Democracy 2024
Popular Resources
Your voter registration is tied to where you live. As a college student, you can usually register to vote in either your hometown or where you attend college, depending on the residency requirements of your state. Keep in mind: You can live in more than one place, but you are only allowed to vote in one.
If you are going to college in a different city than your hometown, here are things you might consider when deciding where to vote:
- Which location is more convenient for you?
- Who is on the ballot in each place?
- Are there local policies or particular issues that are important to you in either place?
The Presidential Election Process
An election for president of the United States happens every four years on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Learn the steps that result in the election of a U.S. president.
The Electoral College is not a physical place. It is a process which includes the:
- Selection of electors
- Meeting of electors who cast votes for the president and vice president
- Counting of the electors’ votes by Congress
Learn who is involved and how the process works.
State and local elections can take place in any year at various times throughout the year. Learn about the types of state and local elections and candidates, and get election results.
Important Dates
Election Day: Tuesday, November 5th
Registration Deadline (Indiana): Monday, October 7th
Absentee Ballot Requests Deadline (Indiana): Thursday, October 24th
Early Voting (Indiana): Tuesday, October 8th through Monday, November 4th
Registering to Vote
Breakdown by state
Voter registration deadlines vary by state. To update registration info, check registration status or begin a new registration, click on the appropriate link below to go to the correct voter portal.
The Ballot
Indiana Voters
Indiana Voters can use the Voter Portal to type in their address or select by county, precinct, split precinct and view their ballots. For other states, please consult the list above in the Registering to Vote section of this guide.
Making Informed Decisions
Complete your ballot with confidence.
There are many places to turn to and discover information on candidates and issues. We have compiled a list of resources to help voters have as much knowledge as possible before November 5th.
Regardless of where you are receiving your information from, consider utilizing the CRAAP test to weed out false or misinformation.
Currency -- Is this the most up-to-date information?
Relevance -- How does this help guide my vote?
Authority -- Who is behind this source?
Accuracy -- Am I able to confirm these facts?
Purpose -- Why is this information available to me through this source?
- CQ Congress Collection
This link opens in a new window
A research and reference tool for historical analysis of members of Congress, their voting behavior, and the legislative process.
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Full text discussions of current, controversial public policy issues in a variety of areas.
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- govinfo
This link opens in a new window
U.S. Federal Government website, mandated by law, to assure secure access to information produced by federal agencies. Formerly FDSYS (Federal Digital System), and prior to that, GPOACCESS.
- Herald-Times
- This link opens in a new window
Local newspaper for Bloomington, Indiana, and surrounding communities. Users may access the E-Edition of the HTO here.
- Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes newspapers, newswires and news magazines, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- Newswires
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
- Points of View Reference Source
- This link opens in a new window
Resource that present multiple sides of an issue, helping students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understanding of controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Project Syndicate
- This link opens in a new window
News commentaries intended for a global audience. Features contributions by prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world.
- Sage Data
- This link opens in a new window
Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
- U.S. Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and archived news content. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Further Resources from IU Libraries
More Help Along the Way
The Friday Finish
Head to the Wells Library lobby between 10AM and 4PM on the following dates to grab some free snacks, make a craft, enjoy music and more. At the same time, a table will be there devoted to assisting students with voter registration questions as well as election day information and general FAQs.
Weekday registration and information resources assistance
Located on the first floor of the West tower in the Herman B Wells Library, the Learning Commons Research Desk is staffed Monday through Friday from 11AM-5PM. Research Assistants are available to assist in the registration process as well as refer visitors to quality sources of news and other information on candidates and issues. Scheduled consultation appointments are also available.
Bold Ballots: Voting Literacy 101
Please join us at one of three sessions to learn how to be a confident voter through the use of reliable information resources. We will discuss how to learn what is on your individual ballot, how to find accurate information on candidates and issues, how to spot fake news and more. Please register ahead of time.
Wednesday 10/16 at 10:00AM (Herman B Wells Library)
Thursday 10/24 at 7:00PM (Virtual)
Tuesday 10/29 at 3:00PM (Herman B Wells Library)