)
  11. LinkedIn Learning
  12. Harvard Business Review - (accessed through Business Source Complete.) You will see a list of issues by year on the right which you can search through individually or click on Search within this publication on the left to search through all available issues of HBR.

Aggregators (searchable databases to access innumerable sources):

  1. Candid – Catalog of Nonprofit Literature (catalog.candid.org)
  2. Go to Canvas > IU Libraries > Search For…(type in name of aggregator) > click on name of aggregator in Database Titles or IUCAT - 
    1. EBSCO Management Collection** or
    2. Business Source Complete** or
    3. ABI Inform Collection**

NOTES**

>Keywords – Search these databases by using one or more of the following key words or phrases (or other synonyms you come up with) – nonprofit, nonprofits, nonprofit organizations, marketing, marketing strategy, marketing strategies, marketing best practices, cause marketing, cause related marketing, warm glow effect, donor retention, strategies or techniques or interventions or best practices. 

>Combining Search Terms –

>>If using more than one keyword or phrase, you'' get better results if you use “and” between them. 

>>For phrases (such as marketing strategies) you might also need to add quotes before and after the phrase.  Example – nonprofits and “marketing strategies”

>>You may also need to include the word “or” between keywords or phrases to see if any words with similar meanings (e.g., synonyms) result in helpful sources. Example - (strategies or techniques or interventions or best practices). Enclose any sets of synonyms with OR between them in parentheses.

>Limiters - Narrow your database search results by using the “limiters” on the left side of the results page.  For example, click on full text, limit the date range to the last 10 or so years, include one or more source types to narrow further, specify subjects, and consider exploring other limiters to narrow the number of sources to 100-300.