BUKD X574 Professional Development and Career Management
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Your Librarian
Hire Ed Consultations
.
Business information experts give you the research needed to have a competitive edge for your interview. Walk in the door with knowledge of your company, market, and/or consumer to set yourself apart from the start.
Company Research
.
Start with these databases for company information like history, financials, M&A and SWOT analyses.
- MarketLine AdvantageOriginal industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Mergent OnlineDatabase of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
For private company information, see Privco and ReferenceUSA:
- PrivCoPLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Reference SolutionsDetailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
Industry Research
Of course, companies do not exist in a vaccuum, so understanding the industries in which they operate is often helpful.
Try these databases for information and analysis at the industry level:
- IBISWorldA comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- Mergent IntellectTo access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code.
News, Trade and Popular Press Research
.
You can also learn more about a company in trade and popular press sources through databases like these:
- ABI/INFORM CollectionAccess to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- FactivaProvides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
Career Resources
Use these resources to find job listings, prepare for interviews and negotiations and investigate the geographic hot spots for various industries and occupations.
- Compensation Research GuideThis guide, from the IUB Business/SPEA Information commons, provides a description of research strategies and a select listing of sources to use when conducting compensation research for position negotiation and/or other career-related activities. It is not a comprehensive listing of all the compensation, salary, and benefit information available.
- Hire Ed ConsultationsThe experts at the Business/SPEA Information Commons can help do the research so you can prepare for an upcoming job interview, strategize for salary and compensation negotiations, identify resources for your job search and more.
- DataUSAProvides access to government data on wages, demographics, diversity and job growth for industries and for specific occupations. Also provides comparison of specific US cities with regard to income, education, housing, cost of living, diversity, health and safety, and more.
Citation and Style Guides
Citation involves properly crediting the authors of information sources used in a paper or presentation. You will need to cite if sources are directly quoted and/or paraphrased or if reading a source contributed to the ideas presented.
Always cite your sources.
Different disciplines use certain citation styles. Use these Quick Style Guides, the full citation manuals, or ask library staff for citation assistance.
Quick Style Guides
- APA Style Guide
- Business/SPEA Citation Guide
- Purdue OWL APA Guide
- MLA Style Quick Guide
- Chicago Style Quick Guide
- APA Style Quick Guide
- Citing U.S. Government Publications
Full Style Manuals
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection--Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Other Citation Resources: