Brainstorming Keywords
Identify effective search terms for database and web resources. (From Portland State University.)
From Question to Keyword
Identify key search terms based on your research question.
Visuwords & Keywords
Visuwords is an online graphical dictionary.
Brainstorm and find related search terms.
Example of Visuwords search:
Essential Tips
- Keywords are powerful. Learn more in the boxes on the right.
- What types of sources do you need? Choose a research tool with the right types of sources.
(e.g., IUCAT for books, library databases for scholarly articles, specialized databases for plays or theater reviews).
- Search strategies depend on the research tool. Experiment with keywords and search options.
(In databases choose search terms more carefully.)
Boolean Operators
Use AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden search results.
Using AND
- narrows results
- ALL terms must be in each search result
Note: in most, but not all, databases, the AND is implied. For example, Google automatically puts an AND in between search terms.
Example: renewable energy AND China
Using OR
- broadens results
- searches for ANY of the terms in search results
- connects similar concepts (synonyms)
Example: renewable energy OR solar OR wind
Using NOT
- narrows results
- exclude words from search
This operator is great when you notice your search term is used in different disciplines. You might use this example when researching peacekeeping in the context of interpersonal conflict but your search results in documents about international conflict.
Example: peacekeeping NOT United Nations
Adapted from SAIS Library, Johns Hopkins Univ. "Database Search Tips" Guide (no longer extant).
Database Search Fields
Records in library databases are made of "fields." Fields can help narrow your search.
Example of common fields in databases:
- author
- title
- journal title
- abstract
- publisher
- date/year of publication
- subject/descriptor
- all text (searches the full text, if available)
Improving Search Results with Fields
- Most databases automatically search by keyword (looking for the term anywhere in the record).
- Limit the field for a search term to narrow the results.
- Fields are usually in drop down boxes.
- If the database has a single search box with no drop-down menu, look for an "Advanced Search" option.
-
Adapted from SAIS Library, Johns Hopkins Univ. "Database Search Tips" Guide (no longer extant).
Identify Keywords with Subjects
Subject Terms can help you identify effective keywords. Most databases list Subjects in their search results.
To use subject terms from you search results:
1. Do an initial search.
2. Under Refine Search click on Subject.
