Library Research Guides: ENG W131ML Elementary Composition for Multilingual Writers: Articles & Images

OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place

OneSearch@IU searches most of Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.

Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/resources/onesearch

More databases can be found on the Libraries homepage under the "Research" tab or the "Top Recommended Resources" (bottom of the page).

Articles

These databases include articles from journals, magazines, or newspapers.

To search for a database, use the "Resource Gateway" from the Libraries' homepage. Search Resources by Subject or Resources A-Z.

Suggested databases for this course are:

Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular journal articles from all academic disciplines.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.

In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in the fields of communication and mass media.

Communication Source features full text for more than 800 titles, including over 600 active full-text titles and 150 full-text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases.
ERIC (via Proquest)
- This link opens in a new window
Materials in education and related fields.
CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text discussion of current, controversial public policy issues; coverage of newsworthy global affairs and issues from a variety of international viewpoints.

Newspaper Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in the United States.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles for national, regional, and local news from 1980 to the present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of historical newspapers. Each issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.

Images

AP Newsroom
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of images, graphics, and audio provided by The Associated Press. International in scope with images dating back as early as 1826. Please note: to access, select the “AP Newsroom” link on the EBSCO page.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.
Image Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of images ranging from photographs and maps to illustrations and etchings.
Current Biography Illustrated (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, images, and obituaries from the entire run of Current Biography.
ARTstor Images
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

ENG W131ML Elementary Composition for Multilingual Writers

Dissecting an Article Citation

Accessing Other Databases

OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place

Articles

Newspaper Databases

Images

View all Library Hours